Best Accounts Payable Automation Software in 2026: 15 Tools Compared

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026: every price below was taken from the vendor's own pricing page on the date of writing, or is clearly labelled as unpublished where the vendor quotes through sales.

The best accounts payable automation software depends on what is actually broken in your invoice-to-pay process. If you have no automation at all and invoices still arrive by email, BILL and Melio get you off spreadsheets fastest. If your bottleneck is paying suppliers and contractors across many countries, Tipalti and Corpay Complete are built for volume and currency. If invoice approval and vendor communication are the slow part, Stampli and Vic.ai attack that directly. And if you run an existing ERP with sourcing and compliance obligations on top of payment, Coupa and Basware are the tools enterprises actually deploy.

This guide compares 15 AP automation platforms on what they cost, who they fit, and where each one runs out of road. Every price below is either quoted from the vendor's own pricing page as of August 2026, or stated plainly as unpublished where the vendor sells through a sales quote instead. AP is only one side of the ledger; if your problem is collecting money rather than paying it out, see best accounts receivable software.

Key Facts

Key Facts: What Invoice Processing Actually Costs

  • The average fully loaded cost to process one invoice is $9.84, and it takes 8.2 days, per Ardent Partners' State of ePayables 2025 research (Ardent Partners).
  • Best-in-Class AP teams run 79% lower cost per invoice, 79% faster processing, and 47% lower exception rates than their peers (Ardent Partners).
  • The average invoice exception rate is 18.4%, while only 57% of suppliers send invoices electronically (Ardent Partners).
  • 76% of organizations faced attempted or actual payments fraud in 2025, and checks remain the most targeted payment method at 58% (2026 AFP Payments Fraud and Control Survey).
  • From September 1, 2026, every VAT-registered business in France must be able to receive structured e-invoices, with the obligation to issue starting the same day for large and medium enterprises (France's business portal).

Quick Comparison Table

Tool Best For Starting Price Key Strength Key Limitation
BILL Full AP/AR suite plus a free card program AP/AR from $49/user/mo; Spend & Expense $0/user/mo Mature AP standard with a free companion card product AP/AR and Spend & Expense are two separate products
Tipalti Global multi-entity companies paying many suppliers AP from $99/mo, unlimited users, plus transaction fees Self-service supplier portal and mass payouts $99 is a floor; per-invoice and per-payment fees sit on top
Stampli Invoice approval collaboration and vendor communication Quote-only, no published price AI-driven Deep Finance spend intelligence, launched March 2026 No price page; every evaluation starts with sales
Ramp US teams wanting a free AP workflow inside a card platform Free $0/user/mo; Plus $15/user/mo plus unpublished platform fee Genuinely usable free AP tier Plus platform fee is not disclosed anywhere
AvidXchange Real estate, construction, and high-volume mid-market AP No published pricing, per-transaction quote Deep vertical integrations in property and construction Now owned by TPG and Corpay, its own competitor in this list
Coupa Enterprise procure-to-pay where sourcing matters as much as payment Quote-only, no published price Sourcing, contracts, and procurement in one suite Overkill if your only problem is invoice payment
Corpay Complete Mid-market and enterprise teams wanting payments-network scale Quote-only, no published price Backed by Corpay's global payments infrastructure Corpay holds a stake in AvidXchange, a rival on this list
Melio Small businesses that want simple bill pay Go $0/mo (1 user); Unlimited $80/mo or $64/mo annual Only vendor here with a genuinely free tier for bill pay Only the Unlimited plan removes per-user fees
Payhawk Multi-entity groups buying AP as one module among several AP (US) from $349/mo per company Per-company pricing does not scale with headcount High floor for a small, single-entity team
Brex Startups wanting bill pay bundled into cards and banking Essentials $0/user/mo; Premium $12/user/mo Bill pay included free on every tier Not a standalone deep AP tool
Basware Large European enterprises with e-invoicing obligations Quote-only, no published price Deep e-invoicing and compliance depth across the EU Implementation is a project, not a signup
Vic.ai Finance teams wanting AI-autonomous invoice coding Quote-only, no published price Autonomous invoice processing rather than rules-based workflow No price page; harder to benchmark against published tools
Quadient AP Multi-entity, multi-location organizations Quote-only, no published price Purpose-built AP tool, not a broader spend suite No published price; formerly Beanworks, still building brand recognition
Airbase (Paylocity) Paylocity payroll customers consolidating vendors Quote-only, no published price Guided procurement and approval depth No longer an independent product
Rho US companies wanting AP included with their banking $0 subscription, $0 per user AP, expense, and accounting automation all free Requires moving your banking relationship to Rho

Which AP Buyer Are You?

Accounts payable automation gets sold as one category, but it solves at least five different problems, and most bad purchases happen because a buyer picks a tool built for someone else's problem.

1. "Invoices still arrive by email or mail, and someone keys them into the ledger by hand." You need basic capture, approval routing, and payment, without a procurement project attached. BILL and Melio both get a company off spreadsheets in days, and Ramp's free tier covers the same ground if you also want a card program attached. If your real problem is employees paying out of pocket rather than invoices from vendors, that is expense management, not AP; see best expense management software instead.

2. "We pay hundreds or thousands of suppliers, contractors, or creators, often across borders." The bottleneck is not approval, it is onboarding payees and moving money in the right currency without manual wire work. Tipalti and Corpay Complete are built around self-service payee onboarding and mass payment runs rather than a single approval chain.

3. "Invoice volume is high enough that approval routing and vendor communication are the slow part." Once a company is fielding a real volume of invoices, the constraint shifts from data entry to getting the right approver to respond and resolving vendor questions without an email thread. Stampli and Vic.ai both attack that directly, one through invoice-centric collaboration and now AI spend intelligence, the other through autonomous coding and approval.

4. "We run an existing ERP, and sourcing and procurement matter as much as payment." At this level, AP automation is one module inside a bigger procure-to-pay question. Coupa and Basware compete here, alongside Payhawk and Airbase for companies that want AP bundled with cards, travel, or payroll under one vendor.

5. "We have real estate, construction, healthcare, or franchise-style invoice volume with vertical-specific needs." AvidXchange and Quadient AP both built their businesses around multi-entity, multi-location invoice volume rather than a generic SMB or enterprise buyer.

Most companies have two of these problems stacked on top of each other. Name the one costing you the most time this quarter before you book a demo.

Pricing Models: The Part Buyers Get Wrong

Two tools can look like they cost the same amount and produce very different bills once you add invoice volume, users, and payment fees. Know which of these five models a vendor uses before you compare a single number.

Pricing Model How It Bills Tools Using It Watch Out For
Per user, per month Scales with headcount BILL (AP/AR), Brex (Premium) BILL's Corporate and Enterprise tiers separate full-feature users from cheaper approver-only users
Module floor plus per-invoice or per-payment fees A base subscription plus a fee on every invoice or payment Tipalti, BILL (AP/AR payment fees), Melio (ACH past the free allotment) The floor is not the total; ask for the real per-invoice and per-payment fee schedule
Per company, per module Flat regardless of headcount Payhawk Cheap at 200 employees, expensive at a 10-person shop
Free or interchange-funded $0 software, revenue from card spend, FX, or treasury Ramp (Free), Brex (Essentials), BILL Spend & Expense, Rho, Melio (Go) The model needs real payment or card volume to work; Melio Go also caps at one user
Quote-only, no published mechanism Every price is negotiated per deal Coupa, Corpay Complete, Basware, Vic.ai, Quadient AP, AvidXchange, Stampli, Airbase Treat any number you see in a third-party guide as reported, not confirmed; get a written quote

Two specific traps are worth naming. Melio's reputation as flat-priced with unlimited approvers is no longer accurate: only the $80/mo (or $64/mo annual) Unlimited plan removes per-user fees, and Core and Boost both charge $10/mo (or $8/mo annual) per additional user on top of the base price. And Payhawk's $349/mo Accounts Payable module price is a US, per-company figure. It is not a per-seat price, and it should not be blended with the separate UK/EEA Growth Program.

Stage Fit Matrix

Company size alone does not determine fit here nearly as well as invoice volume and entity count, but it is still the fastest first filter.

Tool Startup (1-10) Growth (10-50) Mid-Market (50-200) Enterprise (200+)
BILL Possible Strong fit Strong fit Possible
Tipalti - Possible Strong fit Strong fit
Stampli - Possible Strong fit Strong fit
Ramp Strong fit Strong fit Strong fit Possible
AvidXchange - Possible Strong fit Strong fit
Coupa - - Possible Strong fit
Corpay Complete - Possible Strong fit Strong fit
Melio Strong fit Strong fit Possible -
Payhawk - Possible Strong fit Strong fit
Brex Strong fit Strong fit Strong fit Possible
Basware - - Possible Strong fit
Vic.ai - Possible Strong fit Strong fit
Quadient AP - Possible Strong fit Possible
Airbase (Paylocity) - Possible Strong fit Strong fit
Rho Strong fit Strong fit Possible -

Sizing and Persona Table

Team size is one input. Who actually owns the purchase and where the vendor is strongest geographically matter just as much.

Tool Ideal Fit Primary Buyer Region Strength
BILL 10-500 employees Controller, AP manager US
Tipalti Mid-market to enterprise, high payee count VP Finance, Global Payables Lead Global
Stampli 50-2,000 employees AP manager, Controller US and global
Ramp 10-500 employees Controller, CFO US
AvidXchange Mid-market, high invoice volume (real estate, construction, healthcare) AP Director, Controller US
Coupa 1,000+ employees VP Procurement, CFO Global
Corpay Complete Mid-market to enterprise Controller, VP Finance Global
Melio 1-50 employees Founder, bookkeeper, office manager US
Payhawk 100-2,000 employees Group CFO, finance director Europe, UK, US
Brex 10-1,000 employees CFO, VP Finance US and global
Basware 1,000+ employees CFO, VP Procurement, Shared Services Europe and global
Vic.ai Mid-market to enterprise Controller, VP Finance US and global
Quadient AP 50-2,000 employees, multi-entity Controller, AP Director US and Canada
Airbase (Paylocity) 100-2,000 employees Controller, VP Finance US
Rho 5-200 employees Founder, controller US

1. BILL: The AP Standard That Also Gives You Free Cards

BILL built its reputation on being the AP tool accountants already trust, and the 2026 product still leads with that strength: invoice capture, approval routing, and payment by ACH, check, virtual card, or wire, wrapped in a workflow that a bookkeeper can run without an implementation project. Essentials, Team, and Corporate tiers scale by adding approval depth and multi-entity support, and Corporate and Enterprise separate full-feature users from lower-cost approver-only seats, which matters once a company has a dozen people who only need to click approve.

The detail that trips up buyers is that BILL sells two separate products. AP/AR is the per-user subscription described above. BILL Spend & Expense, the former Divvy, is a free card and budgeting product with no software fee at all. They integrate well together, but a quote for one is not a quote for the other, and evaluating them as a single line item will produce a budget that does not match the invoice.

What you get What you don't
A mature AP workflow trusted by accountants and bookkeepers AP/AR and Spend & Expense are billed as two separate products
Approver-only seats cost less than full-feature users on higher tiers Corporate and Enterprise pricing shifts once approver seats are added
Payment by ACH, check, virtual card, or wire in one place International wire fees run $19.99 per transaction
A free card and budgeting companion product (Spend & Expense) Card program underwriting is separate from the AP subscription

Pricing: Essentials is $49 per user per month, Team is $65 per user per month, and Corporate is $89 per user per month, BILL's most popular tier. Enterprise is custom. Payment fees apply on top: standard ACH is $0.59, a mailed check is $1.99, a virtual card is free, an FX wire or local transfer is free, a USD international wire is $19.99, paying by card costs 2.9%, and an instant payment costs 1.0% (minimum $9.99, maximum $100). BILL Spend & Expense, the separate card and budgeting product, is $0 per user per month. All figures from BILL's own pricing page.

Best for: US companies of 10 to 500 employees that want a proven AP workflow and are willing to budget the card product separately. See best BILL.com alternatives for the full competitive field, BILL vs Tipalti for the head-to-head against the next tool on this list, or Ramp vs Bill.com if the real question is whether a free card platform's bundled AP is enough.

2. Tipalti: Global Payouts at Scale, Priced Per Module

Tipalti's entire product is built around a problem BILL does not solve well: paying a large, changing roster of suppliers, freelancers, or creators across many countries without a finance team manually chasing bank details. The self-service supplier portal lets payees enter and verify their own payment information, tax forms, and preferred currency, and Tipalti runs the compliance checks (sanctions screening, tax withholding, W-9/W-8 collection) that make mass payouts defensible at audit time.

The pricing structure reflects that focus. The Accounts Payable plan starts at $99 a month and includes unlimited users, which is unusual in this category, but that figure is a floor rather than a total. Transaction fees apply per invoice and per payment on top, and Procurement, Expenses, and Treasury are separate modules priced independently. A company evaluating Tipalti purely off the $99 headline will underestimate the real bill at volume.

What you get What you don't
Self-service supplier portal with tax and compliance checks $99 per month is a floor; per-invoice and per-payment fees sit on top
Unlimited users on the Accounts Payable plan Procurement, Expenses, and Treasury are separate paid modules
Mass Payments plan built for high-volume payee runs No free tier
Tipalti Card included with the Accounts Payable plan Mid-market and enterprise pricing is custom, not self-serve

Pricing: Accounts Payable starts at $99 per month, including unlimited users, the self-service supplier portal, and core automation, plus transaction fees per invoice and per payment. Mass Payments starts at $249 per month, including unlimited users and a payee portal, also plus transaction fees. Mid-market and enterprise pricing is custom. All figures from Tipalti's own pricing page.

Best for: Companies with hundreds or thousands of suppliers, contractors, or creators to pay across multiple countries and currencies. For the fuller alternatives field, see best Tipalti alternatives, and for a direct comparison against BILL, see BILL vs Tipalti.

3. Stampli: Invoice-Centric Approval, Now With AI Spend Intelligence

Stampli's pitch has always been that an invoice is a conversation, not just a document to route through an approval chain. Every invoice gets its own comment thread where AP, the approver, and the vendor can resolve questions inline, which cuts out the email chains and Slack pings that usually surround a disputed line item. Stampli Direct Pay, Procurement, Credit Card, Advanced Vendor Management, and Expense Management round out the platform into something closer to a full AP suite built around that invoice-first workflow.

The 2026 development worth knowing is Deep Finance, which Stampli launched on March 31, 2026. It turns the invoice data Stampli already captures into spend intelligence for executives, essentially a reporting and analytics layer on top of the AP workflow rather than a separate product. Stampli remains independently owned, having raised roughly $148 million with its last round a Series D in October 2023, which matters if a buyer is weighing vendor stability against the acquisition activity elsewhere on this list.

What you get What you don't
Invoice-centric collaboration that resolves disputes inline No published pricing anywhere on the site
Deep Finance spend intelligence, launched March 2026 Every evaluation starts with a sales conversation
A full module set: Procurement, Direct Pay, Cards, Vendor Management Card and procurement modules add complexity to the quote
Independent ownership with a real funding history Smaller brand recognition than BILL or Concur outside AP-specific searches

Pricing: Quote-only. Stampli's pricing page states "Request a Quote" and publishes no list price for any module, including Procurement, Direct Pay, Credit Card, Advanced Vendor Management, or Expense Management.

Best for: Companies whose real bottleneck is invoice approval speed and vendor communication rather than payment rails. See best Stampli alternatives for the wider field, or Stampli vs AvidXchange for the comparison most mid-market buyers actually run.

4. Ramp: A Free AP Workflow With an Unpublished Platform Fee

Ramp's AP argument is the same one it makes for cards and expenses: the core workflow should not cost anything. The Free tier includes invoice capture, payment by check, ACH, card, or wire, and fraud checks, which covers a real slice of what a small AP team needs without a subscription line. Plus adds the depth larger teams actually ask for: multi-step approval routing, batch payments, line-item auto-coding, and three-way match against purchase orders and receiving records.

The catch is pricing transparency on Plus. Ramp publishes the per-user rate but not the platform fee that comes with it, describing it only as "based on team size." That makes Plus impossible to budget precisely from the website alone, which is a real gap for a company trying to compare Ramp against a fully published competitor in a spreadsheet.

What you get What you don't
A genuinely usable free AP tier, not just a trial Plus tier platform fee amount is never disclosed
Three-way match and batch payments on Plus US-centric; thinner for companies with foreign entities
Fraud checks included even on the free tier Requires meeting Ramp's underwriting criteria for the card program
20% off Plus and Enterprise when billed annually Enterprise pricing is contact-sales only

Pricing: Free is $0 per user per month and covers invoice capture, payment by check, ACH, card, or wire, and fraud checks. Plus is $15 per user per month plus an unpublished platform fee based on team size, with 20% off when billed annually, and adds approval routing, batch payments, line-item auto-coding, and three-way match. Enterprise is custom and billed annually. All figures from Ramp's own pricing page.

Best for: US companies that want a free AP core without a software subscription, especially ones already using Ramp for cards. See best Ramp alternatives if you are shopping the wider field, or Ramp vs Bill.com for the head-to-head against the tool at the top of this list, since the two attack AP from opposite directions.

5. AvidXchange: Mid-Market AP Automation Now Owned by Its Own Competitor

AvidXchange built its business on invoice volume in specific verticals, real estate, construction, homeowners associations, and healthcare among them, where a property management company or general contractor might process thousands of invoices a month across dozens of entities. The product connects into the accounting and ERP systems those industries already run, which is a harder integration problem than a generic SMB tool solves, and it is the reason AvidXchange has stayed relevant against better-funded competitors for years.

The important context for 2026 is ownership. AvidXchange was taken private on October 15, 2025, acquired by TPG in partnership with Corpay at $10.00 per share, a deal worth about $2.2 billion, and it no longer trades on Nasdaq. Corpay invested roughly $550 million for a 34% stake in the deal. That is worth stating plainly to a buyer: Corpay Complete, also on this list, now competes with AvidXchange in the same shortlists while Corpay itself owns a third of AvidXchange. Neither fact changes what either product does today, but it is the kind of thing a buyer should know before assuming the two are fully independent alternatives.

What you get What you don't
Deep vertical integrations in real estate, construction, healthcare No published pricing; every quote is custom
AvidPay can run at no cost if 50% or more of payments route through it No longer trades publicly; now owned by TPG and Corpay
Handles very high invoice volume across many entities Corpay, a competitor in this list, holds a 34% stake
Long track record in invoice-heavy vertical markets Slower-moving product cadence than venture-backed newcomers

Pricing: No published pricing. AvidXchange's own site shows no pricing page and routes every evaluation to a custom quote, priced per transaction. AvidXchange states that AvidPay can run at no cost to the customer where at least 50% of payments are routed through AvidXchange.

Best for: Mid-market companies in real estate, construction, and other high-invoice-volume industries that need deep vertical integrations. For the head-to-head against Stampli's invoice-collaboration approach, see Stampli vs AvidXchange.

6. Coupa: Enterprise Procure-to-Pay Where Sourcing Matters as Much as Payment

Coupa answers a bigger question than most tools on this list: not just how do we pay an invoice, but how do we control spend from the sourcing decision through the payment itself. Its business spend management platform bundles procurement, contract management, sourcing, expense, and invoicing into one system, and Coupa's invoicing module benefits from sitting downstream of a purchase order that was already approved, which cuts a category of invoice disputes off before they start.

That breadth is also the limitation for a company whose only problem is invoice payment. Coupa is built and priced for organizations where sourcing and procurement governance matter as much as AP, and implementing the full platform is a project measured in months, not a signup. A company that only needs faster invoice approval will find Coupa more platform than it needs, at a price point to match.

What you get What you don't
Sourcing, procurement, contracts, and invoicing in one suite No published pricing at any tier
Invoices matched against purchase orders approved upstream Overkill and overpriced for AP-only needs
Deep spend analytics across the full procure-to-pay cycle Implementation is a multi-month project
Strong fit for organizations with formal procurement governance Heavier and slower than a dedicated AP point solution

Pricing: Quote-only. Coupa's own pricing page publishes no list price for its business spend management platform or its invoicing module; every evaluation begins with a sales conversation.

Best for: Large organizations where sourcing, contracts, and procurement governance matter as much as, or more than, invoice payment itself.

7. Corpay Complete: AP Automation Backed by a Payments Network With a Stake in Its Rival

Corpay Complete is the AP automation product of Corpay, one of the larger global payments companies, and the pitch leans on that infrastructure: cross-border payment rails, multi-currency support, and a payments network built for volume rather than assembled for a single AP use case. For a mid-market or enterprise finance team that already worries about FX exposure and international payment timing, having AP automation sit on top of an established payments network is a real advantage over a startup building that infrastructure from scratch.

The detail worth flagging to any buyer evaluating Corpay Complete alongside AvidXchange, which also appears on this list, is that Corpay itself holds roughly a 34% stake in AvidXchange following the October 2025 take-private deal with TPG. The two products still compete for the same shortlists today, but a buyer comparing them as fully independent options should know that ownership sits closer than it looks.

What you get What you don't
AP automation built on an established global payments network No published pricing at any tier
Strong multi-currency and cross-border payment handling Corpay holds a stake in AvidXchange, a rival on this list
Backed by a large, established payments company Less name recognition in pure-play AP circles than Tipalti or BILL
Suited to mid-market and enterprise payment volume Every evaluation requires a sales conversation

Pricing: Quote-only. Corpay's AP Automation page publishes no list price for Corpay Complete; pricing is quoted through sales based on invoice volume, entity count, and payment mix.

Best for: Mid-market and enterprise finance teams that want AP automation backed by global payments infrastructure, and are comfortable with a sales-led evaluation.

8. Melio: SMB Bill Pay Where Only the Top Tier Is Actually Unlimited

Melio is built for the small business that wants to pay bills online without adopting a full spend platform, and Go, its free tier, delivers exactly that: no monthly fee, one user, and five free ACH payments a month. For a solo operator or very small team, that is a real, no-catch free product, not a bait tier.

The reputation problem is that Melio used to be known for flat company pricing with unlimited approvers, and that is no longer accurate. Only the Unlimited plan, at $80 a month monthly or $64 a month billed annually, actually includes unlimited users. Core and Boost, the two tiers most growing small businesses land on, both charge $10 a month monthly (or $8 annually) for every user beyond the base plan. A company that adds five bookkeepers or approvers on Core is paying meaningfully more than the headline $25 or $20 suggests.

What you get What you don't
A genuinely free tier (Go) for solo operators Go is capped at one user
Unlimited plan removes per-user fees entirely Core and Boost both charge per additional user
Simple ACH, check, wire, and card payment options Free ACH allotment runs out (5 to 50 depending on tier)
Annual billing discount on every paid tier Platinum, the top tier, is invite-only

Pricing: Go is $0 a month, free forever, limited to one user, with 5 free ACH payments a month. Core is $25 a month monthly or $20 a month annual, plus $10 a month (or $8 annual) per additional user, with 20 free ACH payments. Boost is $55 a month monthly or $44 a month annual, plus the same per-additional-user fee, with 50 free ACH payments. Unlimited is $80 a month monthly or $64 a month annual, with unlimited users and unlimited free ACH payments. Platinum is invite-only and custom priced. ACH payments past the free allotment cost $0.50 each. All figures from Melio's own pricing page.

Best for: Small businesses that want bill pay without a full spend platform, as long as they budget for per-user fees below the Unlimited tier.

9. Payhawk: Per-Company AP Pricing for Multi-Entity Groups

Payhawk prices Accounts Payable the way it prices every module: per company, not per seat. Travel, Cards and Expenses, Accounts Payable, and Procurement are sold separately, each with its own per-company monthly starting price on the US pricing page, which means a group can buy just the AP module without paying for cards or travel it does not need. For a multi-entity company, that also means adding headcount inside an existing entity does not move the software bill.

Two things are worth separating clearly. The $349 a month AP starting price comes from Payhawk's US pricing page and is a per-company figure, not a per-user one. Payhawk's global pricing page publishes no module prices at all and quotes are tailored, except for one fixed figure: a UK/EEA Growth Program at GBP 149 a month for companies under 20 employees, a single entity, and capped volume (10 cards, 10 seats, 15 invoices and 15 reimbursements a month). That program is a separate small-business offer, not a discounted version of the same $349 module.

What you get What you don't
Per-company AP pricing that does not scale with headcount $349/mo floor is steep for a small, single-entity team
Buy AP as a standalone module, without cards or travel Global page publishes no fixed module prices
Strong multi-entity and multi-currency handling Payhawk Complete, the full bundle, has no published price
A capped UK/EEA Growth Program for very small companies Growth Program terms do not apply once you exceed 20 employees or one entity

Pricing: From Payhawk's US pricing page, Accounts Payable starts at $349 per month per company, Travel from $299, Cards and Expenses from $449, and Procurement from $499, all vendor-published per-company monthly starting prices. Payhawk's global pricing page publishes no module prices and quotes are tailored, with the one exception of a UK/EEA Growth Program at GBP 149 per month for companies under 20 employees on a single entity with capped card, seat, invoice, and reimbursement volume.

Best for: Multi-entity companies of 100 to 2,000 employees that want to buy AP as a standalone module without headcount changing the price. If your ERP is the real constraint, see best NetSuite alternatives.

10. Brex: Bill Pay Bundled Into a Global Card and Banking Platform

Brex does not sell AP automation as a standalone product; it bundles automated bill pay, invoice entry, multi-level approval flows, and payment from a Brex account or an external bank, into the same platform as its cards and business account, on every tier including the free Essentials plan. For a startup that already runs its cards and banking through Brex, that means AP shows up as one more feature rather than a separate vendor relationship and a separate login.

The tradeoff is depth. Brex's bill pay is genuinely useful for a company whose invoice volume is moderate and whose real requirement is one platform for spend, but it is not built to compete with Tipalti on mass payouts or with Coupa on procurement governance. A company with serious AP-specific requirements, high supplier count, complex approval hierarchies, will outgrow what Brex bundles in well before it outgrows the card program itself.

What you get What you don't
Bill pay included free on Essentials, not gated behind a paid tier Not built to compete with dedicated AP tools on depth
One login for cards, banking, and invoice payment Multi-level approval flows are simpler than Tipalti or Coupa
Pay from a Brex account or an external bank account Enterprise and Smart Card tiers are quote-only
Strong multi-country card coverage alongside AP Underwriting requirements apply to the card side

Pricing: Essentials is $0 per user per month, Premium is $12 per user per month, and both include automated bill pay: invoice entry, multi-level approval flows, and payment from a Brex account or an external bank account. Enterprise and Smart Card are contact-sales. All figures from Brex's own pricing page.

Best for: Startups and scale-ups that want AP bundled into a card and banking platform rather than a standalone AP tool. See best Brex alternatives for the wider field.

11. Basware: European Enterprise Invoice Automation With E-Invoicing Depth

Basware built its business on European invoice automation before "e-invoicing" was a term most US buyers recognized, and that depth shows in how the product handles cross-border compliance. Structured invoice formats, country-specific tax rules, and network-based invoice exchange are core to the product rather than a bolted-on feature, which matters increasingly as more European governments move from encouraging e-invoicing to mandating it.

That regulatory context is becoming more concrete, not less. From September 1, 2026, every VAT-registered business in France must be able to receive structured e-invoices, with the obligation to issue starting the same day for large and medium enterprises and a year later for small and micro businesses. A company with French entities evaluating AP tools this year has a real deadline attached to the decision, and Basware's network-based approach to compliance is built for exactly that kind of mandate.

What you get What you don't
Deep e-invoicing and cross-border tax compliance No published pricing at any tier
Built for mandates like France's 2026 e-invoicing requirement Implementation is a multi-month enterprise project
Network-based invoice exchange across many countries Less name recognition in the US than Concur or Coupa
Strong fit for large European multinational structures Overkill for a single-country, single-entity company

Pricing: Quote-only. Basware's own pricing page publishes no list price for its invoice automation or e-invoicing network products; enterprise deployments are scoped and quoted individually.

Best for: Large European enterprises facing cross-border e-invoicing mandates, including the French requirement taking effect on September 1, 2026.

12. Vic.ai: Autonomous Invoice Processing, Priced Through Sales

Vic.ai's argument is that invoice processing should not be a rules engine at all. Instead of if-this-then-that approval logic, the platform uses AI trained on invoice history to autonomously code, match, and in some workflows approve invoices without a human touching every line, escalating only the invoices its confidence model flags as unusual. For a finance team drowning in repetitive coding work, that is a meaningfully different pitch than a faster version of the same manual workflow.

The tradeoff is the same one every quote-only AI vendor asks a buyer to accept: no price page, no way to self-serve a trial cost estimate, and a sales process that will want to understand invoice volume and current AP headcount before naming a number. A buyer comparing Vic.ai against a published-price tool like Tipalti needs to budget extra time for that conversation before a real comparison is possible.

What you get What you don't
AI-autonomous invoice coding and matching, not just rules No published pricing at any tier
Learns from invoice history rather than static approval rules Every evaluation requires a sales conversation
Reduces manual coding work on repetitive invoice types Newer entrant with a shorter track record than BILL or Concur
Escalates only invoices its model flags as unusual Harder to benchmark against published-price competitors

Pricing: Quote-only. Vic.ai's own pricing page publishes no list price; pricing is quoted through sales based on invoice volume and deployment scope.

Best for: Finance teams with enough invoice volume to benefit from AI-autonomous coding, willing to run a sales-led evaluation to get pricing.

13. Quadient AP: Purpose-Built AP for Multi-Entity Accounting Teams

Quadient AP, formerly known as Beanworks, stays narrowly focused on one job: AP automation for organizations with many entities or locations, franchises, healthcare systems, multi-location retailers, and similar structures where the same invoice workflow needs to run consistently across dozens of business units. Rather than bundling in cards, expenses, or procurement, it integrates into the accounting and ERP systems those organizations already run and stays a dedicated AP-only tool.

That focus is also the honest limitation. A company wanting a single platform for cards, expenses, and AP together will find Quadient AP deliberately narrower than Ramp, Brex, or Payhawk, and the Quadient brand carries less general recognition than BILL or Concur outside AP-specific searches, a legacy of the Beanworks-to-Quadient rebrand.

What you get What you don't
Purpose-built for multi-entity, multi-location AP workflows No published pricing at any tier
Deep integration into existing accounting and ERP systems Narrower scope than a full spend platform (no cards, no expense)
Consistent approval workflow across many business units Less brand recognition than BILL, Tipalti, or Concur
Strong fit for franchise, healthcare, and multi-site retail Every evaluation starts with a sales conversation

Pricing: Quote-only. Quadient's AP Automation page publishes no list price; pricing is quoted based on entity count, invoice volume, and integration scope.

Best for: Multi-entity, multi-location organizations, including franchises and healthcare systems, that want a dedicated AP-only tool rather than a broader spend platform.

14. Airbase (Paylocity for Finance): Guided Procurement and AP, Now Under Paylocity's Roof

Airbase built one of the more complete AP and spend platforms in this category, combining guided procurement intake, multi-level approval workflows, corporate cards, and close management in one product, and the procurement and approval depth in particular went further than most card-first competitors on this list. Controllers who wanted purchase requests routed and approved properly, rather than handled over Slack, tended to land on Airbase specifically for that reason.

The context that changes how to evaluate it in 2026 is ownership. Airbase was acquired by Paylocity, the payroll and HCM company, and the product now operates as Airbase, a Paylocity Company, under the Paylocity for Finance umbrella. That is a genuine consolidation opportunity for a company already running Paylocity payroll, and a reason to evaluate the roadmap as part of a larger HCM company's priorities rather than an independent startup's.

What you get What you don't
Strong guided procurement and multi-level approval workflows No longer an independent product
Cards, AP, and close management in one platform No published pricing at any tier
Vendor consolidation for existing Paylocity payroll customers Roadmap now sits inside a larger HCM company's priorities
Genuine mid-market and upper-mid-market depth Weaker standalone case if you do not run Paylocity

Pricing: Quote-only. Neither Airbase's pricing page nor Paylocity for Finance publishes list pricing; every evaluation runs through sales.

Best for: Mid-market US companies of 100 to 2,000 employees already running Paylocity payroll that want AP and spend consolidated under one vendor.

15. Rho: AP Automation Included Free When You Bank With Rho

Rho takes the interchange-funded model as far as anyone on this list and applies it to AP specifically: $0 subscription fees, $0 per-user fees, and $0 for same-day ACH, wires, and checks, with AP, expense, and accounting automation all included at no charge. There is no checking account minimum either. For a company that wants invoice automation without a software line item, that is about as direct an offer as the category has.

The real cost of that offer is not hidden, it is structural: your operating account moves to Rho. That is a bigger commitment than swapping AP software, and it comes with a few real fees elsewhere, a 1% charge on foreign currency transfers, a $30 international wire recall fee, an optional $15 SWIFT fee, and a separate advisory management fee on Rho's treasury product. For an early-stage or growth-stage US company willing to consolidate banking and AP with one provider, the math is straightforward. For a company with an entrenched bank relationship, moving it is the actual decision being asked, not the software.

What you get What you don't
$0 subscription, $0 per-user, $0 domestic payment fees Requires moving your banking relationship to Rho
AP, expense, and accounting automation included free Foreign currency transfers cost 1%
No checking account minimum International wire recalls cost $30, plus an optional $15 SWIFT fee
Simple, all-inclusive offer with no seat-count math Less proven at large enterprise scale than incumbents

Pricing: Subscription fees are $0, per-user fees are $0, same-day ACH, wires, and checks are $0, and the checking account minimum is $0, with AP, expense, and accounting automation included at $0. Foreign currency transfers cost 1%, plus a $30 international wire recall fee and an optional $15 SWIFT fee. Rho Treasury charges a separate advisory management fee. All figures from Rho's own pricing page.

Best for: US companies of 5 to 200 employees willing to consolidate banking and AP automation with one provider.

True Cost Example: 500 Invoices a Month, 5 AP Users

Assumptions: 50 employees, 5 people touching AP directly, roughly 500 invoices a month, US-based unless the vendor prices in another currency, annual billing where offered. Quote-only vendors, Coupa, Corpay Complete, Basware, Vic.ai, Quadient AP, AvidXchange, Stampli, and Airbase, are excluded from the table because there is no published number to model against; budget them from a real sales quote instead.

Tool and Tier Monthly Software Cost Annual Estimate Basis
Ramp (Free) $0 $0 Vendor-published, funded by interchange
BILL Spend & Expense $0 $0 Vendor-published
Rho $0 $0 Vendor-published, funded by interchange and treasury
Brex (Essentials) $0 $0 Vendor-published
Melio (Go, 1 user only) $0 $0 Vendor-published, capped at 1 user
Melio (Unlimited, annual) $64 $768 Vendor-published, unlimited users
Brex (Premium) 5 x $12 = $60 $720 Vendor-published per user
Ramp (Plus) 5 x $15 = $75 plus platform fee $900 plus platform fee Vendor-published per user; platform fee not disclosed
BILL (AP/AR, Essentials) 5 x $49 = $245 $2,940 Vendor-published per user
Tipalti (Accounts Payable) From $99 plus per-invoice fees From $1,188 plus per-invoice fees Vendor-published floor; unlimited users, transaction fees on top
Payhawk (Accounts Payable, US) From $349 From $4,188 Vendor-published, per company not per user

Three things stand out. First, the spread between the free tools and Payhawk's per-company floor is more than four thousand dollars a year at the same headcount, and none of it comes from feature depth alone, it comes from pricing model. Second, Tipalti's unlimited users on a $99 floor looks cheap next to BILL's per-user Essentials tier at 5 users, until the per-invoice transaction fees on 500 invoices a month are added in, which the vendor prices separately rather than folding into the headline number. Third, at $9.84 average fully loaded cost per manually processed invoice, per Ardent Partners' 2025 research, 500 invoices a month in a fully manual process runs close to $5,000 a month in labor and handling before any software cost is counted, which is the number every line in this table is actually being compared against.

Integration Fit: What Your Accounting Stack Allows

Your accounting system and ERP constrain this decision more than most buyers expect walking in. A tool with a shallow sync back into your ledger creates the reconciliation work AP automation is supposed to remove.

Your Accounting System Strongest Fits Notes
QuickBooks Online BILL, Melio, Ramp, Rho, Brex The most widely supported target across this list
Xero BILL, Melio, Ramp Depth varies; test the sync with real invoices before committing
NetSuite Tipalti, Coupa, Basware, Airbase, Ramp, Brex, Payhawk Sync depth varies a lot between these; validate with a real trial
Sage Intacct Quadient AP, Airbase, Tipalti, AvidXchange Multi-entity sync is the feature to test here specifically
SAP or Oracle ERP Coupa, Basware, Corpay Complete This is where the enterprise incumbents earn their price
Vertical property or construction accounting AvidXchange, Quadient AP Built for the ERP and property management tools those industries actually run

If your accounting platform itself is the real bottleneck rather than the AP layer sitting on top of it, the adjacent decisions are covered in best QuickBooks alternatives and best NetSuite alternatives.

Buying Mistakes to Avoid

Every mistake below already happened somewhere in this category this year. None of them require expensive information, only reading the actual pricing page instead of trusting a reputation.

Mistake What It Looks Like What to Do Instead
Treating a module floor as the total AP bill Budgeting Tipalti at $99/mo or Payhawk at $349/mo with nothing added Ask for the per-invoice, per-payment, or per-module fee schedule before you budget
Trusting Melio's old reputation for flat, unlimited pricing Assuming every Melio tier includes unlimited approvers Only the $80/mo (or $64/mo annual) Unlimited plan removes per-user fees; check the current page
Confusing BILL's AP/AR product with BILL Spend & Expense Quoting BILL as "$0 per user" for the AP workflow Confirm which BILL product a quote actually covers; they are billed separately
Reading a quote-only vendor's price from a third-party listicle Citing a reported Coupa or AvidXchange number as vendor-confirmed Treat any unsourced figure as an estimate and get a written quote
Ignoring payment-method fees on top of the subscription Forgetting ACH, check, wire, and card fees stack on every payment run Model your real payment mix against the vendor's fee schedule, not just the subscription price
Buying an enterprise procure-to-pay suite for an AP-only problem Deploying Coupa or Basware when the bottleneck is invoice approval speed A focused tool like Stampli or Vic.ai may solve it for far less money and time
Missing an e-invoicing compliance deadline in a market you operate in Discovering France's September 2026 receive mandate after go-live Check regulatory obligations in every market you operate in before, not after, selecting a tool
Skipping the ERP sync test during the trial Finding out the NetSuite or Sage Intacct sync needs manual mapping after go-live Run real invoices, including a multi-entity one, through the sync before you sign

What Changed in AP Automation Since 2025

Three changes reshaped this category since 2025, and all three affect how a buyer should read the vendor list above.

AvidXchange went private on October 15, 2025, acquired by TPG in partnership with Corpay at $10.00 a share, a deal worth roughly $2.2 billion, and its shares no longer trade on Nasdaq. Corpay put in about $550 million for a 34% stake. The detail worth carrying into any shortlist: Corpay Complete, a separate entry on this list, now competes with AvidXchange for the same deals while Corpay itself owns a third of AvidXchange. That does not make either product a worse choice, but a buyer treating the two as fully independent alternatives should know the ownership sits closer than it looks.

France's e-invoicing mandate moves from planning to enforcement in 2026. From September 1, every VAT-registered business in France must be able to receive structured e-invoices, and the obligation to issue starts the same day for large and medium enterprises, with small and micro enterprises following a year later on September 1, 2027. Exchange runs through state-registered platforms. Any company with a French entity evaluating AP tools this year has a real, dated compliance requirement attached to the decision, not a someday concern.

Stampli shipped Deep Finance on March 31, 2026, turning the invoice data it already captures into spend intelligence aimed at executives rather than just AP staff. It is a meaningful signal about where invoice-centric AP tools are heading: from processing invoices to reporting on what they reveal about spend, without a separate business intelligence project. Stampli remains independently owned, having raised about $148 million, its last round a Series D in October 2023, a data point worth having if vendor stability factors into the decision alongside the acquisition activity happening elsewhere in the category.

Decision Framework

If you need... Pick... Why
A mature, proven AP workflow with a free card companion BILL Established AP/AR product plus a genuinely free Spend & Expense option
To pay hundreds of suppliers or contractors across many countries Tipalti Self-service supplier portal, tax compliance, and mass payment runs
Invoice approval speed and vendor communication as the real bottleneck Stampli Invoice-centric collaboration plus Deep Finance spend intelligence
A free AP workflow inside a card and expense platform Ramp Free tier covers capture, payment, and fraud checks with no subscription
Deep vertical AP for real estate, construction, or healthcare AvidXchange Built specifically for high-invoice-volume verticals
Sourcing and procurement governance as much as payment Coupa Full business spend management suite, not just AP
AP automation on established global payments infrastructure Corpay Complete Backed by Corpay's payments network for cross-border volume
Simple, low-cost bill pay for a small business Melio Free Go tier, with per-user fees clearly disclosed on Core and Boost
Per-company AP pricing that will not scale with headcount Payhawk Module pricing bought by company, not by seat
AP bundled free into cards and business banking Brex Bill pay included on every tier, including free Essentials
European e-invoicing compliance ahead of 2026 mandates Basware Network-based invoice exchange built for cross-border tax rules
AI-autonomous invoice coding instead of rules-based routing Vic.ai Learns from invoice history rather than static approval logic
A dedicated AP tool for multi-entity, multi-location organizations Quadient AP Purpose-built for franchises, healthcare systems, and multi-site retail
Spend and payroll consolidated under one vendor Airbase (Paylocity) Guided procurement and AP now inside the Paylocity for Finance umbrella
Zero software cost and a banking relationship to match Rho $0 subscription, $0 per user, AP included free

Frequently Asked Questions about AP Automation Software

What is the best AP automation software in 2026?

It depends on the problem you are solving. BILL and Ramp lead for companies moving off manual processes for the first time, Tipalti and Corpay Complete lead for high-volume global supplier and payout needs, Stampli and Vic.ai lead when invoice approval speed is the bottleneck, and Coupa and Basware still lead for enterprises where sourcing and cross-border compliance matter as much as payment.

How much does AP automation software cost?

Published prices in this category run from $0 per user per month (Ramp Free, Brex Essentials, BILL Spend & Expense, Rho, Melio Go) to a $99 per month floor for Tipalti's Accounts Payable plan, plus per-invoice transaction fees on top. BILL's AP/AR product runs $49 to $89 per user per month depending on tier. Payhawk prices AP per company rather than per user, starting from $349 per month in the US. Coupa, Corpay Complete, Basware, Vic.ai, Quadient AP, AvidXchange, Stampli, and Airbase publish no list price at all.

Do most AP automation vendors publish pricing?

No, and that is more common in this category than in adjacent ones like expense management. Eight of the 15 tools compared here, Coupa, Corpay Complete, Basware, Vic.ai, Quadient AP, AvidXchange, Stampli, and Airbase, publish no list price and quote every deal individually based on invoice volume, entity count, and module mix. Treat any number for these tools that you see in a third-party guide as reported, not confirmed, and get a written quote.

What is the difference between AP automation and a free card platform's bill pay feature?

A free card platform like Ramp or Brex bundles bill pay, invoice entry, and approval routing into the same product as its cards and banking, at no software cost, but the depth is lighter than a dedicated AP tool. Tipalti, Stampli, and Coupa are built specifically around AP, supplier onboarding, invoice approval collaboration, and procurement governance, respectively, and go deeper than a bundled feature can.

Is Melio's pricing actually flat with unlimited approvers?

No, and that reputation is out of date. Only Melio's Unlimited plan, at $80 a month monthly or $64 a month billed annually, includes unlimited users. The Core and Boost plans both charge $10 a month monthly (or $8 annually) for every user beyond the base plan, so a growing team on Core or Boost will pay more than the headline price once approvers and bookkeepers are added.

How much does a manual invoice cost to process, and how much does automation save?

Ardent Partners' State of ePayables 2025 research puts the average fully loaded cost to process one invoice at $9.84 and the average processing time at 8.2 days, with an 18.4% exception rate. Best-in-Class AP teams run 79% lower cost per invoice, 79% faster processing, and 47% lower exception rates than that average, according to the same research.

What is Corpay Complete's relationship to AvidXchange?

Corpay invested roughly $550 million for a 34% stake in AvidXchange as part of the October 15, 2025 deal that took AvidXchange private alongside TPG, at $10.00 per share and a total value of about $2.2 billion. Corpay Complete and AvidXchange still compete for the same AP automation deals, but a buyer evaluating both should know Corpay holds a meaningful ownership position in its own competitor.

Does France's e-invoicing mandate affect which AP tool I should pick?

It does if you have a French entity. From September 1, 2026, every VAT-registered business in France must be able to receive structured e-invoices, with the obligation to issue starting the same day for large and medium enterprises and a year later for small and micro enterprises. Vendors with deep European e-invoicing infrastructure, Basware in particular, are built around exactly this kind of mandate.

Which AP tool fits high-volume global supplier or contractor payouts?

Tipalti and Corpay Complete are both built around that problem specifically, with self-service supplier or payee onboarding, multi-currency payment, and compliance checks like tax form collection and sanctions screening handled as part of the core product rather than a manual side process.

How long does AP automation implementation take?

Self-serve tools like Ramp, Brex, BILL, and Melio can be live within days, with the accounting sync being the piece most likely to need extra attention. Enterprise platforms like Coupa and Basware are implementation projects measured in months, involving entity setup, ERP integration, approval policy configuration, and supplier onboarding.

What to Do Next

Name the actual bottleneck before you name a vendor. Write down whether invoices are unprocessed because nobody captures them, unpaid because approval is slow, or unpayable because a supplier's banking details were never collected. That sentence alone rules out most of this list.

Then run a real two-week trial with your top two picks, not a demo. Push 20 real invoices through each one: a standard vendor bill, a multi-line purchase-order match, a foreign-currency payment, a duplicate submission, and one that should trigger a policy exception. Sync all 20 into your accounting system and see what needs manual correction afterward. The tool that survives that test with the fewest manual fixes is the right answer, regardless of which one had the stronger sales deck.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.