Ramp vs Bill.com in 2026: Is This an AP Question or a Card Question?

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026: every price below was taken from each vendor's own pricing page on 27 August 2026, with the billing basis stated in full.

Most people who type "Ramp vs Bill.com" into a search box are actually asking one of two different questions, and they usually don't realize it until three paragraphs into a listicle that never resolves either one. If the reason you're here is "I need to pay our vendors and close the books faster," you're asking an AP question, and that's BILL's home turf: a company built for more than a decade on invoice automation and vendor payments, currently charging $49 to $89 per user, per month, for it. If the reason you're here is "I need to stop people swiping company cards with no controls," you're asking a card question, and that's Ramp's home turf: a company that gave its software away for free and makes its money when your employees spend.

Here's the part that actually confuses this comparison. Both companies now sell into the other's home turf, and both do it for free. Ramp Free bundles a full accounts payable workflow, invoice OCR included, at $0 per user per month. BILL's card and budgeting product, BILL Spend & Expense, was Divvy before BILL acquired it, and it's also $0 per user per month with no subscription fee at all. So the free tiers don't separate these two companies. What separates them is what happens the moment you outgrow the free tier on the side that isn't each company's core business, and that's where this article spends most of its time.

Business model explains why. Ramp is a card-led spend platform. It grew AP outward from the card, and it can afford to give expense management away because it earns on the interchange every time an employee swipes a Ramp card. BILL is an AP and AR automation company. It grew a free card product inward from the payables side, largely to keep customers inside its ecosystem rather than to make card interchange its main business the way Ramp does. Neither business model is wrong, but they point at genuinely different products, and treating this as a feature-for-feature bake-off, the way most "Ramp vs Bill.com" content does, misses the one fact that actually decides the purchase.

So treat this as two comparisons stacked inside one article. For the AP question, BILL's paid platform is being measured against Ramp's bundled-in AP. For the card question, Ramp is being measured against BILL Spend & Expense. Read the section that matches the question you actually came in with, then read the rest anyway, because the accounting integration and transaction fee sections below apply no matter which side of this you're on. If neither company turns out to be the right shape once you've read this, our roundups of AP automation software and spend management software cover the wider field.

TL;DR

  • If your problem is AP, BILL is the deeper product, and it costs $49 to $89 per user, per month, for it. Ramp bundles AP into its free tier too, but Ramp's approval depth, procurement workflows, and tolerance rules live behind Plus, and BILL's Team and Corporate tiers go further on approval policy and PO matching than anything Ramp Free ships.
  • If your problem is cards, Ramp is the deeper product, and BILL Spend & Expense (formerly Divvy) matches its $0 price. Both are free at the entry point, so the card decision comes down to control depth and credit line size, not cost.
  • Ramp Plus cannot be fully budgeted from the pricing page. It's $15 per user, per month, plus a platform fee based on team size, and Ramp does not publish the platform fee amount anywhere.
  • The two companies' transaction fees are nearly identical, and that symmetry is the story. Standard ACH is $0.59 on both. A standard check is $1.99 on both. What differs is what gets waived, and under what condition.
  • Neither company is a bank. Ramp waives several of its own Bill Pay fees when you fund the payment from a Ramp Checking Account. BILL has no equivalent waiver on its published fee schedule: every payor fee applies regardless of where the money comes from.
  • Accounting sync gates the real decision for a lot of mid-market buyers. BILL's two-way QuickBooks and Xero sync starts on Team at $65 per user, per month. Ramp's equivalent sync is on the free tier. But NetSuite and Sage Intacct sit behind Plus on Ramp and behind a custom Enterprise quote on BILL, which flips the advantage back the other way.

Key Facts

Key Facts: The numbers behind this decision

  • The average fully loaded cost to process one invoice is $9.84, taking 8.2 days with an 18.4% exception rate, per Ardent Partners' State of ePayables 2025 research (Ardent Partners).
  • Best-in-Class AP teams run 79% lower cost per invoice and 79% faster processing than their peers, according to the same Ardent Partners benchmark (Ardent Partners).
  • 76% of US organizations faced attempted or actual payments fraud in 2025, and checks remain the single most targeted payment method at 58% (2026 AFP Payments Fraud and Control Survey).
  • Processing a single-night hotel expense report costs an average of $58 and 20 minutes of staff time, and 19% of expense reports contain errors that each cost an extra $52 and 18 minutes to fix, per a GBTA Foundation study conducted with HRS (GBTA).
  • The average combined Visa and Mastercard credit card interchange rate in the US reached 2.36% in 2025, up from 2.02% in 2010 (The Motley Fool). That percentage is the revenue line funding every "free" card platform in this article, on both sides.

Ramp vs Bill.com at a Glance

Ramp BILL
What it sells you first A corporate card program, with AP and expense attached for free Accounts payable and receivable automation, per user
How it funds the free product Card interchange Card interchange (on BILL Spend & Expense specifically)
Entry price Free, $0 per user, per month BILL Spend & Expense, $0 per user, per month
Paid tier price Plus, $15 per user, per month, plus an unpublished platform fee Essentials to Corporate, $49 to $89 per user, per month
Home turf Card issuance and spend controls Accounts payable and receivable automation
Secondary product Bundled AP and basic travel and expense, on Free Free card and budgeting product, formerly Divvy
ERP-grade accounting sync NetSuite and Sage Intacct on Plus NetSuite and Sage Intacct on Enterprise, custom quote
QuickBooks Online / Xero sync Included on Free Requires Team, $65 per user, per month
Sells AR Not a named product line Yes, bundled into the AP/AR subscription
Best fit Companies consolidating card spend, with AP as a bonus Companies whose core problem is vendor bill pay and receivables

Sources: Ramp's pricing page and BILL's pricing page, both checked 27 August 2026.

A search this broad collapses two different buyer intents into one query, and most comparison content answers only one of them without saying so.

You searched "Ramp vs Bill.com" because... The real question Whose home turf this is Where to look in this article
"I need to control card spend before it happens" Card and controls Ramp Card Issuance and Spend Controls
"I need to pay vendors and close AP faster" AP depth BILL Accounts Payable Depth
"I want one login for both cards and bills" Coverage Neither cleanly Who Should Pick Which
"I already run QuickBooks or Xero and want the cheapest sync" Accounting integration Tied at the entry tier Accounting and ERP Integrations
"I want the real transaction cost, not the sticker price" Fee structure Tied, almost exactly Transaction Fees

Notice the third row. If you're looking for one product that does both jobs equally well, neither vendor is built that way, and forcing one to do the other's job is where most of the buyer's remorse in this category comes from. Ramp's AP module is real, and it includes invoice OCR at no charge, but it doesn't carry the tolerance rules, purchase-request workflow, or unlimited purchase requesters that BILL puts on its Corporate tier. BILL Spend & Expense issues real cards with real budgets and credit lines up to $5 million, but it wasn't built with the category-lock merchant controls and AI-driven expense review that are the entire point of Ramp's card platform.

The Business Model Difference That Decides This

Both companies actually run two business models at once, just pointed at different halves of their product line, and untangling that is the fastest way to understand every price on this page.

Ramp Free (cards and AP) BILL Spend & Expense (cards only) BILL AP/AR (Essentials to Enterprise)
Revenue source Card interchange Card interchange Per-user subscription fees, billed monthly
What the company wants from you Spend volume on the card Spend volume on the card Seats, renewed monthly or annually
Cost to you at low card volume $0, but you're not funding the model $0, but you're not funding the model Full list price regardless of card usage
Cost to you at high card volume $0, and the company is happy $0, and the company is happy Unchanged, BILL's AP/AR pricing isn't card-linked
Risk to you Concentrating spend with one issuer Concentrating spend with one issuer Paying per seat for occasional approvers

That last column is worth sitting with. Unlike Expensify's Control plan, which cuts its rate by up to half when you route spend onto the Expensify Card, BILL's AP/AR pricing doesn't move at all based on how much you spend through BILL Spend & Expense. The two BILL products don't talk to each other on price. Running both doesn't earn you a discount on either one, it just means BILL, as a company, collects interchange on your card spend and a subscription on your AP seats at the same time, from the same customer, through two separate product lines.

Ramp's Pricing, in Full

Ramp publishes four rows on its pricing page, and only two of them carry a firm number.

Plan Published price Basis
Free $0 per user, per month Per user, monthly
Plus $15 per user, per month, plus a platform fee based on team size Per user, monthly. The platform fee amount is not published anywhere
Enterprise Custom Annual billing
Procurement Add-on to Plus or Enterprise, no separate published price Not applicable

Plus adds AI-driven expense reviews, AI-driven approval recommendations, and NetSuite and Sage Intacct integrations, plus 24/7 phone support (Free gets 24/7 chat support only). Source: Ramp's pricing page, checked 27 August 2026.

Ramp shows annual billing only as "Save 20% with annual billing," with no dollar figure attached to it anywhere on the page. Do not let anyone hand you a per-seat annual number as Ramp's published rate: any figure like that is a mental multiplication of the monthly rate by the stated discount, not a price Ramp has ever printed, and it's incomplete anyway, since it ignores the platform fee entirely. Ask your Ramp rep for the platform fee amount in writing before you build a budget around Plus, because the fee is real, it scales with team size, and it's the single largest unknown in this comparison.

BILL's Pricing, in Full

BILL runs five rows, and the split between them is the whole story of this company: four rows are the paid AP/AR ladder, and the fifth is free.

Plan Published price What it adds
Essentials $49 per user, per month Manual CSV integration, bill entry, approval workflows, ACH/card/check payments, centralized inbox, W-9 automation, AI invoice coding, vendor network, 6 standard user roles
Team $65 per user, per month Automatic 2-way sync with QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Pro/Premier, and Xero, plus custom user roles
Corporate (marked Most Popular) $89 per user, per month Custom approval policies, approver-only user discounts, purchase requests, POs, tolerance rules, 2-way matching, unlimited purchase requesters
Enterprise Custom pricing Advanced security, multi-location, priority support, 2-way sync with QuickBooks Enterprise, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics, and Acumatica, plus automatic PO matching, SSO, dual control, and API access
BILL Spend & Expense (formerly Divvy) $0 per user, per month Corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking, credit lines from $1,000 to $5 million

Source: BILL's pricing page, checked 27 August 2026.

BILL Spend & Expense, the free row, is the direct answer to Ramp on the card side. It is not, as far as BILL's own pricing page describes it, a full invoice-OCR accounts payable workflow the way Ramp Free is. It's a card and budgeting product: physical and virtual cards, spend budgets, expense tracking, and access to credit lines from $1,000 up to $5 million. If bill pay and vendor invoicing are your actual problem, don't assume the free BILL product covers you; that workflow lives on the paid Essentials tier and up. For a closer look at BILL Spend & Expense against its most direct free-tier rivals, our comparison of Navan, Spendesk, and BILL Spend & Expense covers it head to head.

Transaction Fees: The Part That Actually Costs You Money

Subscription price is the number buyers argue about. Transaction fees are the number that actually shows up on the bill every month, and here the two companies are close enough to be almost identical on the line items that matter most.

Payment method Ramp BILL Notes
Standard ACH $0.59 per transaction $0.59 per transaction Identical. Ramp's is waived when paid from a Ramp Checking Account; BILL's applies regardless of funding source
Standard check $1.99 per transaction $1.99 per transaction Identical. Same waiver asymmetry as ACH
Same-day / expedited ACH $10 per transaction $11.99 per transaction (Pay Faster ACH) Close, not identical. Ramp's is waived from a Ramp Checking Account
Overnight / expedited check $20 per transaction $24.99 per transaction (Pay Faster check) BILL's applies even from BILL balances; Ramp's applies even from a Ramp Checking Account
Domestic wire $15 per transaction Not listed as a separate domestic wire fee Ramp charges for it directly, waived from a Ramp Checking Account
International wire (USD) $20 per transaction (SWIFT USD) $19.99 per transaction Essentially identical
International FX wire Not listed separately Free BILL publishes this as free
Check attachments $1 per page Not listed Ramp specific
Stablecoin payments No fee Not published Ramp specific

Sources: Ramp's Bill Pay fees and BILL's pricing page, both checked 27 August 2026. Ramp's standard ACH and standard check fees take effect June 1, 2026, with a 3-month grace period for active Bill Pay customers who paid at least one bill before May 1, 2026.

BILL also publishes several fees with no matching Ramp line item:

Fee Amount
Pay by card (ACH or ePayment) 2.9%
Pay by card, Pay Faster check overnight 2.9% plus $24.99
Instant payment 1.0%, $9.99 minimum, $100 maximum
Check void $25.00
Returned check void $3.00
Failed ACH $50.00

Read the first table's Notes column twice, because the real difference lives there. Ramp's fee schedule is written around a single lever: pay from a Ramp Checking Account and most of the fees on that list disappear. Pay from anywhere else and you owe the fee, transaction by transaction. BILL's payor fee schedule has no equivalent lever anywhere in its published pricing. Move your operating cash to a BILL balance or leave it at your existing bank, and the fee for a standard ACH payment is $0.59 either way. That's a genuinely different design choice, not a minor footnote: Ramp's marketing describes "zero processing fees on domestic payments," but the operative document is the fee schedule above, and the honest reading of it is "free when you pay from a Ramp Checking Account, priced otherwise."

Total Cost at 5, 25, and 100 Users

Run the math on both sides of this comparison and a pattern falls out that neither vendor's homepage will show you: at the free tier, headcount is irrelevant, and at the paid tier, headcount is the only thing that matters.

Scenario one: free everything.

Users Ramp Free (cards, AP, basic T&E) BILL Spend & Expense (cards, budgets)
5 $0 $0
25 $0 $0
100 $0 $0

There's nothing to calculate here, and that's the point. If your entire requirement is issuing corporate cards, setting budgets, and tracking spend, both companies will let you do it for a hundred people at zero software cost, funded by the interchange on however much of that spend runs through the card. The decision at this level isn't about price. It's about which company's free product goes deeper on the specific controls you need, which is exactly what the Card Issuance and Spend Controls section below works through.

Scenario two: paying for AP depth.

Assumptions: every user is billed at each plan's published monthly rate times 12 months, with no negotiated discount, and Ramp Plus is shown with the platform fee marked as unresolved because Ramp does not publish it. These BILL figures match the ones in our Bill.com vs Tipalti comparison, recalculated here against Ramp Plus.

Users Ramp Plus (annual, before platform fee) BILL Essentials ($49/user/mo) BILL Team ($65/user/mo) BILL Corporate ($89/user/mo)
5 $900/year + unpublished platform fee $2,940/year $3,900/year $5,340/year
25 $4,500/year + unpublished platform fee $14,700/year $19,500/year $26,700/year
100 $18,000/year + unpublished platform fee $58,800/year $78,000/year $106,800/year

Read that table carefully before concluding Ramp Plus is the cheaper AP option, because the comparison isn't actually finished. The Ramp Plus column is missing a real number, the platform fee, and Ramp does not disclose how it scales. At 5 users the fee might be trivial. At 100 users, if it scales anything like other per-account platform fees in this category, it could close a meaningful part of the gap to BILL Essentials. Treat every Ramp Plus figure in this table as a floor, get the platform fee in writing before comparing it against any BILL tier, and remember the two products aren't buying the same depth of AP feature anyway: BILL's Team and Corporate tiers add two-way ERP sync, custom approval policies, and PO matching that Ramp's AP module doesn't carry at any published price.

Accounts Payable Depth

AP capability Ramp (Free / Plus) BILL (Essentials to Enterprise)
Invoice OCR Included on Free, AI-powered AI invoice coding on Essentials
Basic approval workflow Included on Free Included on Essentials, 6 standard user roles
AI-driven approval recommendations Plus Not published as a named feature
Custom approval policies Not published on Ramp's tiers Corporate and above
Procurement / purchase requests Add-on to Plus or Enterprise, price not published Purchase requests and POs on Corporate; unlimited purchase requesters on Corporate
Tolerance rules and 2-way matching Not listed on Ramp's published tiers Corporate and above
Vendor network / W-9 automation Vendor management basics on Free W-9 automation on every tier, starting Essentials
Sells AR No Yes, bundled into the AP/AR subscription
Multi-entity accounting Plus Enterprise

If your vendor volume and approval complexity have already outgrown both companies' entry tiers, our best BILL alternatives roundup covers the wider set of AP-focused platforms built around exactly that problem.

Card Issuance and Spend Controls

Capability Ramp BILL Spend & Expense
Issues its own cards Yes, core to the product Yes, formerly Divvy
Physical and virtual cards Yes, unlimited virtual cards on Free Yes
Per-card limits and merchant locks Yes, on Free Yes, via budgets
Budget ownership by non-finance managers Basic budgets on Free, advanced on Plus Budgets are core to the product
Credit lines Not marketed as a named credit-line product $1,000 to $5 million, per BILL's own pricing page
AI-driven expense review Plus only Not published as a named feature
Category and merchant-level controls Deep, this is Ramp's core wedge Present, less central to the product's marketing

BILL Spend & Expense's differentiator here is the credit line range, a genuinely large ceiling for a free product. Ramp's differentiator is control depth and AI-driven review, which is the entire reason the company exists. If you're comparing Ramp's card program specifically against other card-first platforms rather than against BILL, our Ramp vs Brex and Ramp vs Payhawk comparisons stay inside that narrower category.

Accounting and ERP Integrations

Accounting system Ramp tier required BILL tier required
QuickBooks Online / Xero Free Team, $65 per user, per month
NetSuite Plus Enterprise, custom quote
Sage Intacct Plus Enterprise, custom quote
Workday Not listed on Ramp's published tiers Enterprise, custom quote
Dynamics 365 / Acumatica Not listed on Ramp's published tiers Enterprise, custom quote
Single sign-on Not listed on Ramp's published Free/Plus tiers Enterprise

This is the section that actually flips the comparison for a lot of mid-market accounting teams. If you're on QuickBooks Online or Xero and want two-way sync without paying for it, Ramp gets you there for free while BILL charges $65 per user, per month, for the same connection. But if your ERP is NetSuite or Sage Intacct, the gap moves the other way in scale, though not in direction: both companies now gate those connections behind their most expensive published tier or a custom quote, so neither one is meaningfully cheaper at that level, and the real decision becomes AP feature depth, not integration cost.

Payment Rails and How Money Actually Moves

Rail Ramp BILL
Domestic ACH Yes Yes
Same-day / expedited ACH Yes, $10 Yes, Pay Faster ACH, $11.99
Paper check Yes, $1.99 standard Yes, $1.99 standard
Overnight check Yes, $20 Yes, Pay Faster check, $24.99
Domestic wire Yes, $15 Not broken out as a separate line item
International wire (USD) Yes, SWIFT USD, $20 Yes, $19.99
International FX wire Not listed separately Yes, free
Virtual card payment to a vendor Not the default model, Ramp issues cards to your team Yes, free
Instant payment Not listed on Ramp's published fee schedule Yes, 1.0%, $9.99 minimum, $100 maximum
Stablecoin Yes, no fee Not published

Coverage looks close on paper, but the two rail lists reveal each company's center of gravity: Ramp's list is built around paying from a company's own account outward, while BILL's list includes a free international FX wire and a free virtual card option built for paying a large, varied vendor base.

Who Actually Holds Your Money

Neither Ramp nor BILL is a bank. Both are technology companies that partner with FDIC-insured banks to issue cards, hold account balances, and move money, a structure that's standard across this entire category, the same one used across most fintech spend platforms.

That distinction matters here for two reasons. First, float. When you hold operating cash in a Ramp Checking Account or a BILL balance, that money sits with a partner bank, not with Ramp or BILL directly, and any interest or yield arrangement on that balance is a separate commercial question from the software price compared in this article. Ask about it directly if idle cash balances matter to your treasury.

Second, and more concretely, fee waivers. Ramp's own Bill Pay fee schedule ties several of its highest fees, standard ACH, same-day ACH, domestic wire, international wire, and standard check, to a single condition: pay from a Ramp Checking Account and the fee disappears. Pay from an outside bank account and you owe it. BILL's payor fee schedule carries no equivalent waiver tied to holding a BILL balance; the $0.59 ACH fee and the $1.99 check fee apply the same way whether your operating cash sits at BILL or at the bank you've used for years. If you'd rather not concentrate deposits with a fintech's banking partner, that design difference is worth more than it looks like on a fee sheet: BILL's standard rate doesn't ask you to make that tradeoff, and Ramp's does.

Implementation and Support

Ramp BILL
Self-serve signup Yes Yes
Time to first card issued or bill paid Same day for software; card issuance depends on underwriting Same day for software; BILL Spend & Expense card issuance also depends on underwriting
Support on the free tier 24/7 chat Not specified at the same depth on BILL Spend & Expense's published page
Support on the top paid tier 24/7 phone support on Plus Priority support on Enterprise
Hardest step Card underwriting, and moving spend onto the card Accounting sync configuration on Team and above, plus getting people to route bills through the workflow instead of email
Contract exposure Free has no commitment; Enterprise is annual Essentials through Corporate bill monthly per user; Enterprise is typically an annual custom contract

Company Size and Stage Fit

Company profile Typical AP need Typical card need Better starting point
Early-stage, under 20 people Light, a handful of vendor bills a month Real, founders want to stop chasing receipts Either free tier; Ramp Free if cards are the more urgent problem
Growth-stage, 20 to 100 people Growing vendor count, first dedicated AP hire Multiple department budgets, need for non-finance budget owners BILL Essentials or Team if AP volume is the pain; Ramp Free or Plus if card sprawl is the pain
Scaling, 100 to 500 people Multi-step approvals, PO matching, ERP sync Cross-department cards at volume, tighter merchant controls BILL Corporate or Enterprise for AP depth; Ramp Plus for card and expense depth
Mature or multi-entity, 500+ NetSuite or Sage Intacct sync, dual control, SSO Enterprise-grade card program, custom limits BILL Enterprise or Ramp Enterprise, both custom quotes at this size

When Ramp Is the Right Call

  • You want to consolidate card issuance and get real, enforced spend controls at $0, and you can pass Ramp's underwriting.
  • Your accounting stack is QuickBooks Online or Xero and you don't want to pay to sync it.
  • AP is a real need but not your deepest need, and Ramp's bundled AP with invoice OCR covers what you actually do each month.
  • You want AI-driven expense review and approval recommendations, and you're willing to pay Plus plus an unknown platform fee to get them.

If Ramp's card model doesn't fit because you can't clear underwriting, or you need a different geographic footprint, our Ramp alternatives roundup covers the other card-first options worth a look.

When BILL Is the Right Call

  • Your core problem is vendor bill pay, not card control, and you want multi-step approval policies, PO matching, and tolerance rules that Ramp doesn't publish at any tier.
  • You also invoice customers and want AR in the same login; Ramp doesn't sell AR as a named product.
  • You want a free card product with credit lines that can scale into the millions, and BILL Spend & Expense's $1,000 to $5 million range covers that without a separate lender conversation.
  • Your accounting stack is already NetSuite or Sage Intacct bound at the AP tier, and you'd rather negotiate one Enterprise conversation with BILL than reach the same connections through Ramp Plus's unpublished platform fee.

Who Should Pick Which

If this describes you Choose Because
Your search started with "I need to control card spend" Ramp It's the company's actual product, not an add-on
Your search started with "I need to pay bills faster" BILL Same logic, reversed
You need AR in the same subscription as AP BILL Ramp doesn't sell AR as a product
You want the cheapest possible QuickBooks or Xero sync Ramp Free Sync is free on Ramp, $65 per user per month on BILL Team
You're already committed to NetSuite or Sage Intacct Get quotes from both Ramp gates it behind Plus plus an unpublished fee; BILL gates it behind a custom Enterprise quote
You want a free card product with a large credit line BILL Spend & Expense $1,000 to $5 million is a named range on BILL's own page
You want AI-driven expense review built into the card platform Ramp Plus It's a named Plus feature; BILL doesn't publish an equivalent
You can't pass card underwriting on either platform Neither, for the card question Price a reimbursement-first or invoice-first tool instead

You Might Want Neither

Situation Why it strains both vendors What to look at instead
Heavy reimbursement of out-of-pocket, mileage, or per diem spend Neither company's core product is built around paying people back for their own money A reimbursement-first tool; see our Expensify vs Ramp comparison
Real spend through non-US entities Ramp's card issuing is US-first; BILL's AP/AR product is US-domestic in its core positioning A card platform built for that footprint; see Ramp vs Payhawk
Payouts to suppliers or contractors across dozens of countries with tax-form automation Neither company publishes the W-8 series, IRS TIN matching, or multi-country VAT ID collection this workflow needs A global payables platform built for it; see our Bill.com vs Tipalti comparison
You genuinely need one login that does deep AP and deep card control equally well Both companies picked a home turf and built the other side as a bonus, not as a co-equal product See our Navan vs Spendesk vs BILL Spend & Expense comparison
Your card program needs to be measured against Brex specifically This article only covers Ramp and BILL Ramp vs Brex

How to Choose: Decision Framework

If this describes you Pick Because
AP is your primary pain, card control is secondary BILL Deeper approval policy, PO matching, and tolerance rules at every paid tier
Card control is your primary pain, AP is secondary Ramp Card issuance and merchant-level controls are the actual product
You need AP and AR under one subscription BILL Ramp does not sell AR
You're free-tier-only and want the deepest free card product BILL Spend & Expense Larger published credit line range, $1,000 to $5 million
You're free-tier-only and want the deepest free AP product Ramp Free Invoice OCR bundled at $0, with no matching free BILL AP tier
Your accounting system is QuickBooks Online or Xero Ramp Two-way sync is free; BILL charges $65 per user, per month, for the same connection
Your accounting system is NetSuite or Sage Intacct Get quotes from both Both gate it behind their top published tier or a custom quote
You cannot get approved for a card program on either platform Neither, for the card half Price a reimbursement-first tool instead

Frequently Asked Questions about Ramp vs Bill.com

Is Ramp or BILL better for accounts payable?

BILL, for most companies with real AP volume. Its paid tiers add multi-step custom approval policies, purchase orders with two-way matching, and tolerance rules that Ramp doesn't publish at any tier. Ramp Free does bundle invoice OCR and basic AP at no cost, which is enough for a company with light vendor volume, but it isn't built to the same procurement depth as BILL Corporate or Enterprise.

Is BILL Spend & Expense the same thing as BILL's AP software?

No. BILL Spend & Expense, formerly Divvy, is a free corporate card and budgeting product. BILL's accounts payable and receivable platform is a separate, paid product line priced from $49 to $89 per user, per month. A reader comparing "Ramp vs Bill.com" needs to know which BILL product they actually mean, since the two compete with Ramp on entirely different terms.

How much does Ramp Plus actually cost?

Ramp publishes $15 per user, per month, for Plus, plus a platform fee based on team size that Ramp does not disclose anywhere on its pricing page. Annual billing saves 20%, but Ramp doesn't publish the resulting dollar rate either. Get the platform fee in writing before budgeting for Plus at any headcount.

Are Ramp's and BILL's transaction fees really the same?

On the two most common payment methods, yes. Standard ACH is $0.59 per transaction on both platforms, and a standard check is $1.99 on both. Where they diverge is the waiver: Ramp cancels several of its fees when you pay from a Ramp Checking Account, while BILL's payor fees apply the same way regardless of where your operating cash sits.

Does either company hold my money in a bank account?

Neither Ramp nor BILL is a bank. Both partner with FDIC-insured banks to issue cards and hold balances, which is standard for this category. The practical difference is that Ramp's fee waivers are tied to funding payments from a Ramp Checking Account, while BILL's fee schedule carries no equivalent incentive to move your operating cash onto a BILL balance.

Which one connects to NetSuite or Sage Intacct on the cheapest tier?

Neither is cheap about it. Ramp gates NetSuite and Sage Intacct behind Plus, which adds an unpublished platform fee on top of $15 per user, per month. BILL gates the same two systems behind Enterprise, a custom quote. QuickBooks Online and Xero are the only accounting systems either company syncs on a published, non-custom tier, and Ramp does it for free while BILL charges $65 per user, per month, for it on Team.

Can I use Ramp for cards and BILL for accounts payable at the same time?

Plenty of companies do exactly that: Ramp Free or Plus for card issuance and controls, BILL Essentials or higher for vendor bill pay and AR. It means two logins and two reconciliations instead of one, so it's worth it mainly when each half of your spend is large enough that a single vendor's weaker side would actually cost you something.

Does BILL Spend & Expense compete with Ramp on credit line size?

BILL publishes a credit line range of $1,000 to $5 million on BILL Spend & Expense. Ramp doesn't market a named credit-line product on its pricing page in the same way, focusing instead on card controls and AI-driven expense review. If a large, named credit ceiling matters to your decision, that's a point in BILL Spend & Expense's favor.

What to Do Next

Before you book a call with either vendor, split your last twelve months of spend into two buckets: card-swipe spend you already control, and vendor bills you pay by ACH, check, or wire. Whichever bucket is larger is the product you're actually shopping for, and the smaller bucket is the one you should expect to run on the other vendor's free tier rather than pay for twice.

If vendor bills are the bigger bucket, price BILL Essentials, Team, and Corporate against your real approver count using the table above, and ask specifically about the approver-only discount before assuming the full per-user rate applies to everyone. If card spend is the bigger bucket, take Ramp Free for a real trial, since it costs nothing to find out whether its controls are deep enough, and only look at Plus once you've hit something Free can't do. And if you're stuck exactly in the middle, run both free tiers side by side for a month on the same 15 real transactions, including one vendor bill, one card purchase over your standard limit, and one accounting sync test, and let the actual friction, not the pricing page, make the call.


Related Resources:

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.