Cin7 vs Katana: Which Fits Your Inventory and Manufacturing Setup?

Cin7 Core fixed-tier inventory container compared with Katana's metered modular production platform across billing, capacity, and traceability

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026

Most Cin7 vs Katana pages put two headline prices in one column and call the job done. That breaks the comparison before the first table, because these two products do not charge for the same thing.

Cin7 Core is priced by tier, and every tier carries a hard annual sales order allowance. Standard, Pro and Advanced each publish one fixed figure, one fixed user count, one fixed integration count, and a ceiling on how many sales orders you are allowed to process in a year. Katana is priced by usage, and it is modular. Its Core plan starts at a floor, then bills on the sales orders you actually deliver, the locations you actually run, and the modules you actually switch on. One vendor sells you a box with walls. The other sells you a meter.

There is a second thing almost every competing page on this query gets wrong, and it matters more than the billing basis. Katana sells its production depth modularly, on top of the $299 floor. Katana Core does make things: it carries BOMs, subassemblies, manufacturing orders and make-to-order workflows. But manufacturing routings and manufacturing insights, meaning operation sequencing plus cost and usage analysis across those operations, sit in a Manufacturing Management add-on at $199 per month. Traceability is another $249 per month, and Warehouse Management another $149. So a Katana running routed production lands near $498 per month, not $299, and nowhere near the $99 or $199 that a great many still-live blog posts still quote. Katana's reputation as the cheap little MRP for small manufacturers is two pricing generations out of date, and correcting it is the most useful thing this page does.

One piece of housekeeping, because the query itself is ambiguous. Cin7 sells two products: Cin7 Core (formerly DEAR Systems) and Cin7 Omni, a separate, quote-only, multi-channel retail platform. This page compares Cin7 Core against Katana, because Core is the product that competes with Katana on price and on audience. Cin7 Omni versus Katana is a different comparison, and collapsing the two is the most common error in this matchup, so every price cell below names the exact product it belongs to.

This is written for the operations lead, founder or production manager who has already shortlisted these two and needs one honest answer: given what you actually make, sell and ship, which one costs less and does the job? Every figure states its billing basis, and anything modeled rather than quoted is labeled as modeled.

TL;DR

Cin7 Core (formerly DEAR Systems) Katana (formerly Katana MRP, now Katana Cloud Inventory)
What it is Inventory and order management platform for small and mid-size product sellers, with assembly manufacturing built in and deep accounting integration Manufacturing-first inventory platform built for small producers, with a modular add-on stack layered on a usage-priced core
Billing basis By tier. Three fixed prices, each with a fixed user count, integration count and annual sales order ceiling By usage. A floor price plus per-order, per-location and per-module charges
Published entry price Cin7 Core Standard $349/month. The page prints "/month" and does not state whether that is billed monthly or annually Katana Core from $299/month. Monthly and annual both offered, annual carries a discount
Free tier None. Free trial only Katana Free at $0, capped at 30 SKUs, unlimited users
Manufacturing in the base plan Standard Assembly Manufacturing and Bill of Materials are core features. Material requirements planning is listed as a Cin7 Core Pro inclusion Katana Core carries BOMs, subassemblies, manufacturing orders, make-to-order and make-to-stock. Routings and manufacturing insights are a $199/month add-on
Cost with full production planning Cin7 Core Pro $599/month, the tier where material requirements planning appears About $498/month (Katana Core $299 plus Manufacturing Management $199), modeled at the floor
Sales order allowance 6,000 / 24,000 / 120,000 per year by tier, a hard published ceiling No published ceiling. Billed per delivered order, at "a lower per-unit cost as you deliver more"
Users included 5 / 10 / 15 by tier. Extra users "available for purchase", rate not published Unlimited on every tier, including Free
Batch and serial traceability Included in Cin7 Core Traceability add-on, $249/month
Barcode and warehouse Standard Warehouse Management with barcode scanning included, Advanced Warehouse Management on Cin7 Core Advanced Warehouse Management add-on, $149/month
Integrations included 2 / 4 / 6 by tier, from a catalog Cin7 states is "over 700" Unlimited integrations on every tier, from a much smaller catalog
Best for Sellers who want one predictable invoice, several users, and a published number they can hand to finance Small manufacturers who want a low entry point, unlimited seats, and to pay only for what they switch on
Worst for A two-person shop paying for five seats and 6,000 orders it will never use A regulated producer needing traceability, where the add-on stack quietly passes Cin7 Core Pro

The short verdict. Katana wins on floor price and on seat economics, and it is the more natural fit when manufacturing is your primary job and your team is bigger than your order book. Cin7 Core wins on predictability and on how much sits inside the base price, and it pulls ahead the moment you need traceability, more than a couple of integrations, or a number you can defend in a budget meeting. The crossover is not where the marketing suggests. It arrives as soon as a Katana buyer switches on a second add-on.

Key Facts

  • Cin7 Core publishes three fixed tiers, each with a hard annual sales order allowance: Standard $349/month (5 users, 6,000 orders per year, 2 integrations), Pro $599/month (10 users, 24,000 orders, 4 integrations), Advanced $1,199/month (15 users, 120,000 orders, 6 integrations). The page's only footnote is that "Prices are in USD and exclude taxes". It never states whether the monthly figure is billed monthly or annually, and publishes no annual discount and no extra-user rate. cin7.com/pricing
  • Cin7 Omni is quote-only. Its pricing cell reads "Contact us for pricing", with 8 users, 5 integrations and flexible order volume. There is no published Cin7 Omni number to compare against Katana, which is why this page compares Cin7 Core. cin7.com/pricing
  • Katana's production depth is modular. Katana Core starts at $299/month with unlimited users and unlimited SKUs, and its own pricing page then lists Manufacturing Management at $199/month, described as "Access manufacturing routings, and manufacturing insights", plus Traceability at $249/month, Warehouse Management at $149/month, and a Shop Floor app with no published price. katanamrp.com/pricing
  • Katana bills sales orders by usage, not by allowance: "Billed based on the number of sales orders delivered, with a lower per-unit cost as you deliver more". On annual plans, "if your usage exceeds your estimate by more than 20%, we'll work with you to renegotiate your plan." The per-order rate and volume bands are not published. katanamrp.com/pricing
  • Cin7 Core is the former DEAR Systems. Cin7 acquired DEAR Systems and Orderhive on February 17, 2021, combining businesses then serving "over 6,000 product sellers globally". PR Newswire The rename took effect January 9, 2023: "The Cin7 product will now be Cin7 Omni; DEAR will be Cin7 Core." cin7.com newsroom
  • Katana raised a 14 million euro Series B extension on October 2, 2025, led by Cogito Capital Partners, taking total funding past 60 million euros. It states it serves "over 1,500 SMBs across 70 countries" and processes over $3 billion in gross merchandise value annually. katanamrp.com newsroom
  • Most of the market both products sell into is tiny. Of 239,265 US manufacturing firms in 2022, "around three-quarters of these firms have fewer than 20 employees" and 93.1% have fewer than 100, per the National Association of Manufacturers citing US Census Bureau Statistics of US Businesses. nam.org That distribution is why Katana's unlimited-user model and Cin7 Core's five-seat floor pull buyers in opposite directions.

Two Different Origins, Two Different Jobs

These products feel similar on a feature grid and behave nothing alike in a real business, and the reason is where each one started.

Cin7 order and stock roots compared with Katana production run and bill of materials roots

Cin7 Core began life as DEAR Systems, an inventory and order platform aimed at product sellers rather than factories. It grew outward from the order and the stock record: purchase orders, sales orders, multi-warehouse stock, landed cost, and above all a deep, well-worn accounting integration with Xero and QuickBooks Online. Manufacturing arrived later, bolted onto a strong order platform as Standard Assembly Manufacturing and Bill of Materials, with advanced manufacturing offered as an add-on. Cin7 states Core "integrates with over 700 of the most popular platforms", and that catalog is the real moat. It also explains why so many Cin7 Core buyers are wholesalers, distributors and multi-channel retailers who happen to assemble a few kits, rather than manufacturers proper.

Katana went the other way. It was built manufacturing-first for small producers, and it shows in the vocabulary: manufacturing orders, make-to-stock and make-to-order workflows, subassemblies, a shop floor app, and production planning that recalculates as material availability changes. Inventory in Katana is downstream of production, not the other way round. The company is also younger and smaller, with just over 1,500 SMB customers across 70 countries.

Cin7 Core Katana
Former name DEAR Systems, renamed January 9, 2023 Katana MRP, now marketed as Katana Cloud Inventory
Built first for Product sellers: wholesale, distribution, multi-channel retail Small manufacturers and makers
Center of gravity The order and the stock record The production run
Manufacturing posture Assembly and BOM included, advanced manufacturing as an add-on Manufacturing is the identity of the base product, but routings and insights are separately priced
Accounting depth A core selling point, Xero and QuickBooks Online, plus a stated 700-plus integration catalog Xero and QuickBooks Online supported, catalog much smaller
Ownership Cin7, which acquired DEAR Systems and Orderhive in February 2021 Independent, Series B extension October 2025
Typical buyer shape 5 to 50 people, several sales channels, high order counts, some assembly 2 to 50 people, real production, moderate order counts, many hands on the floor

There is one more piece of Cin7 history worth knowing, because a meaningful share of the people reading this page arrived as refugees from it. Cin7 Orderhive is dead. Cin7 acquired Orderhive alongside DEAR in February 2021, rebranded it as Cin7 Orderhive, announced its discontinuation on April 18, 2023, and took it out of service on March 31, 2024. If you were an Orderhive customer, you were migrated onto Cin7 Core or you left, and if you are shopping right now partly because of that forced migration, that is a completely rational reason to be re-evaluating rather than renewing. Do not go looking for an Orderhive price. There is not one, and there will not be one.

What Cin7 Core Actually Sells You: Tiers With Walls

Cin7 Core's pricing page is refreshingly plain. Three tiers, three prices, three sets of limits. What makes it unusual in this category is that the limiting resource is not seats, it is sales orders per year.

Three enclosed Cin7 Core pricing capacity bays with growing user, integration, and annual order limits

Cin7 Core tier Published price Users included Sales orders per year Integrations Named tier inclusion
Cin7 Core Standard $349/month, billing cycle not stated on the page 5 6,000 2 Unlimited inventory locations, Standard Warehouse Management, barcode scanning
Cin7 Core Pro $599/month, billing cycle not stated on the page 10 24,000 4 Material requirements planning
Cin7 Core Advanced $1,199/month, billing cycle not stated on the page 15 120,000 6 Advanced Warehouse Management
Cin7 Omni Contact us for pricing 8 Flexible, no fixed tier 5 Positioned for enterprises needing fully customizable inventory

Two gaps are worth naming rather than papering over.

The page prints "/month" and never says whether that is billed monthly or annually. Most competitors in this category publish both, or at minimum flag which one the headline is. Cin7 does neither and publishes no annual discount, so when you compare $349 against a rival's annual-billed figure you may not be comparing the same thing. Get the answer in writing before you sign.

No extra-user rate is published either. All three tiers say more users are "available for purchase", which makes the difference between a 10-person team and a 12-person team a number only sales can give you. In a category where team size is the most volatile variable, that is a real hole in an otherwise transparent rate card.

What the tier structure does give you is a ceiling you can plan against. At 400 sales orders a month, Cin7 Core Standard's 6,000-per-year allowance covers you with room to spare, and your invoice is the same in January as it is in a Black Friday November. That predictability is the entire pitch.

Cin7 Core tier Annual sales order allowance Equivalent orders per month Cost per year if the "/month" figure is billed 12 times Modeled cost per allowed order
Cin7 Core Standard 6,000 500 $4,188 (modeled) ~$0.70
Cin7 Core Pro 24,000 2,000 $7,188 (modeled) ~$0.30
Cin7 Core Advanced 120,000 10,000 $14,388 (modeled) ~$0.12

Those annual figures are modeled, not quoted, precisely because Cin7 does not state the billing cycle. Read them as "what twelve monthly payments would total", not as a published annual price.

What Katana Actually Sells You: A Floor, Then a Meter

Katana's page is equally plain but structured on a completely different logic. You are not buying a box with walls. You are buying a base platform, then paying for what you consume and what you switch on.

Katana pricing shown as a metered manufacturing base with separate production, traceability, and warehouse modules

Katana plan Published price Users SKUs Locations Sales orders
Katana Free $0 Unlimited 30 (unlimited during a 15-day trial window) Unlimited Unlimited
Katana Core From $299/month, monthly or annual, annual discounted Unlimited Unlimited 1 included, extras charged per unit Usage-based, billed on orders delivered
Katana Advantage Custom, annual contract, quarterly payment option Unlimited Unlimited 1 included, add as needed Usage-based

The unlimited-users line is not marketing filler. In a category where Cin7 Core gives you five seats at $349 and will not tell you what the sixth costs, "unlimited users on every tier including the free one" is a genuine structural advantage, and for a 20-person shop where warehouse staff, production staff and the bookkeeper all need to log in, it can be worth more than the headline price gap.

Then there is the add-on stack, which is where the real money is.

Katana add-on Published price What it covers
Manufacturing Management $199/month Manufacturing routings (operations in sequence) and manufacturing insights (cost and usage per order)
Traceability $249/month Batch and lot numbers with expiry dates, serial number tracking for unique item histories
Warehouse Management $149/month Sales order fulfillment planning by mobile app, pick, pack and receiving, barcode scanning, bin locations
Shop Floor app Price not published Operator task assignment, real-time progress tracking, consistent production reporting

Now stack them, because this is the arithmetic that no competing page on this query performs.

Katana configuration Monthly, modeled at the Core floor Annual equivalent at twelve payments What you get
Katana Core alone $299 $3,588 Inventory, orders, BOMs, subassemblies, manufacturing orders, make-to-order and make-to-stock, unlimited users and SKUs. No routings, no manufacturing insights
Katana Core + Manufacturing Management $498 $5,976 Adds routed operations in sequence plus cost and usage per order. The real entry price for full production planning
Katana Core + Manufacturing + Traceability $747 $8,964 Adds batch, lot, expiry and serial tracking
Katana Core + Manufacturing + Traceability + Warehouse $896 $10,752 Adds mobile pick and pack, barcode, bin locations

Every figure in that table is modeled at the $299 floor, before any sales order usage above whatever the floor covers, and before extra locations. Katana does not publish the per-order rate, the volume bands or the per-location charge, so a real Katana quote at any meaningful order volume will land above these numbers, not below them.

The takeaway is blunt: $299 is not Katana's price for a manufacturer running routed production. About $498 is, and roughly $747 is the floor for anyone who also needs batch or serial tracking, which is most food, beverage, cosmetics, supplement and medical device producers by regulation rather than by preference. If you have read anywhere that Katana is the $99 or $199 MRP, that page has not been updated in years.

What Three Real Operations Actually Pay

Comparing Cin7 Core Standard against Katana Core is not a like-for-like comparison, because one of them includes assembly manufacturing and the other does not. Every scenario below configures both products to do the same job, then prices them. Cin7 Core figures are the published tier price multiplied by twelve, and are modeled because Cin7 does not state its billing cycle. Katana figures are the published floor plus published add-ons, and are modeled because Katana does not publish its per-order or per-location rates. Neither column is a quote.

Cin7 fixed tier ceilings compared with Katana usage pricing across three real inventory and manufacturing workloads

Scenario A: The inventory-only seller

A six-person homewares wholesaler running Shopify and Amazon, roughly 350 sales orders a month (4,200 a year), one warehouse, syncing to Xero. No production, no BOMs, no work orders.

Configuration Calculation Modeled annual cost Fits the requirement?
Cin7 Core Standard $349 x 12 $4,188 Orders yes (4,200 of 6,000). Users no, 6 people against 5 seats, and the sixth seat has no published rate
Cin7 Core Pro $599 x 12 $7,188 Yes on both counts, 10 seats and 24,000 orders
Katana Core $299 x 12, plus unpublished order usage $3,588 floor Yes. Unlimited users, unlimited SKUs, one location included

Katana wins this one on floor price and wins it comfortably on seats, because six people cost the same as two. The catch is that Katana's $3,588 is a floor and Cin7 Core's $4,188 is a ceiling: at 4,200 delivered orders a year you will pay order usage on top of Katana's base, and nobody outside Katana's sales team knows how much. Cin7 Core Standard's problem is the mirror image, a known total that does not quite fit a six-person team. If you can live inside five seats, the two are close enough that features decide it. If you cannot, jumping to Cin7 Core Pro at $599 to buy seats you need and orders you do not is the worst option on this table.

Scenario B: The small manufacturer, where the received wisdom breaks

An eight-person cosmetics producer, roughly 300 sales orders a month (3,600 a year), one facility, real production with routed operations, and batch and lot tracking with expiry dates because the category requires it.

Configuration Calculation Modeled annual cost
Cin7 Core Pro $599 x 12. Material requirements planning is a named Pro inclusion, batch and serial tracking are in Cin7 Core, 10 seats covers 8 $7,188
Katana with routed production and traceability ($299 Core + $199 Manufacturing Management + $249 Traceability) x 12 $8,964 floor
Katana with routed production, no traceability ($299 Core + $199 Manufacturing Management) x 12 $5,976 floor

This is the scenario that inverts what almost every page on this query tells you. Configured to do the same job, Katana costs more than Cin7 Core Pro, by roughly $1,776 a year on modeled floors, and that gap widens once Katana's order usage lands on top. The reason is one line item: Traceability is a $249 per month add-on in Katana, and it is simply part of Cin7 Core.

Drop the traceability requirement and the answer flips back. Katana at $5,976 undercuts Cin7 Core Pro at $7,188 by around $1,212 a year, with unlimited seats thrown in. So the single question that decides Scenario B is not "which is cheaper", it is "do you need batch, lot or serial tracking?" For food, beverage, cosmetics, supplements, nutraceuticals and medical devices, that is usually not a preference, it is a regulator. For a furniture maker or a machine shop, it often genuinely is optional.

If your production is... Traceability needed? Cheaper on modeled floors
Food, beverage, cosmetics, supplements, pharma, medical device Yes, effectively mandatory Cin7 Core Pro, because traceability is included rather than a $249/month line
Furniture, apparel, machining, general assembly Often optional Katana Core plus Manufacturing Management, plus unlimited seats
Electronics with serialized warranty obligations Yes, serial numbers at minimum Cin7 Core Pro
Contract manufacturing with per-customer recalls Yes, full genealogy Neither is obviously cheap. Price both against a dedicated MRP too

Scenario C: The higher-volume operation

A fourteen-person operation shipping roughly 2,500 sales orders a month (30,000 a year), running three stock locations, with production, batch tracking and barcode-driven pick and pack.

Configuration Calculation Modeled annual cost What is still unpriced
Cin7 Core Advanced $1,199 x 12. 15 seats, 120,000 orders, Advanced Warehouse Management, unlimited inventory locations $14,388 Nothing material. This tier absorbs all three variables
Cin7 Core Pro plus purchased order volume $599 x 12 plus an unpublished volume top-up for the 6,000 orders above the 24,000 allowance $7,188 plus an unknown The order top-up rate is not published
Katana, fully loaded ($299 + $199 + $249 + $149) x 12 $10,752 floor Order usage on 30,000 delivered orders, plus two extra locations, neither rate published

At first glance Katana is $3,636 a year cheaper. Look at the last column and the picture changes, because Katana's two unpriced variables are exactly the two things that are large in this scenario. You are metered on 30,000 delivered orders a year and charged per unit for two extra locations, while Cin7 Core Advanced's $1,199 already swallows 120,000 orders and lists unlimited inventory locations from the Standard tier upward.

That location line deserves more attention than it gets. Cin7 Core includes unlimited inventory locations on every tier including Standard, while Katana includes one on Core and charges per additional unit. For a multi-site operator that is a structural difference which never shows up in a headline-price table, and it compounds every time you open a new stockroom, 3PL bay or retail backroom.

The three scenarios side by side

Scenario Cin7 Core, modeled annual Katana, modeled annual floor Cheaper on floors The variable that could flip it
A: Inventory-only seller, 6 users, 4,200 orders $4,188 (Standard, seat-short) or $7,188 (Pro) $3,588 Katana Katana order usage at 4,200 orders
B: Small manufacturer with traceability, 8 users, 3,600 orders $7,188 (Pro) $8,964 Cin7 Core Drop traceability and Katana wins at $5,976
C: Higher volume, 14 users, 30,000 orders, 3 locations $14,388 (Advanced) $10,752 Katana on paper Order usage plus two extra locations, both unpublished

Read across that table and the pattern is clear. Katana's price is a floor that rises with what you do. Cin7 Core's price is a ceiling that does not move until you hit a wall. Which of those you prefer is a finance question as much as an operations one, and it is a fair reason to pick the more expensive product. If your board wants a fixed software line for the year, a published ceiling has value that a lower floor does not.

What neither vendor publishes, and what to ask for

Both rate cards have holes. Take this list into both sales calls and get the answers in writing before you compare quotes.

Question Cin7 Core Katana
Is the headline monthly figure billed monthly or annually? Not stated on the pricing page. Ask Both offered, annual discounted. Ask for the exact annual figure
What does an extra user cost? Not published. Ask, and ask whether it is prorated Not applicable, users are unlimited
What does an extra sales order cost above the allowance? Not published. Ask for the top-up rate per order band Not applicable in the same way, but ask for the per-order rate and the volume bands
What does an extra stock location cost? Not applicable, unlimited inventory locations are included Not published. Ask for the per-location rate
What happens if actual usage overshoots the estimate? Ask what happens when you exceed the annual order allowance mid-term Stated: on annual plans, exceeding the estimate by more than 20% triggers a renegotiation
Is the accounting connection one of my included integrations? Ask. Cin7 counts "e-commerce and app integrations" at 2, 4 and 6 by tier Not applicable, integrations are unlimited
Is there an onboarding or implementation fee? Ask Ask
What is the Shop Floor app priced at? Not applicable Not published. Ask

If you want a repeatable way to run this exercise across a shortlist, our guide to modeling total cost of ownership for SaaS walks through building a floor-versus-ceiling model like the one above.

Manufacturing Capability, Module by Module

Both products can run a factory. The difference is what you have to buy to get there, and how deep each one goes once you do.

Cin7 integrated manufacturing cabinet compared with Katana modular routed production line

Manufacturing capability Cin7 Core Katana
Bill of materials Included, listed as a core feature Included in Katana Core
Multi-level BOM and subassemblies Yes, through assembly manufacturing Yes, BOM and subassemblies are core
Material requirements planning Named as a Cin7 Core Pro inclusion, so effectively from $599/month Materials planning is in Katana Core, but routed operations are not
Manufacturing and work orders Yes, standard assembly manufacturing in Cin7 Core, advanced manufacturing offered as an add-on Yes, manufacturing orders in Katana Core, with make-to-stock and make-to-order workflows
Production routings and operation sequencing Part of the advanced manufacturing add-on, price not published Manufacturing Management add-on, $199/month
Per-order cost and usage insight Included through Cin7 Core costing Manufacturing Management add-on, $199/month
Shop floor control No dedicated shop floor app published Separate Shop Floor app, price not published
Batch and lot tracking with expiry dates Included in Cin7 Core Traceability add-on, $249/month
Serial number tracking Included in Cin7 Core Traceability add-on, $249/month
Barcode scanning Included from Cin7 Core Standard, inside Standard Warehouse Management Warehouse Management add-on, $149/month
Bin locations, pick, pack and receiving Standard Warehouse Management included, Advanced Warehouse Management on Cin7 Core Advanced Warehouse Management add-on, $149/month
Multiple stock locations Unlimited inventory locations from Cin7 Core Standard 1 included on Katana Core, extras charged per unit

Read that table with the price column in mind and the pattern jumps out. Katana has the better manufacturing product and the worse manufacturing packaging. Routings, shop floor control, genealogy and mobile barcode workflows are genuinely stronger and more purpose-built here than anything in Cin7 Core, and a production manager who has used both will usually say so without hesitation. But Katana meters each of them as a separate monthly line, so a buyer who needs three is assembling an $896 per month product out of a $299 per month headline.

Cin7 Core's manufacturing is shallower. Standard Assembly Manufacturing consumes components and produces a finished good, and it does not pretend to be a scheduling engine. What it does instead is put traceability, barcode scanning and unlimited locations inside the base price, which for a lot of small producers is the more valuable bundle even though it is the less impressive feature list.

If neither is deep enough, you are shopping in the tier above both. Our best Cin7 alternatives and best Katana alternatives roundups cover the dedicated MRPs above this pair, and best NetSuite alternatives covers what happens when a growing manufacturer starts getting quoted full ERP.

Accounting and Integrations: The Widest Gap on This Page

If manufacturing depth favors Katana, integration depth favors Cin7 Core, and it is not close.

Cin7 broad gated integration harbor compared with Katana compact open integration harbor and API socket

Cin7 Core Katana
Stated catalog size "Over 700 of the most popular platforms" A curated, much smaller catalog plus an open API
Integrations included in the plan 2 / 4 / 6 by tier, a hard count Unlimited on every tier, including Free
Xero Yes, a long-standing core integration Yes
QuickBooks Online Yes Yes
Shopify Yes Yes
Amazon Yes Yes, Amazon FBA
WooCommerce Yes Yes
BigCommerce Yes Yes
CRM Through the wider catalog HubSpot
Open API Yes Yes, emphasized as a core approach
Point of sale Offered as an add-on, price not published Not a published module
B2B wholesale portal Offered as an add-on, price not published Not a published module

The two structures cancel out in an interesting way. Cin7 Core has vastly more connectors but rations how many you may use, so a seller running Shopify, Amazon, a 3PL and an accounting package can hit the Standard tier's two-integration wall long before the 6,000-order wall. Katana has far fewer connectors but does not count them, so if the four you need are in its catalog, you will never think about the limit again.

That makes this a binary rather than a scoring exercise. List the systems you actually need connected, then check Katana's catalog first. If everything is there, Katana's unlimited-integration model is the better deal. If even one is missing, or you rely on a niche 3PL, EDI partner or marketplace, Cin7 Core's 700-plus catalog is the reason it costs more.

The accounting layer matters more here than in most software comparisons, because inventory value flows straight into your books, and both products treat Xero and QuickBooks Online as first-class destinations. If the ledger itself is still undecided, our best Xero alternatives and best QuickBooks alternatives roundups cover the options, and best Odoo alternatives is worth a look if you are weighing an all-in-one suite against best-of-breed plus a separate ledger.

Multi-Channel Selling and Order Management

This is the section where Cin7 Core's heritage as an order platform pays off, and where the Cin7 Core versus Cin7 Omni distinction stops being pedantic.

Cin7 broad multichannel retail hub compared with Katana maker-led ecommerce selling lanes

Order management capability Cin7 Core Katana
Sales order handling Core function, with a published annual allowance per tier Core function, billed by delivered order
Purchase orders and supplier management Yes Yes
Multi-channel ecommerce sync Yes, across a 700-plus catalog, capped at 2, 4 or 6 connections by tier Yes, across Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce and Amazon FBA, uncapped
Wholesale and B2B ordering Add-on B2B portal, price not published Not a published module
Retail point of sale Add-on POS, price not published Not a published module
Landed cost tracking Yes Costing focused on manufacturing cost per order
Multi-warehouse allocation Unlimited inventory locations included 1 location included, extras charged per unit
Deeper multi-channel retail needs This is what Cin7 Omni exists for, and it is quote-only Not the product's target

If your business is fundamentally a multi-channel retailer that also assembles a few things, you are a Cin7 buyer, and possibly a Cin7 Omni buyer rather than a Cin7 Core one. Cin7 Omni is the customizable, quote-only platform for exactly that shape, listed with 8 users, 5 integrations and flexible order volume. This page does not price it because Cin7 does not, and any Omni number on a third-party site is somebody's guess. Ask Cin7 to price Cin7 Core and Cin7 Omni side by side so you can see the delta yourself.

If your business is fundamentally a producer that also sells online, Katana is speaking your language, and the channel breadth you give up is probably breadth you were never going to use. Teams still choosing a storefront alongside either product should start with our best ecommerce platforms roundup.

Implementation and Time to Value

Neither vendor publishes an onboarding fee on its pricing page, which does not mean neither charges one. Ask.

Cin7 Core Katana
Typical setup shape Configuration-heavy. More settings, more integration mapping, more accounting decisions up front Lighter. Fewer moving parts, a narrower catalog to map, faster to a first production run
Free entry path Free trial only, no free tier Katana Free at $0 with 30 SKUs, plus a 15-day window where SKUs are unlimited
Data migration load Higher, because the product touches more systems Lower, because it touches fewer
Partner ecosystem Substantial. Implementation partners are common and often recommended Smaller. Most customers self-implement or use Katana's own team
Where time actually goes Mapping the chart of accounts and the integration set correctly the first time Getting BOMs, routings and operation times right
Published onboarding fee Not published. Ask Not published. Ask

Cin7 Core takes longer for the same reason it is more capable: 700 integrations and a deep accounting mapping give you more ways to get it right and more ways to get it wrong. Katana is faster because its free tier lets you model 30 SKUs end to end before you pay anything, which is the cheapest way to de-risk either purchase. Use it. Build three real products with real BOMs, run a real order through, and see whether the product thinks the way your shop does. One note that applies to both: your first month is not a fair test if you migrate stale stock counts into it, so do the physical count first, then load. Our inventory management software roundup covers the wider field if the trial makes you realize you shortlisted the wrong two.

Support, Onboarding and What Users Actually Say

Cin7 Core Katana
Published support commitment Not detailed on the pricing page 24/7 availability listed on Katana Core
Premium support tier Not published. Cin7 Omni is the customizable, higher-touch product Katana Advantage adds a dedicated Solutions Engineer, SLA-backed maintenance and CSM check-ins, on a custom annual contract
Free trial Yes, offered from the pricing page Yes, plus a genuinely free permanent tier
Review standing Roughly 4.2 stars across 300-plus G2 reviews, one of the larger review bases in the category Roughly 4.4 stars across 100-plus G2 reviews, a smaller but well-rated base (G2 listings, approximate, current as of this writing)
Common praise Depth, integration breadth, accounting accuracy Speed to value, clean production planning, unlimited users
Common criticism Setup complexity and a learning curve Modules that turn out to cost extra, and usage billing that is hard to forecast

Neither review base points to a support-quality gap big enough to decide a purchase. The more useful signal is what each set of critics complains about, because both complaints are structural rather than fixable: Cin7 Core is hard to set up because it does more, and Katana surprises people on price because its packaging separates things buyers assume are bundled. Knowing both going in removes most of the sting.

When Cin7 Core Is the Right Call

  • You need batch, lot or serial traceability. It is included in Cin7 Core and costs $249 a month on top of Katana. For a regulated producer that single line item is usually the whole decision.
  • You run more than one stock location. Cin7 Core includes unlimited inventory locations from the Standard tier upward. Katana includes one and charges per unit after that.
  • Your order volume is high but your team is small and stable. Cin7 Core Advanced absorbs 120,000 sales orders a year for a fixed $1,199 a month, and that ceiling does not move when December does.
  • You connect a lot of systems, or an unusual one. A stated catalog of over 700 platforms is the reason to pay more, particularly for niche 3PLs, marketplaces or EDI partners Katana has never heard of.
  • Finance wants a fixed number for the year. A published tier price beats a metered floor in a budget meeting, even when the metered floor is lower.
  • You sell wholesale or through retail as well as online. The B2B portal and POS add-ons exist here, and if the multi-channel retail requirement is genuinely heavy, ask Cin7 to price Cin7 Omni against Cin7 Core for you.

When Katana Is the Right Call

  • Manufacturing is the main job, not a side effect of selling. Routings, make-to-order and make-to-stock workflows, shop floor reporting and live production planning are meaningfully better here, and it shows within an hour of using both.
  • Your headcount is large relative to your order book. Unlimited users on every tier, including the free one, is a structural advantage that no Cin7 Core tier answers, and Cin7 does not publish an extra-user rate.
  • You want to test before you pay. Katana Free at $0 with 30 SKUs lets you model real products with real BOMs and run a real order through, which is the cheapest possible way to de-risk either purchase.
  • You do not need traceability. A furniture maker, a machine shop or a general assembler that can skip the $249 module lands near $498 a month with routed production included, comfortably under Cin7 Core Pro.
  • Your order volume is modest and predictable. Usage billing rewards low volume. It punishes spiky, high-volume operations, which is exactly the shape Cin7 Core's fixed ceiling is built for.
  • You want one location, done properly. Katana Core includes one, and if one is all you have, you are not paying for a multi-warehouse feature set you will never open.

If Neither One Fits

Plenty of people land on this page and discover their real requirement sits either side of these two rather than between them.

If you need genuinely deeper manufacturing, with full work-order genealogy and recall reporting, look at the dedicated MRPs and the heavier warehouse platforms in our best Fishbowl alternatives roundup, and if you are being quoted full ERP, our best NetSuite alternatives roundup covers what that money actually buys. If you are moving the other way, and both of these are more system than a small seller needs, our best Zoho Inventory alternatives roundup covers the lighter, cheaper end of the category.

And if the real gap is not inventory depth at all, that is a different problem than either product solves. If your orders, stock counts, invoices and the customer record currently live in three or four disconnected tools stitched together by integrations, neither Cin7 Core nor Katana is addressing that, because both are built to be one very good tool inside that stack rather than to collapse it. Rework's Inventory module sits on the same platform as its Sales CRM, Lead, Commerce, Invoice, Product and Work Ops modules, with a unified multi-channel inbox (WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram DM, web chat, email and SMS) landing on the same contact timeline, so the stock count, the order, the invoice and the customer conversation are one system rather than four that sync. Be clear about what that is not: Rework is not an MRP. It does not ship multi-level BOMs, production scheduling, shop-floor control, work orders or full lot and serial genealogy, so if you came to this page to choose an MRP, choose one of the two above it. Rework does not publish a price for Inventory either; it is quoted per organization at rework.com/pricing, sold as packages rather than per-user licences, and built for mid-size operators of roughly 10 to 200 people, not solo sellers.

Decision Framework

The choice narrows to traceability, operating volume, seat count, locations, and the integration catalog your business actually needs.

Cin7 versus Katana decision compass testing traceability, user count, order volume, and consolidation needs

If you are... Pick
A regulated producer needing batch, lot or serial traceability Cin7 Core, where it is included rather than a $249/month add-on
A maker or machine shop that does not need traceability Katana, at $498/month for Core plus Manufacturing Management
Running two or more stock locations Cin7 Core, unlimited inventory locations are included from Standard
A team of 10 or more people on a modest order book Katana, unlimited users on every tier
Processing tens of thousands of sales orders a year Cin7 Core, a fixed ceiling beats an uncapped meter at volume
Connecting a niche 3PL, marketplace or EDI partner Cin7 Core, for the 700-plus catalog
Needing routings, shop floor control and live production planning Katana, this is what it was built for
Unable to get budget approved without a fixed annual figure Cin7 Core, but get the billing cycle confirmed in writing first
Wanting to prove the fit before spending anything Katana, the free tier is a real 30-SKU product, not a countdown
A multi-channel retailer first and a manufacturer second Cin7, and ask them to price Cin7 Omni alongside Cin7 Core
Fighting disconnected orders, stock, invoices and customer records rather than inventory depth Neither. See "If Neither One Fits" above

The verdict. Neither product is broadly cheaper, and anyone telling you Katana is the budget option is quoting a price that no longer exists. Katana has the better manufacturing engine and the worse packaging, with a $299 headline that becomes $498 the moment you need routings and $747 the moment you need traceability. Cin7 Core has the shallower manufacturing and the more generous base, bundling traceability, barcode scanning and unlimited locations into a tier price that does not move. Decide on two questions in this order: do you need traceability, and is your constraint seats or orders? Those two answers settle this comparison faster than any feature grid will.

Frequently Asked Questions about Cin7 vs Katana

Is Katana cheaper than Cin7?

Only at the entry point. Katana Core starts at $299 per month against Cin7 Core Standard at $349, but Katana sells its production depth modularly: routings and manufacturing insights are a $199 per month add-on, taking a routed-production setup to about $498, and Traceability adds another $249 to reach roughly $747. Cin7 Core Pro, the tier that names material requirements planning, is $599 per month with batch and serial tracking already included.

How much does Katana really cost for a manufacturer?

About $498 per month for routed production, modeled at Katana Core's $299 floor plus the $199 Manufacturing Management add-on, before any sales order usage and before extra locations. Add Traceability at $249 and Warehouse Management at $149 and a fully loaded Katana runs roughly $896 per month at the floor. Because Katana bills sales orders by usage, the real figure at any meaningful volume sits above these modeled estimates rather than below them.

Does Cin7 publish annual pricing?

No. The Cin7 pricing page prints Cin7 Core Standard at $349/month, Pro at $599/month and Advanced at $1,199/month, but it does not state whether those figures are billed monthly or annually, publishes no annual discount, and publishes no extra-user rate. The only footnote is that prices are in USD and exclude taxes. Get the billing cycle confirmed in writing before comparing it to a competitor's annual figure.

What is the difference between Cin7 Core and Cin7 Omni?

They are two separate products from the same vendor. Cin7 Core is the published-price inventory and order platform, formerly DEAR Systems, with tiers at $349, $599 and $1,199 per month. Cin7 Omni is a quote-only, more customizable multi-channel retail platform listed with 8 users, 5 integrations and flexible order volume. This comparison covers Cin7 Core, because Cin7 Omni has no published price to compare.

Is Cin7 Core the same thing as DEAR Systems?

Yes. Cin7 acquired DEAR Systems in February 2021 and renamed it effective January 9, 2023, stating that "The Cin7 product will now be Cin7 Omni; DEAR will be Cin7 Core." It is the same software with a new name, so any research you find under the DEAR Systems name still refers to today's Cin7 Core.

What happened to Cin7 Orderhive?

It was discontinued. Cin7 acquired Orderhive alongside DEAR Systems in February 2021, announced the shutdown on April 18, 2023, and took the product out of service on March 31, 2024. There is no Orderhive plan to buy and no sales team to contact about it; former Orderhive customers were migrated to Cin7 Core or moved to another vendor.

Does Katana include batch and serial number tracking?

The capability exists in the product but it is not in the base plan. Batch and lot numbers with expiry dates, plus serial number tracking, sit in Katana's Traceability add-on at $249 per month on top of Katana Core. Cin7 Core includes batch, lot and serial tracking without a separate module, which is the single biggest cost difference for regulated producers.

Which one is better for a small manufacturer?

It depends almost entirely on traceability. If you do not need batch or serial tracking, Katana at a modeled $498 per month gives you a stronger production engine and unlimited users for less than Cin7 Core Pro at $599. If you do need it, Katana lands at a modeled $747 per month against Cin7 Core Pro at $599, and Cin7 Core becomes the cheaper option despite having the shallower manufacturing feature set.

How many users do I get on each?

Katana includes unlimited users on every tier, including the free one. Cin7 Core includes 5 users on Standard, 10 on Pro and 15 on Advanced, with more "available for purchase" at a rate the pricing page does not publish. If your team is larger than your order book, that difference is worth more than the headline price gap.

What to Do Next

  1. Answer the traceability question first. If your category requires batch, lot or serial tracking, that alone moves roughly $3,000 a year between these two products, and it settles the comparison before you look at anything else.
  2. Count seats and count orders, then see which one is your constraint. If it is seats, Katana's unlimited-user model wins. If it is orders, Cin7 Core's published ceiling wins. Very few businesses are constrained by both.
  3. Build three real products in Katana Free. It costs nothing, it holds 30 SKUs permanently, and modeling your actual BOMs is a faster reality check than any demo. Do the same with Cin7 Core's free trial in the same week so the comparison is fresh.
  4. Get both quotes in writing with the gaps filled. From Cin7: the billing cycle, the extra-user rate, the sales order top-up rate, and whether the accounting connection consumes one of your included integrations. From Katana: the per-order rate and volume bands, the per-location charge, and the Shop Floor app price.
  5. Model three years, not one. Katana's floor is lower and rises with your growth. Cin7 Core's ceiling is higher and sits still until you hit a wall. Which of those you want depends on where you expect to be in year three, and our guide to modeling total cost of ownership for SaaS is a reasonable template for the exercise.

Related Resources:

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.