Best Inventory Management Software in 2026: 13 Tools for Stock, Orders and Production

Three-bay selector for choosing inventory management software by stock and orders, manufacturing, or multi-channel retail

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026

The best inventory management software in 2026 depends on which of three jobs you're actually buying for, and the top picks split cleanly along that line: Cin7 Core and Zoho Inventory lead for stock and order control, Katana and MRPeasy lead for small manufacturers who need bills of materials and production scheduling, and Linnworks and Cin7 Omni lead for multi-channel retailers shipping across marketplaces. Odoo Inventory is the cheapest serious entry point in the category, because your first Odoo app is genuinely free forever with unlimited users. Oracle NetSuite sits at the top for companies that want inventory inside a full ERP, and Sortly sits at the bottom of the price range for teams that only need to know where things are.

This guide ranks 13 platforms for operations managers, COOs, founders, and supply chain leads choosing or replacing an inventory system, judged on stock accuracy features, order volume ceilings, manufacturing depth, multi-channel reach, and what the software really costs once extra users and add-on modules are counted. Every price below was checked against the vendor's own pricing page in August 2026, with monthly versus annual billing stated explicitly, and where a vendor publishes nothing at all, this guide says so instead of dressing a third-party estimate up as a confirmed number.


Key Facts

  • Inaccurate inventory and out-of-stocks significantly challenge productivity for nearly 80% of warehouse associates and decision-makers, and 82% of associates say they need better inventory management tools, per Zebra's 2023 Global Warehousing Vision Study of more than 1,400 respondents.
  • Retail shrink reached $112.1 billion in 2022, an average of 1.6% of sales, up from 1.4% the year before, per the National Retail Federation's 2023 National Retail Security Survey of 177 retail brands.
  • Only 16% of manufacturing leaders report real-time work-in-progress monitoring across the entire manufacturing process, per Zebra's 2024 Manufacturing Vision Study.
  • 73% of warehouse decision-makers have accelerated or plan to accelerate their modernization project timelines, per Zebra's Warehousing Vision Study.
  • Gartner predicts 70% of large organizations will adopt AI-based supply chain forecasting to predict future demand by 2030, per Gartner.

Quick Comparison Table

Tool Best For Starting Price Key Strength Key Limitation
Cin7 Core Growing wholesalers and retailers wanting one system for stock, orders and channels Cin7 Core Standard $349/mo as published, billing cycle not stated on the page; Cin7 Omni: Quote on request Two products covering mid-market inventory (Cin7 Core) and full retail operations (Cin7 Omni) Sales order volume caps per tier, and extra user rates are not published
Zoho Inventory Small and mid-size sellers who want real order management at a low entry price Zoho Inventory Free tier; Standard $29/mo billed annually Cheapest credible paid tier in the category, plus deep Zoho ecosystem tie-in Order caps per plan are tight (500/month on Standard) and overages are billed as add-ons
Katana Small manufacturers needing live production planning on top of stock Katana Free (30 SKUs); Katana Core from $299/mo, monthly or annual, plus a $199/mo Manufacturing Management add-on Live production planning and shop floor visibility, with unlimited users on every tier Manufacturing Management (routings and insights) is a $199/mo add-on, so production planning lands near $498/mo
Fishbowl Inventory Warehouse and manufacturing operations running QuickBooks Fishbowl Inventory Essentials $229/mo billed annually; Fishbowl Advanced Warehouse from $595/mo, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing from $675/mo Long-standing QuickBooks integration plus separate warehouse and manufacturing platforms Manufacturing is not included in the Fishbowl Inventory tiers, it is a different and pricier product line
inFlow Inventory Wholesale and B2B teams wanting flat-rate pricing instead of per-seat inFlow Inventory Entrepreneur $129/mo billed annually ($161/mo billed monthly); inFlow Manufacturing Start Up $179/mo billed annually Flat-rate plans, so growing headcount doesn't raise the bill Order caps per plan, plus a $499 one-time onboarding fee (optional on Inventory, required on Manufacturing)
Rework Mid-size operators wanting stock, orders, invoices and the customer record on one platform Quote on request Inventory sits beside the CRM, invoicing and a unified multi-channel inbox Not a manufacturing MRP and not a WMS, so no BOMs, routings or bin-level slotting
Unleashed Wholesalers and distributors needing strong batch, serial and landed cost control Unleashed Core $399/mo billed monthly, or $4,389/yr billed annually Detailed landed cost, batch and serial tracking with real margin reporting Only 100 sales orders per month on both published tiers, so order upgrades are near-mandatory
Oracle NetSuite Companies that want inventory inside a full ERP rather than beside one Oracle NetSuite: No published price, quoted per company Inventory, financials, order management and reporting in one governed ERP No published price, plus a one-time implementation cost and a long deployment
Odoo Inventory Cost-sensitive teams willing to configure their own stack Odoo Inventory free forever as your first app with unlimited users; Odoo Standard from $7.25/user/mo billed yearly, $7.79/user/mo at the regular yearly rate once you add a second app Genuinely free single-app tier with unlimited users, and 80-plus apps beside it The second app moves you to a paid per-user plan, and configuration takes real work
Sortly Teams tracking physical assets, parts and supplies rather than selling online Sortly Free tier; Sortly Advanced $24/mo promotional, $49/mo regular The easiest mobile-first counting and barcode app in this list No real sales order management, so it isn't a fit for ecommerce or wholesale
Linnworks (and SkuVault Core) High-volume multi-channel retailers running many marketplaces at once Linnworks Advanced and SkuVault Core: No published price, tiered on monthly order volume Deep marketplace listing, order routing and warehouse control for retail operations Quote-only pricing plus a one-time onboarding fee, and overages apply above your tier
Descartes Finale (formerly Finale Inventory) Established ecommerce sellers and 3PLs with high SKU counts Descartes Finale Essentials from $499/mo as published; Descartes Finale Growth from $799/mo Built for high-volume, barcode-driven warehouse workflows The highest published entry price here, and per-tier user and order limits aren't published
MRPeasy Small manufacturers wanting a full MRP at a predictable per-user price MRPeasy Starter $49/user/mo, 1-user minimum, billed monthly or annually Complete MRP (BOMs, routings, scheduling, procurement) with no module upsells Per-user pricing adds up with a large shop floor, and there is no free plan

The Category Splits Three Ways, and Buying the Wrong One Is Expensive

Before comparing features, work out which of three products you're shopping for. Most bad inventory purchases aren't bad software, they're the right software for a different job.

Category What it does Tools in this guide Buy it if
Stock and order tools Track stock levels, purchase orders and sales orders across locations and channels Zoho Inventory, inFlow Inventory, Sortly, Cin7 Core, Rework You buy finished goods and resell them
Manufacturing and MRP tools Bills of materials, production orders, routings, capacity planning and shop floor control Katana, MRPeasy, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing, inFlow Manufacturing You make what you sell
Multi-channel and retail ops tools Marketplace listing, order routing, warehouse workflows and returns at volume Linnworks and SkuVault Core, Cin7 Omni, Brightpearl by Sage, Extensiv You sell the same SKU across many channels

A wholesaler who buys an MRP pays for production planning nobody opens. A manufacturer who buys a stock tool discovers in month three that it can't tell them what raw material a work order consumed, which is the whole reason they were shopping. And a marketplace seller who buys either one ends up rebuilding channel sync in spreadsheets. Read the category row first, the tool list second.

Two products readers still search for are gone, so say it plainly. Cin7 Orderhive was discontinued on 31 March 2024, announced by Cin7 in April 2023 when it consolidated on Cin7 Core and Cin7 Omni. QuickBooks Commerce, which most people still know as TradeGecko, was discontinued as a standalone product and was not available after 31 August 2023, with Intuit folding a narrower set of ecommerce features into QuickBooks Online instead. A good share of the people reading a guide like this one are here because one of those two sunsets forced the decision, and if accounting anchors your stack, QuickBooks alternatives covers the finance side of the same migration.


1. Cin7 Core and Cin7 Omni: Two Products, Two Very Different Buyers

Cin7 sells two separate systems, and confusing them is the most common mistake buyers make here. Cin7 Core, formerly DEAR Systems, is the mid-market inventory and order management platform: purchase orders, sales orders, multi-location stock, a B2B portal, light assembly, and accounting sync into Xero or QuickBooks. Cin7 Omni, the original Cin7, is the retail operations platform for brands running EDI, wholesale, retail and marketplace channels at once.

Cin7 publishes Core pricing and quotes Omni. Cin7 Core Standard is listed at $349/mo (5 users, 6,000 sales orders per year, 2 ecommerce and app integrations), Pro at $599/mo (10 users, 24,000 orders, 4 integrations), and Advanced at $1,199/mo (15 users, 120,000 orders, 6 integrations), all in USD excluding taxes. Worth stating precisely, because most write-ups guess: the page shows those figures per month but does not state whether they are billed monthly or annually, and it publishes no annual discount. Extra users are available for purchase on every tier at a rate Cin7 doesn't publish. Cin7 Omni lists 8 users, flexible order volume and 5 integrations, with pricing on request.

The order volume ceiling is the thing to model before signing. A business doing 700 orders a month is inside Standard's 6,000 a year for about eight and a half months. If you're weighing Cin7 Core against a production-first system, Cin7 vs Katana walks through that exact decision, and Cin7 alternatives covers the wider field.

Pros Cons
Deep order management, B2B portal and channel coverage in one system Sales order volume is capped per tier and easy to outgrow mid-contract
Two products, so retail operations buyers aren't forced into the SMB tier Extra user pricing isn't published, so headcount growth is an unknown cost
Strong Xero and QuickBooks accounting sync The billing cycle isn't stated on the pricing page, so confirm it in writing
Light assembly covers kitting and simple builds Not a full MRP: no routings, capacity planning or shop floor control

Pricing: Cin7 Core Standard $349/mo, Pro $599/mo, Advanced $1,199/mo as published, billing cycle not stated. Cin7 Omni: quote on request. Best for: Growing wholesalers, distributors and multi-channel brands who need real order management, not just stock counts. Not ideal for: Manufacturers needing routings and shop floor control, or very small sellers who will never approach the order ceilings.


2. Zoho Inventory: The Cheapest Credible Paid Tier in the Category

Zoho Inventory does the unglamorous core of inventory well: multi-warehouse stock, purchase and sales orders, backorders and dropshipping, serial and batch tracking, barcode scanning, and native channel connections to Shopify, Amazon, eBay and Etsy. What makes it hard to beat at the price is the ecosystem. If you already run Zoho Books or Zoho CRM, inventory becomes another module on the same customer and invoice record rather than another integration to maintain.

Affordable Zoho Inventory warehouse kit constrained by a monthly order-count gate and ecosystem lock-in

Every paid figure Zoho publishes is the billed-annually rate. Zoho Inventory Standard is $29/mo (500 orders a month, 3 users, 2 locations), Premium $79/mo (3,000 orders, 5 users, 4 locations), Plus $129/mo (7,500 orders, 10 users, 6 locations) and Enterprise $249/mo (15,000 orders, 10 users, 10 locations). The Free plan covers 50 orders, 1 user and 1 location, which is a real starting point rather than a demo. Add-ons are priced individually: an extra user is $7.50/mo, another 500 orders a month is $7.50, an extra location is $10, and advanced warehousing runs $124.17/mo.

One quirk to know before you compare quotes: Zoho serves two different Inventory pricing pages. The figures above are from the US page, where the tiers are Standard, Premium, Plus and Enterprise with 3, 5, 10 and 10 users. Zoho's global page lists the same four prices under different tier names (Standard, Professional, Premium and Enterprise) with materially smaller included-user counts, so confirm which page your quote came from. The monthly order caps are identical on both pages, and they are the real ceiling in this product.

The catch is the order cap. Standard's 500 orders a month sounds generous until a good Black Friday, and add-on order blocks can quietly close the gap with Premium. If accounting is the anchor of your stack, Zoho Books alternatives covers that half of the decision, and Zoho Inventory alternatives covers the switch away.

Pros Cons
Lowest paid entry price of any serious system here at $29/mo billed annually Monthly order caps are tight and drive real add-on spend
Free plan is usable for a genuinely small seller Only light bundling and assembly, no true manufacturing
Tight integration with Zoho Books, Zoho CRM and the wider Zoho suite Reporting is thinner than Unleashed or Cin7 Core at the same job
Per-user, per-order and per-location add-ons scale one dimension at a time Best value comes from committing to the Zoho ecosystem overall

Pricing: Zoho Inventory Free; Standard $29/mo, Premium $79/mo, Plus $129/mo, Enterprise $249/mo, all billed annually. Best for: Small and mid-size sellers who want proper order management on a small budget, especially existing Zoho customers. Not ideal for: Manufacturers, or high-volume sellers whose monthly order count would blow past the tier caps. If the shortlist is down to two, Zoho Inventory vs inFlow runs the order-cap and seat maths at three real operating profiles.


3. Katana: Live Production Planning, No Longer the Cheap Option

Katana is the cloud manufacturing platform most small producers shortlist, and for good reason: a visual production planner that reprioritizes work orders by drag and drop, live inventory that recalculates raw material availability as orders land, and a Shop Floor app that gives operators task-level instructions. It connects to Shopify, WooCommerce, Amazon, QuickBooks Online and Xero, so a maker selling direct can run production and sales from one stock ledger.

Katana live production planner powering a factory while manufacturing, traceability, and warehouse add-on cartridges stack beside it

Now the correction that matters most in this guide, because Katana's reputation is years out of date. Katana Core starts at $299/month, and part of the manufacturing depth people picture is priced separately. Manufacturing Management is a $199/month add-on that Katana's pricing page describes as access to manufacturing routings and manufacturing insights, meaning production-step sequencing plus cost and usage analysis. Add it to Core and a production-planning configuration lands near $498/month. Traceability is a further $249/month and Warehouse Management is $149/month. Core is also usage-based, meaning you pay for the sales orders, locations and add-ons you actually consume, so $299 is a floor rather than a price. Both monthly and annual billing are offered, with a discount on annual and a stated 20% usage variance tolerance. The Free plan is real but limited to 30 SKUs, with unlimited SKUs during a 15-day grace window, and every tier including Free carries unlimited users, integrations and locations. Advantage is a custom annual contract adding custom integrations, dashboards and a dedicated solutions engineer.

Unlimited users on every tier is genuinely unusual, and it changes the math for a shop with 15 people on the floor. See Katana alternatives if the add-on stack pushes past budget.

Pros Cons
Unlimited users on every tier, including the Free plan Manufacturing Management (routings and insights) is a $199/mo add-on, so production planning lands near $498/mo
Live production planning that reacts to incoming orders Core is usage-based, so $299/mo is a floor and not a ceiling
Shop Floor app gives operators task-level instructions Traceability and warehouse features are separately priced add-ons
Clean integrations with Shopify, WooCommerce, QuickBooks and Xero No financial accounting of its own, so you still need an accounting system

Pricing: Katana Free (30 SKUs); Katana Core from $299/mo, monthly or annual; add-ons Manufacturing Management $199/mo, Traceability $249/mo, Warehouse Management $149/mo; Advantage on a custom annual contract. Best for: Small manufacturers and makers who want live production planning and don't want to count seats. Not ideal for: Budget-led buyers expecting the sub-$200 MRP Katana used to be, or resellers who never build anything.


4. Fishbowl Inventory: The QuickBooks Warehouse Standard, Now Sold by Subscription

Fishbowl has been the default upgrade for QuickBooks users outgrowing spreadsheet stock control for the better part of two decades. It covers multi-location warehousing, barcode scanning, pick, pack and ship, reorder points, and manufacturing on its higher product line, with the accounting layer staying in QuickBooks or Xero rather than being replaced.

Correct the pricing myth first, because it is everywhere. Fishbowl's own pricing page today publishes subscriptions only. Fishbowl Inventory Essentials is $229/mo billed annually with 2 users, Growth is $429/mo with 5 users, and Scale is $729/mo with 10 users. Those tiers handle finished goods, not manufacturing. Manufacturing and heavier warehousing live in the separate Fishbowl Advanced line: Fishbowl Advanced Warehouse starts at $595/mo and Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing starts at $675/mo, both priced by users and deployment for teams from 2 to 200 or more. Third-party sites still quote a one-time perpetual license of roughly $4,395. Fishbowl publishes no perpetual price today, and self-managed or flexible deployment is offered but quoted rather than listed.

That two-line structure is the whole decision. Picking Essentials on budget, then discovering work orders need Advanced Manufacturing at three times the price, is the most common Fishbowl surprise, so size the product line before the tier. Fishbowl alternatives covers the field if that jump doesn't work.

Pros Cons
Deepest QuickBooks integration heritage in the category Manufacturing requires the pricier Advanced line, not the Inventory tiers
Real warehouse workflows: barcode scanning, pick, pack, ship, cycle counts The $229/mo entry tier covers only 2 users
Advanced line scales from 2 to 200-plus users with deployment options No perpetual license is published anymore, despite what older reviews claim
Both cloud and self-managed deployment available Advanced pricing is quoted, and an implementation package is mandatory on every purchase

Pricing: Fishbowl Inventory Essentials $229/mo, Growth $429/mo, Scale $729/mo, all billed annually. Fishbowl Advanced Warehouse from $595/mo, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing from $675/mo, both quoted by users and deployment. Fishbowl states an implementation package is required on all purchases, quoted separately. Best for: QuickBooks-centric warehouse and manufacturing operations that want on-premise or cloud flexibility. Not ideal for: Buyers hunting the old one-time license, or small sellers who only need stock counts and channel sync. Weighing it against Cin7 Core directly? Fishbowl vs Cin7 sorts out which of the four products each vendor sells you are actually comparing.


5. inFlow Inventory: Flat-Rate Pricing for Wholesale and B2B

inFlow is built for the middle of this market: wholesalers, distributors and B2B sellers who need purchase orders, sales orders, barcode picking, a showroom-style B2B portal and a genuinely good mobile app, without the ERP overhead. Its defining commercial choice is flat-rate pricing. You buy a plan, not seats, so adding a warehouse assistant doesn't change the invoice.

inFlow wholesale workbench under a stable flat-rate roof with order, integration, and onboarding toll gates

inFlow Inventory Entrepreneur runs $129/mo billed annually, or $161/mo billed monthly, and includes 2 users, 1,200 sales orders a year and 1 integration. Small Business is $349/mo billed annually with 5 users, 12,000 orders and 3 integrations, Mid-Size is $699/mo billed annually with 10 users, unlimited orders and 5 integrations, and Enterprise (25 users) is quoted. Orders above your plan's limit are billed at $0.20 each. There is also a separate manufacturing line, inFlow Manufacturing, at $179/mo, $449/mo and $899/mo billed annually, or $224/mo, $561/mo and $1,124/mo month to month. The barcode-only product, inFlow Stockroom, is $99/mo billed annually ($1,188/yr) or $129/mo month to month, covering unlimited scanner users plus 2 admins with no sales orders included. Professional services and training are billed separately at $199/hour.

One number that rarely appears in comparison articles and belongs in every budget: inFlow's one-time onboarding fee of $499, which is optional on the inFlow Inventory plans and required on inFlow Manufacturing. Optional or not, it changes year-one cost enough to matter when you're comparing a $129/mo plan against a $229/mo one, and most teams switching systems take the onboarding.

Pros Cons
Flat-rate plans, so team growth doesn't raise the bill $499 one-time onboarding fee, optional on Inventory plans and required on Manufacturing
Strong B2B showroom portal and quoting workflow Annual sales order caps on the two lower tiers, then $0.20 per extra order
Excellent barcode and mobile scanning experience Integration counts are limited until the higher tiers
Separate manufacturing and stockroom-only products for narrower needs Manufacturing means moving to the pricier inFlow Manufacturing line

Pricing: inFlow Inventory Entrepreneur $129/mo, Small Business $349/mo, Mid-Size $699/mo, all billed annually (Entrepreneur is $161/mo billed monthly); Enterprise quoted. inFlow Manufacturing $179/mo, $449/mo and $899/mo billed annually, or $224/mo, $561/mo and $1,124/mo month to month. inFlow Stockroom $99/mo billed annually or $129/mo month to month. One-time onboarding fee $499, optional on Inventory plans and required on Manufacturing. Professional services and training $199/hour. Best for: Wholesale and B2B teams who want predictable, seat-independent pricing and a strong mobile scanning workflow. Not ideal for: High-volume ecommerce sellers who would burn through the order caps, or teams that need more than 5 integrations before the Mid-Size tier. If inFlow is what you are leaving, Best inFlow Inventory Alternatives works through the same 12 options against inFlow specifically.


6. Rework: Stock, Orders, Invoices and the Customer Record on One Platform

Rework's Inventory module handles stock and stock control inside the wider Rework platform, which also carries Sales CRM, Lead, Commerce, Invoice, Product, Work Ops and People. The argument isn't feature depth against a dedicated MRP, it's consolidation: the stock count, the sales order, the invoice and the customer record live on one platform instead of four tools stitched together with integrations that break quietly on a Friday. Rework also runs a unified multi-channel inbox, with WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram DM, web chat, email and SMS on the same contact timeline, which is why it fits social-commerce sellers and B2B teams who take as many orders over chat as through a cart.

Said plainly, because a listicle that oversells is worth less than one that doesn't: Rework is not a manufacturing MRP. It does not ship multi-level bills of materials, production scheduling, routings, shop floor control or full lot and serial genealogy. A contract manufacturer, or a food or supplement producer who needs traceability and recall reporting, should be looking at Katana, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing, MRPeasy or NetSuite instead. It is also not a WMS or 3PL platform, so there's no bin-level slotting, wave picking or carrier rate shopping at Linnworks or Extensiv depth.

Rework does not publish a price for Inventory. It sells packaged plans rather than per-user licenses, and Inventory is quoted per organization, so see rework.com/pricing for the published product lines or ask for a quote. If the CRM side is the bigger part of your evaluation, the best CRM software roundup covers that category in full.

Pros Cons
Stock, orders, invoices and the customer record on one platform No multi-level BOMs, routings or production scheduling
Unified multi-channel inbox across WhatsApp, chat, email and SMS Not a WMS: no bin-level slotting, wave picking or rate shopping
No integration layer to maintain between inventory and the CRM Pricing is quoted per organization rather than published
Packaged plans rather than per-user licenses Built for mid-size teams, not solo or single-user buyers

Pricing: Quote on request. Best for: Mid-size operators (roughly 10 to 200 people) who want stock, orders and invoicing on the same record as the customer and the deal, instead of three tools joined by integrations. Not ideal for: Manufacturers who need multi-level BOMs, production scheduling, shop floor control or full lot and serial traceability, and 3PLs or warehouses needing WMS-depth slotting and picking. Look at Katana, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing, MRPeasy or NetSuite for the first, and Linnworks or Extensiv for the second.


7. Unleashed: Landed Costs and Batch Control for Distributors

Unleashed, now owned by The Access Group but still sold and priced under its own name, is the system distributors and importers reach for when margin accuracy matters more than channel breadth. Landed cost allocation across freight, duty and insurance, batch and serial tracking with expiry dates, bill of materials assembly, and reporting that tells you actual margin by product and customer rather than a rough average.

Unleashed publishes both billing cycles, which makes it easy to compare honestly. Unleashed Core is $399/mo billed monthly or $4,389/yr billed annually, with 3 users. Pro is $729/mo billed monthly or $8,019/yr billed annually, with 5 users. Extra users cost $69/mo on Core and $89/mo on Pro.

The number that decides most Unleashed evaluations sits in the fine print: both tiers include only 100 sales orders per month. That is genuinely low for a distributor, and order upgrades are priced separately at $70/mo for 500 orders, $200/mo for 1,500, $320/mo for 3,000 and $490/mo for unlimited. Modules stack on top too: Advanced Inventory Manager and Warehouse Management with multi-bin are $149/mo each, production and manufacturing is $69/mo and analytics is $69/mo, all four included free with Pro, while a B2B ecommerce store starts at $129/mo, extra storage is $29/mo per 10GB and extra integrations are $39/mo each. Price the order upgrade you'll actually need before comparing the headline figure with anything else on this list.

Pros Cons
Best-in-class landed cost and margin reporting for importers Only 100 sales orders a month included on both published tiers
Batch, serial and expiry tracking suited to food and regulated goods Order volume upgrades add $70 to $490/mo on top
Both monthly and annual prices published, in four currencies Modules are separately priced unless you buy Pro
Assembly bills of materials cover light production Extra users cost $69 to $89/mo each

Pricing: Unleashed Core $399/mo billed monthly or $4,389/yr billed annually (3 users); Unleashed Pro $729/mo billed monthly or $8,019/yr billed annually (5 users). Extra users $69/mo on Core, $89/mo on Pro. Best for: Wholesalers, distributors and importers who need accurate landed costs, batch and serial control, and real margin reporting. Not ideal for: High-order-volume ecommerce sellers, who will pay more for order upgrades than for the platform itself. Best Unleashed Alternatives models what a real distributor pays once those upgrades are added in, and what the swaps cost at the same volume.


8. Oracle NetSuite: Inventory Inside a Real ERP

NetSuite is the option you pick when inventory is one workflow inside a much larger problem. Financials, order management, procurement, demand planning, warehouse management and multi-subsidiary consolidation all run on the same database, so a stock movement in one country posts to the general ledger without an integration in between. Advanced Inventory Management is a separate module on top of the core platform, adding demand-based replenishment, multi-location planning and distribution requirements planning.

Oracle publishes no price for NetSuite. The licence is quoted per company and structured as an annual subscription covering the core platform, whichever optional modules you take, and your user count, plus a one-time implementation cost that is usually the larger surprise in year one. Any per-user or base figure you have seen in a comparison article is a third-party estimate, not an Oracle-published number, so treat it accordingly and get the quote in writing.

What you're buying is governance, not speed. Deployments run in months, usually need an implementation partner, and reward companies with multiple entities or currencies. A 20-person wholesaler will spend more implementing NetSuite than the inventory problem is worth. NetSuite alternatives covers the mid-market options if the fit looks oversized, and SAP Business One alternatives asks the same question of the other ERP incumbent.

Pros Cons
Inventory, financials and order management on one governed data model No published price, quoted per company with a one-time implementation cost
Multi-entity, multi-currency and multi-subsidiary support out of the box Implementation is measured in months and usually needs a partner
Advanced Inventory Management adds demand planning and replenishment Advanced inventory is a paid module, not part of the core platform
Scales past anything else in this guide Heavy overkill for a small or single-entity business

Pricing: Oracle NetSuite: no published price. Quoted per company as an annual licence covering the core platform, optional modules and user count, plus a one-time implementation fee. Best for: Multi-entity or multi-currency companies that want inventory inside a full ERP with consolidated financials. Not ideal for: Small and mid-size businesses who need stock control running next month rather than next quarter.


9. Odoo Inventory: Free Forever as Your First App

Odoo Inventory is the outlier on price, and the claim is real rather than a trial gimmick. Odoo's own Inventory page states it is free, forever, with unlimited users, because your first app is always free with Odoo, including hosting and support, and you only pay once you install more applications. For a warehouse that needs receipts, deliveries, internal transfers, barcode scanning, replenishment rules, lot and serial tracking, and multi-warehouse routing, that is a lot of software for nothing.

The honest caveat is the second app. The moment you add Sales, Purchase, Accounting or Manufacturing beside Inventory, you move onto a paid per-user plan. Odoo currently publishes Standard at $7.25/user/month billed yearly, against a regular yearly rate of $7.79, with monthly billing higher (Odoo shows $11.20 as the undiscounted monthly rate), and Custom at $10.90/user/month billed yearly, undiscounted at $17.00 monthly. Odoo renders its rates dynamically and varies them by region, so confirm the figure for your own country. Odoo states that the discount is valid for 12 months, for initial users ordered, so treat those figures as promotional rather than permanent, and re-check them at renewal. Custom is what adds Odoo.sh or on-premise hosting, Odoo Studio, multi-company and external API access.

The real cost of Odoo isn't the license, it's configuration. It rewards teams willing to design their own routes, operation types and reordering rules, and punishes teams expecting an opinionated setup out of the box, so budget implementation time or a partner. Odoo alternatives covers the field if that trade doesn't suit.

Pros Cons
Genuinely free forever as your first app, with unlimited users Adding a second app moves everyone onto a paid per-user plan
Full double-entry inventory with lots, serials, routes and barcode Published per-user rates are promotional for 12 months
Open source, with self-hosting available on the Custom plan Configuration effort is real and often needs a partner
Grows into a full ERP without changing vendor Out-of-the-box defaults suit few businesses without tuning

Pricing: Odoo Inventory free forever as your first app, with unlimited users. Odoo Standard $7.25/user/mo billed yearly, $7.79/user/mo at the regular yearly rate; Odoo Custom $10.90/user/mo billed yearly, both promotional for 12 months. Best for: Cost-sensitive teams with the appetite to configure their own system, and anyone who wants room to grow into a full ERP later. Not ideal for: Teams that need working stock control this week without configuration work or a partner.


10. Sortly: The Easiest Way to Track Things You Own

Sortly solves a different problem from most of this list, and it solves it better than any of them. It's a mobile-first inventory app for tracking physical items: tools, equipment, parts, medical supplies, IT assets, event stock, job-site materials. You photograph items, nest them in folders that mirror how they're actually stored, print QR or barcode labels, scan them in and out from a phone, and set low-stock alerts. Setup is measured in an afternoon, not a quarter.

Sortly runs a promotional price alongside its regular price, so quote both. Sortly Free covers 1 user, 100 items and 1 custom field. Sortly Advanced is $24/mo promotional against a $49/mo regular rate, or $288/yr promotional against $588 regular, with 2 users, 500 items and 5 custom fields. Ultra is $74/mo promotional against $149 regular, or $888/yr against $1,788, with 5 users and 2,000 items. Premium is $149/mo promotional against $299 regular, or $1,788/yr against $3,588, with 8 users and 5,000 items. Enterprise is custom for 12 or more users and 10,000-plus items. Sortly states the 50% discount applies only to the first year of a new subscription, after which a 20% discount applies to yearly plans.

What Sortly doesn't do is sell. There's no sales order management, no purchase order workflow worth the name, no channel sync. If your inventory moves because customers buy it, you want something else on this list.

Pros Cons
Fastest setup and the best mobile scanning experience here No sales order management or channel integrations
Visual, folder-based organization that matches physical storage Item count caps are the real constraint, and they arrive quickly
Free tier is genuinely usable for a very small catalog Headline prices are first-year promotional, not the ongoing rate
Custom fields, QR label printing and low-stock alerts built in Not designed for ecommerce, wholesale or manufacturing

Pricing: Sortly Free; Sortly Advanced $24/mo promotional ($49/mo regular) or $288/yr promotional ($588 regular); Ultra $74/mo promotional ($149 regular); Premium $149/mo promotional ($299 regular); Enterprise custom. Best for: Field service teams, contractors, schools, clinics and offices tracking assets, parts and supplies rather than selling them. Not ideal for: Any business whose stock moves because of customer orders. Sortly buyers split cleanly into asset trackers and stock sellers, and Best Sortly Alternatives sorts the replacements along that line.


11. Linnworks and SkuVault Core: Multi-Channel Retail Operations at Volume

Linnworks is the retail operations layer for sellers running many channels at once: listing products to Amazon, eBay, Walmart, Shopify and more, routing orders to the right warehouse or 3PL, syncing stock so the same unit isn't sold twice, and handling returns at a volume that breaks lighter tools. The company now sells two packages, SkuVault Core, described as streamlined warehouse inventory for growing retailers, and Linnworks Advanced, described as connected commerce for complex fulfillment. SkuVault didn't disappear, it became SkuVault Core inside the Linnworks portfolio.

Linnworks publishes no prices. Its pricing page says plans are priced on order volume, not revenue, with no percentage fees ever, and that pricing is tiered on monthly orders with overages applying above your tier. It also recommends investing in onboarding, which is a one-off fee calculated from the package, timeline and internal resources. Add-on modules include Linnworks Listing, a warehouse management system, Linnworks Forecasting charged as a flat fee, and retail analytics from Conjura.

Order-volume pricing suits this category better than seat pricing, since cost tracks the work the system does. But it also means the only honest answer to "what does Linnworks cost" is that you have to ask, and budget onboarding separately. If the storefront side is also up for review, best ecommerce platforms covers it.

Pros Cons
Deep marketplace listing, order routing and channel stock sync No published pricing at all, quote only
Order-volume pricing with no percentage-of-revenue fees Overages apply above your tier, so volume spikes cost money
Two packages covering warehouse inventory and full retail operations A one-time onboarding fee sits on top of the subscription
WMS, forecasting and analytics available as modules Overkill for a single-channel seller

Pricing: Linnworks Advanced and SkuVault Core: no published price. Tiered on monthly order volume with overages, plus a one-time onboarding fee. Best for: High-volume multi-channel retailers and brands running several marketplaces plus their own storefront. Not ideal for: Single-channel sellers, or buyers who need a published price before they'll take a demo.


12. Descartes Finale, Formerly Finale Inventory: High-Volume Barcode Operations

Descartes Finale, the product most people still search for as Finale Inventory, is now owned by The Descartes Systems Group and sold inside its Descartes Ecommerce division. The software itself is built for warehouses that move a lot of units across a lot of SKUs. Its strengths are barcode-driven receiving, picking and cycle counting, multi-channel stock sync, purchase order and reorder forecasting, and the kind of high-volume workflow tolerance that matters when a single shift processes thousands of lines. It's a common choice for established ecommerce sellers and for third-party logistics providers running client inventory.

Descartes Finale publishes starting prices rather than plans. Essentials is listed as starting at $499/month and Growth as starting at $799/month, with Enterprise on custom pricing. Two things to note, because comparison articles regularly get them wrong. Descartes Finale does not publish per-tier included user counts or order limits, so the entry price alone doesn't tell you what you get, and it doesn't state a billing basis for those starting figures either, though it notes most customers choose 12, 24 or 36-month terms. And the platform maximums quoted publicly, up to 300 users, 1.5 million orders per month and 1.5 million products, are system ceilings, not inclusions in a $499 plan.

That $499 entry is the highest published starting price in this guide, which positions Descartes Finale clearly: it's not the tool you graduate to from a spreadsheet, it's the tool you move to when order volume is already breaking something cheaper.

Pros Cons
Built for high-volume barcode receiving, picking and cycle counting Highest published entry price in this guide at $499/mo
Strong multi-channel stock sync, and standard onboarding is included Per-tier user counts, order limits and billing basis are not published
Handles very large SKU counts without falling over Quoted system maximums are ceilings, not plan inclusions
Popular with 3PLs managing multiple client inventories Too expensive to justify below meaningful order volume

Pricing: Descartes Finale Essentials from $499/month and Growth from $799/month as published, Enterprise custom. Billing basis is not stated, and most customers take 12, 24 or 36-month terms. Best for: Established ecommerce sellers and 3PLs with high SKU counts and barcode-driven warehouse workflows. Not ideal for: Small sellers, or anyone whose order volume doesn't yet justify a four-figure quarterly software line.


13. MRPeasy: A Complete MRP at a Predictable Per-User Price

MRPeasy is the most complete manufacturing system here for the money. Production planning and scheduling, multi-level bills of materials, routings and workstations, a shop floor reporting interface, procurement, stock, and a light CRM, all included rather than sold as modules. For a 20-person job shop or a small batch producer, it covers the whole manufacturing loop without a consultant.

Pricing is per user and published plainly. MRPeasy Starter is $49/user/month, Professional $69, Enterprise $99 and Unlimited $149. Starter, Professional and Enterprise have a one-user minimum; only Unlimited requires two. Billing can be monthly or annual, and annual gives you one month free. Users 1 through 10 pay the standard per-user rate, and from user 11 onward you buy in bundles of 10 at $79 per bundle, which makes larger shop floors far cheaper per head than the headline rate suggests. There is no free plan, only a 15-plus-15 day trial. Optional extras include training at $150 an hour and advanced support plans from $199 to $499 a month.

The comparison worth doing before signing: MRPeasy for a five-person team is $245/month on Starter, against Katana Core at $299/month plus a $199/month Manufacturing Management add-on. MRPeasy is usually cheaper for small teams and more complete on classic MRP, while Katana wins on interface polish, ecommerce integrations and unlimited users on the floor.

Pros Cons
Full MRP including BOMs, routings, scheduling and procurement, no module upsells Per-user pricing, so office staff and planners each add cost
Bundles of 10 users at $79 above user 10 keep large shop floors affordable No free plan, only a trial
Both monthly and annual billing published, annual gives a month free Interface is functional rather than polished
Genuinely designed for small manufacturers, not scaled-down enterprise software Not a fit for pure resellers who never build anything

Pricing: MRPeasy Starter $49/user/mo, Professional $69/user/mo, Enterprise $99/user/mo, Unlimited $149/user/mo (one-user minimum on Starter through Enterprise, two on Unlimited), billed monthly or annually (annual gives one month free). From user 11, bundles of 10 users at $79. Best for: Small and mid-size manufacturers wanting complete MRP coverage at a predictable, published price. Not ideal for: Distributors and resellers with no production, or teams that need a polished consumer-grade interface.


Stage Fit: Where Each Tool Belongs

Order volume, not headcount, is what breaks an inventory system. These are the stages where each option earns its keep.

Inventory order-volume staircase progressing from a small stockroom to multi-location warehouse and enterprise network

Stage Typical monthly orders Best fits Why
Starting out Under 100 Zoho Inventory Free, Odoo Inventory, Sortly Free, Katana Free Real functionality at zero or near-zero cost while volume is still small
Early growth 100 to 1,000 Zoho Inventory Standard, inFlow Inventory Entrepreneur, Katana Core, Sortly Advanced Order management and barcode workflows without a five-figure annual commitment
Scaling 1,000 to 10,000 Cin7 Core, Unleashed, inFlow Inventory Small Business, Fishbowl Inventory, Rework, MRPeasy Multi-location, multi-channel and costing depth, plus room in the order caps
Established 10,000 to 100,000 Cin7 Core Advanced, Descartes Finale, Linnworks and SkuVault Core, Fishbowl Advanced Warehouse-grade throughput, channel routing and high SKU counts
Enterprise 100,000-plus, or multi-entity Oracle NetSuite, Cin7 Omni, Linnworks Advanced Consolidated financials, governance and multi-subsidiary or multi-region operations

Sizing and Persona Fit

The same system can be right for a 12-person wholesaler and wrong for a 12-person workshop, so match the persona first.

Team size Persona Best fits Realistic software budget
1 to 10 Solo seller or small shop moving finished goods Zoho Inventory, Odoo Inventory, Sortly $0 to $99/mo
1 to 10 Maker or small batch producer Katana, MRPeasy, inFlow Manufacturing $179 to $500/mo
10 to 50 Wholesaler or distributor Unleashed, Cin7 Core, inFlow Inventory $349 to $800/mo
10 to 50 Multi-channel operator wanting one platform for stock, orders and customers Rework, Cin7 Core Quoted per organization
10 to 50 Job shop or contract manufacturer MRPeasy, Katana with Manufacturing Management, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing $490 to $900/mo
50 to 200 High-volume ecommerce seller or 3PL Descartes Finale, Linnworks and SkuVault Core, Cin7 Omni $799/mo and up, mostly quoted
200-plus Multi-entity company needing consolidated financials Oracle NetSuite Quoted, plus implementation

What Each Tool Actually Costs at Five Users

Headline prices hide seat policy. Here is the same team of five, priced against each vendor's published rates.

Tool Cost for 5 users How the vendor counts seats
Odoo Inventory $0 as your first app Unlimited users on the free single-app tier
Katana Core From $299/mo, or $498/mo with Manufacturing Management Unlimited users on every tier, including Free
Zoho Inventory Premium $79/mo billed annually 5 users included
inFlow Inventory Small Business $349/mo billed annually 5 users included, flat rate
Cin7 Core Standard $349/mo as published 5 users included, extra user rate not published
Unleashed Core $399/mo plus $138/mo for 2 extra users, so $537/mo 3 users included, $69/mo per extra user
MRPeasy Starter $245/mo Priced per user, modeled at 5 seats
Fishbowl Inventory Growth $429/mo billed annually 5 users included
Descartes Finale Essentials From $499/mo Included user count not published
Rework Quoted per organization Packaged plans, not per-user licenses

The Year-One Cost Nobody Compares: Onboarding and Implementation

The monthly rate is the number every buyer compares. The one-time fee is the number that actually decides year-one cost, and it varies far more across this category than the subscriptions do.

Tool One-time onboarding or implementation cost Published?
Fishbowl Inventory An implementation package is mandatory on all purchases Requirement stated, price quoted
Katana Optional onboarding package at $2,000 Published
inFlow Inventory $499, optional on Inventory plans and required on Manufacturing, plus professional services and training at $199/hour Published
MRPeasy No onboarding fee published, with optional training at $150/hour and advanced support from $199 to $499/mo Published
Descartes Finale Standard onboarding included with the subscription Included, no separate fee
Linnworks and SkuVault Core A one-time onboarding fee the vendor recommends budgeting for Fee confirmed, amount not published
Oracle NetSuite A one-time implementation fee, usually the largest year-one line Fee confirmed, amount not published

Work an example. Fishbowl Inventory Essentials at $229/mo against Cin7 Core Standard at $349/mo reads as a $1,440 annual gap in Fishbowl's favor. A mandatory Fishbowl implementation package can close or reverse that gap on its own, and Katana's $2,000 onboarding package costs more than six months of Katana Core. So ask every shortlisted vendor for the one-time figure in writing before you compare monthly rates at all, and ask whether it's required or optional. Those two words are worth thousands of dollars in this category.


How to Choose: Decision Framework

Choose the inventory job before the vendor. Stock and orders, manufacturing, multi-channel retail, warehouse throughput, and full ERP each lead to a different shortlist.

Inventory software selector routing buyers toward stock and orders, manufacturing, multi-channel retail, or ERP

If you need... Pick... Why
Real inventory software at zero cost Odoo Inventory Free forever as your first app, with unlimited users and full warehouse features
The cheapest credible paid plan with real order management Zoho Inventory $29/mo billed annually covers 500 orders, 3 users and 2 locations
Live production planning for a small manufacturer Katana Visual production planner and unlimited users, at $299/mo plus the $199/mo manufacturing add-on
A complete MRP at the lowest total cost for a small team MRPeasy Full BOMs, routings and scheduling from $49/user/mo with no module upsells
Warehouse and manufacturing depth alongside QuickBooks Fishbowl Inventory or Fishbowl Advanced Deepest QuickBooks heritage, with a separate line for real manufacturing
Predictable pricing that does not scale linearly per seat inFlow Inventory Tier-based plans from $129/mo billed annually with 2 users included, extra seats at a published $59/$49/$39 per month, plus a $499 onboarding fee that is optional on Inventory plans
Accurate landed costs, batch and serial control for imports Unleashed Landed cost allocation and expiry tracking, with margin reporting to match
Stock, orders, invoices and the customer record on one platform Rework Inventory sits beside the CRM, invoicing and a unified multi-channel inbox
Marketplace listing and order routing at high volume Linnworks and SkuVault Core Order-volume pricing built for multi-channel retail operations
High-volume barcode warehouse workflows Descartes Finale Built for large SKU counts and heavy picking, from $499/mo
To track assets, parts and supplies rather than sell them Sortly Mobile-first counting, QR labels and folder-based organization
Inventory inside a full ERP with consolidated financials Oracle NetSuite One data model across inventory, finance and multi-entity reporting

Frequently Asked Questions about Inventory Management Software

What is the best inventory management software in 2026?

There's no single winner, only the right fit for one of three jobs. For stock and order control, Cin7 Core and Zoho Inventory lead. For manufacturing, Katana and MRPeasy lead, with Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing for heavier operations. For multi-channel retail at volume, Linnworks with SkuVault Core and Cin7 Omni lead. Odoo Inventory is the strongest free option, and Oracle NetSuite is the pick when inventory has to live inside a full ERP.

What is the cheapest inventory management software?

Odoo Inventory is free forever with unlimited users as your first Odoo app, which makes it the cheapest genuinely capable option in the category. Among paid plans, Zoho Inventory Standard is $29/month billed annually, and Sortly Advanced is $24/month on a first-year promotional rate against a $49/month regular price. Zoho Inventory, Sortly and Katana all offer free tiers with real functionality, capped on orders, items or SKUs respectively.

What happened to QuickBooks Commerce and TradeGecko?

QuickBooks Commerce, which started life as TradeGecko before Intuit acquired it, was discontinued as a standalone product and was not available after 31 August 2023. Intuit folded a narrower set of ecommerce features into QuickBooks Online instead of continuing the standalone platform. Teams that were on it generally moved to Cin7 Core, Zoho Inventory, inFlow or Katana depending on whether they resell or manufacture.

Is Cin7 Orderhive still available?

No. Cin7 announced the decision in April 2023 and Orderhive went out of service on 31 March 2024, as Cin7 consolidated onto Cin7 Core and Cin7 Omni. If you're researching Orderhive today, treat it as retired rather than as a product to request a quote for, and evaluate Cin7 Core or one of the multi-channel alternatives instead.

What's the difference between inventory management software and an MRP?

Inventory software tracks what you have, what you've ordered and what you've sold, across locations and channels. An MRP adds the manufacturing layer: multi-level bills of materials, work orders, routings, capacity planning and shop floor control, so it can tell you what raw materials a production run consumed. If you make what you sell, buying inventory software without MRP features is the most expensive mistake in this category, because you'll replace it inside a year.

Does Rework replace a dedicated inventory system?

For mid-size operators reselling finished goods, often yes, because stock, orders, invoices and the customer record sit on one platform instead of separate tools joined by integrations. For manufacturers, no. Rework doesn't offer multi-level BOMs, production scheduling, shop floor control or full lot and serial genealogy, and it isn't a WMS with bin-level slotting or wave picking, so Katana, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing, MRPeasy or NetSuite are the right shortlist for production, and Linnworks or Extensiv for warehouse operations at depth.

How much should inventory management software cost?

Published entry prices in this guide run from free (Odoo Inventory, Zoho Inventory, Sortly and Katana all have free tiers) to $499/month for Descartes Finale Essentials. Most growing businesses land between $129 and $499 a month. Budget beyond the plan price though: extra users, order volume upgrades, add-on modules and one-time onboarding fees (inFlow's $499 fee is optional on Inventory plans and required on Manufacturing, and Linnworks charges one too) frequently add 30% or more to year-one cost.

Can I just run inventory in a spreadsheet?

For a single location and a small number of SKUs, yes, and plenty of businesses do. It stops working the moment two people update stock at once, you sell the same unit on two channels, or you need to know what a batch cost including freight and duty. The usual trigger to switch is a stockout or an oversell that costs a customer, which is exactly the failure nearly 80% of warehouse associates and decision-makers told Zebra was hurting productivity.


What to Do Next

Decide which of the three categories you're buying in before you shortlist anything, because that single choice eliminates two thirds of this list. If you make what you sell, your shortlist is Katana, MRPeasy, Fishbowl Advanced Manufacturing or inFlow Manufacturing. If you resell finished goods, it's Zoho Inventory, Cin7 Core, inFlow Inventory, Unleashed or Rework. If you sell the same SKU across many channels at volume, it's Linnworks with SkuVault Core, Cin7 Omni or Descartes Finale.

Then run the same test on your top two. Load your real SKU list, not a demo file, receive a real purchase order, pick and ship a real customer order, and run a cycle count on one shelf. Add up the true annual cost while you're in there: plan price, extra users, the order-volume tier you'll hit in your busiest month, any modules you need, and onboarding fees. That number, not the headline price, is the one to compare.

And if your stock data is fine but lives in a different system from your orders, your invoices and your customers, that's a consolidation problem rather than an inventory problem, and it's worth settling before you sign a three-year contract for a fourth tool to integrate.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.