Best PEO Services for Small Business in 2026: 15 Providers Ranked by Buying Situation

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026: pricing verified directly against each vendor's own pricing page where one exists, and clearly marked (reported) with a named source everywhere it doesn't. CPEO certification status checked against the IRS's own active CPEO public listing.

The best PEO for a small business isn't the one with the biggest name, it's the one that matches why you're buying co-employment in the first place. Justworks and TriNet lead this list because they solve the two most common reasons a 5 to 200 employee company goes looking for a PEO: a founder who wants large-group health insurance without building an HR department, and a company in a regulated industry that needs compliance expertise built into payroll. ADP TotalSource and Insperity win when you want an older, bigger brand behind the co-employment relationship. Paychex PEO, ExtensisHR, Sequoia, CoAdvantage, Engage PEO, Amplify, and Vensure fill out the rest of the market by industry fit, region, and company size. Rippling PEO, Deel PEO, and Remote PEO solve a narrower problem: PEO bundled with a modern HRIS, or PEO paired with global Employer of Record coverage for a company hiring outside the US. Gusto is on this list too, but only so you stop mistaking it for a PEO: it's payroll and benefits brokerage, not co-employment, and that distinction matters more than most buyers realize before they've already signed something.

This guide ranks 15 real PEO services by the buying situation they solve, not alphabetically. Before the list: what co-employment actually means, why the master health plan is usually the real reason to buy, IRS certification and why it matters, what happens to your benefits when you leave, and the two pricing models you'll be quoted so you can compare providers on equal footing.


Key Facts

Key Facts: The PEO Industry

  • More than 200,000 US businesses use a PEO today, covering roughly 4.5 million worksite employees across about 500 PEOs nationwide (NAPEO).
  • 14% of all employers with 20 to 499 employees now use a PEO, per NAPEO's own industry data (NAPEO).
  • Businesses that use a PEO grow more than twice as fast as comparable non-PEO businesses, based on a McBassi & Company study commissioned by NAPEO (NAPEO).
  • PEO clients are 50% less likely to go out of business than matched non-PEO companies of the same size, industry, and state, and see 12% lower employee turnover (NAPEO).
  • The IRS Failure to Deposit penalty for a late payroll tax deposit climbs from 2% to 15% of the unpaid amount depending on how late it's paid, one of the compliance risks a PEO's tax-filing liability transfer is built to absorb (IRS).

Quick Comparison Table

PEO Best For Starting Price Key Strength Key Limitation
Justworks Founders who want benefits without an HR team $79/employee/mo (PEO Basic) Only major PEO with fully published pricing Cost per employee doesn't shrink at scale
TriNet Regulated industries needing built-in compliance Quote-only Industry-specific compliance guidance No published pricing anywhere
ADP TotalSource Companies wanting the ADP brand behind co-employment Quote-only, priced % of payroll Decades of payroll tax infrastructure Bill moves with raises and bonuses
Insperity High-touch, dedicated HR support Quote-only (~$150-210/employee/mo reported) Long-tenured full-service model Expensive, five-employee minimum
Paychex PEO Existing Paychex customers upgrading to PEO Quote-only Same vendor as Paychex Flex payroll Pricing opacity carries over from Flex
Rippling PEO PEO bundled with a modern HRIS and IT platform Quote-only, core platform from $8/employee/mo Single system for HR, IT, and PEO Not an IRS-certified CPEO
ExtensisHR Broker-sold PEO for established small businesses Quote-only Long CPEO track record since 2017 Pricing invisible outside a broker
Sequoia VC-backed startups and tech companies Quote-only Deep bench in tech-company benefits Narrower industry focus
CoAdvantage Multi-state generalist PEO Quote-only (~$120-180/employee/mo reported) Broad multi-state, multi-industry coverage Only certified as a CPEO since July 2026
Engage PEO Attorney-led compliance oversight Quote-only (~$40-160/employee/mo reported) In-house legal and compliance team Smaller regional footprint
Amplify PEO Very small teams, under 10 employees Quote-only (~$100-180/employee/mo reported) Works at headcounts most PEOs skip Cost per employee climbs at tiny sizes
Vensure Multi-brand PEO holding company Quote-only Wide network of PEO brands under one parent Not on the IRS CPEO list under this name
Gusto Payroll and benefits without co-employment $49/mo + $6/employee/mo (Simple) Transparent pricing, easy setup Not a PEO, no liability transfer
Deel PEO US co-employment plus global EOR on one platform $125/employee/mo Same login as Deel's EOR and contractors Not on the IRS CPEO list under this name
Remote PEO Lower-priced US PEO paired with global EOR From $99/employee/mo Lower published floor than Deel Newer entrant than Deel to US PEO

What a PEO Actually Is (Read This Before You Buy)

"Co-employment" is the term that confuses people, so start there. When you sign with a PEO, your employees become co-employed by two entities: your company, which still controls hiring, firing, pay rates, and day-to-day work, and the PEO, which becomes the employer of record for tax filing, benefits administration, and workers' compensation purposes. You don't lose control of your team. You give up sole legal responsibility for a specific list of employment obligations in exchange for the PEO's scale.

That distinction is why a PEO isn't the same thing as three other categories people confuse it with.

Model Who's the legal employer What it actually does When it fits
PEO (Professional Employer Organization) Co-employer (you and the PEO) Payroll, tax filing, workers' comp, and access to the PEO's master benefits plan under one shared employment relationship You want group benefits access and shared compliance liability, and you're comfortable with co-employment
ASO (Administrative Services Organization) You, solely The same admin work as a PEO (payroll processing, HR support, compliance guidance) but with no co-employment and no shared liability You already have decent benefits, or don't want a joint employer, but still want outsourced payroll and HR admin
HRO (HR Outsourcing) You, solely Broader HR consulting and process outsourcing (recruiting, performance, policy), usually without full payroll processing You need HR expertise and process support more than you need payroll or benefits
EOR (Employer of Record) The EOR, entirely Legally employs workers in a country or state where you have no entity, and handles all local compliance You're hiring somewhere you have no legal presence, most often outside the US

The master health plan is usually the real reason to buy. The plan document, not the payroll software, is what actually drives most small companies toward a PEO. A PEO pools every one of its client companies' employees into one master health insurance plan, then negotiates group rates the way a much larger employer would. A 15-person startup shopping on its own gets small-group rates, or in some states, no group coverage at all. Inside a PEO's master plan, that same 15-person company buys into the PEO's combined risk pool instead, which is why PEO health plans routinely beat what a standalone small-group broker can quote a company that size. Missing this is the most common PEO buying mistake: comparing a PEO's administrative fee against payroll software's subscription fee, when the real trade being made is administrative fee plus master-plan benefits access against a standalone broker relationship.

The workers' comp master policy works the same way. A PEO carries one master workers' compensation policy across all its client companies and allocates a rate to each client based on that client's own claims history and industry classification, underwritten against the PEO's much larger combined pool. For a small company in a claims-prone industry (construction, manufacturing, logistics), that pooled underwriting can mean meaningfully better workers' comp pricing and faster claims handling than a standalone policy from a regional carrier.

IRS certification (CPEO status) is the detail buyers skip and later regret. The IRS runs a voluntary certification program under Section 7705 of the tax code, and a Certified Professional Employer Organization (CPEO) has met bonding, financial reporting, and tax compliance requirements the IRS checks quarterly. The practical benefit: a CPEO gets "successor employer" status for FICA and FUTA taxes, so if you switch PEOs mid-year, or leave a PEO for direct employment, your employees' wage bases carry over instead of restarting at zero. Without CPEO status, a wage base restart can mean two employers both withhold Social Security tax on the same wages up to the annual cap ($176,100 for 2026), an error nobody automatically catches or refunds. The certification table further down this guide is checked directly against the IRS's own active CPEO listing, not a vendor's marketing page.

Exiting a PEO is not like canceling a SaaS subscription. Your employees' health, dental, and vision coverage under the PEO's master plan ends on a fixed date, commonly the last day of the month you leave, and every enrolled employee gets a COBRA continuation offer instead of automatic coverage under whatever plan you set up next. That means your next payroll or benefits provider needs new group coverage live before, or very close to, your PEO exit date, or your team faces a real coverage gap. Ask a PEO exactly what its exit process looks like, in writing, before you sign, not after you've already decided to leave.

PEOs quote in one of two pricing structures, and the two aren't directly comparable without doing the math yourself.

Model How it's billed Predictability Who uses it
Flat PEPM (per employee per month) A fixed dollar amount per enrolled employee, regardless of that employee's actual pay High: cost scales with headcount, not with raises or bonuses Justworks, TriNet, ExtensisHR, and most of the newer PEOs on this list
Percentage of payroll A percentage (commonly reported at 2% to 12%) applied to each pay run's actual gross wages Lower: cost rises with raises, bonuses, and overtime, not just headcount ADP TotalSource, and some of the older, insurance-brokerage-style PEOs

To compare a flat-PEPM quote against a percentage-of-payroll quote honestly, convert the percentage into a dollar-per-employee figure using your own average payroll: multiply your average monthly pay per employee by the quoted percentage. A 4% quote against a $6,000/month average salary works out to $240/employee/month, a very different number than the same 4% quote against a $3,500/month average salary. Ask every percentage-of-payroll PEO to run that math against your actual payroll, not a generic example, before you set it next to a flat-PEPM quote from a competitor.

Not Sure You Need a PEO at All?

If the PEO vs ASO row above made you realize what you actually want is payroll or HR software, not co-employment, you're not far off. The guide to choosing payroll software and the best payroll software for small business roundup cover 14 standalone payroll platforms. Comparing two specific platforms head to head? See Gusto vs ADP, Paycom vs Paylocity, or best QuickBooks Payroll alternatives. If payroll itself is fine but you want a broader HRIS wrapped around it, the guide to choosing HR software for small business covers that adjacent decision.


1. Justworks: PEO for Founders Who Want the Simplest Buying Process

Justworks is the PEO most founders find first, and it earns that spot by being the only major PEO on this list with fully published, per-employee pricing instead of a quote-only sales process. Pick PEO Basic or PEO Plus, and the number you see is the number you pay, no sales call required.

PEO Basic covers payroll, tax filing, compliance monitoring, workers' comp, and access to Justworks's large-group health plans. PEO Plus adds Justworks-administered health insurance on top. Justworks Employment Group and its affiliated entities have held CPEO certification since 2017, confirmed on the IRS's own active listing.

Pros Cons
Fully published, transparent per-employee pricing Cost per employee doesn't shrink much as headcount grows
IRS-certified CPEO since 2017 Co-employment makes an exit more involved than canceling software
24/7 support, month-to-month billing, no long-term contract Benefits premiums sit on top of the platform fee
Also sells payroll-only and global EOR products under one login Not built for companies much past a few hundred employees

Pricing: PEO Basic $79/employee/month, no base fee. PEO Plus $124/employee/month, no base fee. Justworks Payroll, its non-PEO product, is priced separately at $8/employee/month plus a $50/month base fee. All figures per Justworks's own pricing page. This corrects a "$59 to $79 reported" figure that circulates elsewhere: the published PEO Basic floor is $79.

Best for: Startups and small businesses of 5 to 100 employees that want the simplest possible PEO buying process and are willing to pay for pricing transparency. See best Justworks alternatives if the $79 floor is more than your budget supports, or Justworks vs TriNet for the two most-compared PEOs side by side.


2. TriNet: PEO for Regulated and High-Risk Industries

TriNet runs the same co-employment model as Justworks but built for a different buyer: companies in healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, and other regulated or higher-risk industries where a generalist PEO's compliance knowledge runs out fast.

Every TriNet client gets a dedicated HR service team plus industry-specific guidance, and TriNet HR III-B, Inc. has held CPEO certification since 2018. TriNet's own pricing page confirms it uses a flat per-employee-per-month admin fee rather than a percentage of payroll, but it doesn't publish the actual rate.

Pros Cons
Industry-specific compliance and HR guidance No published pricing anywhere on TriNet's own site
IRS-certified CPEO since 2018 Runs more expensive than generalist PEOs for a similar team
Dedicated HR advisor assigned per account Harder to exit once benefits and payroll are fully integrated
Confirmed flat PEPM billing, never a percentage of payroll Support quality varies by region, per user reviews

Pricing: Quote-only. TriNet's own pricing page states it charges a flat administrative fee per employee per month and explicitly does not charge a percentage of payroll, but it doesn't publish the rate. Get a quote against your actual headcount and industry before comparing it to a published-price competitor.

Best for: Healthcare, legal, staffing, or financial services companies of 10 to 200 employees where industry-specific compliance risk outweighs the value of self-serve pricing. See best TriNet alternatives if you want the same vertical depth at a published rate.


3. ADP TotalSource: The Percentage-of-Payroll Brand-Name Option

ADP TotalSource is ADP's PEO product, distinct from ADP RUN (ADP's standalone payroll product for companies that don't want co-employment). It runs on the same decades-old tax-filing infrastructure as the rest of ADP's business, and ADP TotalSource CO XXI, Inc. and its many affiliated filing entities have held CPEO certification since 2017.

The structural detail that separates ADP TotalSource from most of this list: it typically bills as a percentage of total payroll rather than a flat per-employee fee, commonly reported in the 2% to 12% range depending on company size and services included. That means your ADP TotalSource bill moves with raises, bonuses, and overtime, not just headcount, worth modeling against a flat-PEPM competitor before you sign.

Pros Cons
Decades of payroll tax-filing infrastructure and audit history No published pricing, and percentage-of-payroll is harder to forecast
IRS-certified CPEO since 2017 across its filing entities Bill moves with pay raises and bonuses, not just headcount
Deep integration with ADP's broader HR and benefits ecosystem Sales process is known for surfacing add-on fees late
Large-employer scale behind the master benefits plan Less nimble than newer, smaller PEOs

Pricing: Quote-only. ADP does not publish TotalSource pricing; third-party trackers (including Bolto's and PEO Marketplace's 2026 ADP TotalSource breakdowns) report a 2% to 12% of payroll range, or an equivalent $70 to $200 PEPM admin fee depending on company size and risk profile (reported, unconfirmed by ADP). Ask ADP to model both structures against your actual payroll before comparing quotes.

Best for: Companies that already trust the ADP brand and want a percentage-of-payroll structure that scales down automatically in a slow month.


4. Insperity: High-Touch PEO for Companies That Can Pay a Premium

Insperity is one of the oldest full-service PEOs in the country, and it leans into a high-touch model: a five-employee minimum, a dedicated HR team per account, and a new HRScale tier, launched in partnership with Workday in February 2026, for companies that want PEO-level support layered on enterprise HCM technology. Insperity PEO HR, Inc. and Insperity PEO Services, L.P. are both IRS-certified CPEOs.

Pros Cons
Long operating history and dedicated HR support per client No published pricing anywhere
IRS-certified CPEO Reported costs run higher than most PEOs on this list
New HRScale tier pairs PEO support with Workday HCM Five-employee minimum excludes the smallest teams
Strong benefits negotiating power from a large combined pool Onboarding fees can add $500 to $2,000 upfront (reported)

Pricing: Quote-only. Third-party estimates (including business.com's and Ignition Benefits's 2026 Insperity pricing guides) put Insperity in the $150 to $210 per employee per month range, or roughly 2% to 6% of total payroll once benefits are included (reported; Insperity does not publish a rate). Confirm the current number directly with Insperity.

Best for: Companies of 20 to 200 employees that want a long-tenured, high-touch PEO and can absorb a price above the market median for dedicated support. See best Insperity alternatives if the January 2026 price increase pushed your renewal past what the service is worth to you.


5. Paychex PEO: The Natural Upgrade From Paychex Flex

Paychex PEO is the co-employment product sold alongside the much better-known Paychex Flex payroll platform, and it's the natural next step for a company already running payroll through Paychex that wants benefits and compliance liability handled too. Paychex PEO VI LLC and Paychex PEO VII, LLC are both IRS-certified CPEOs, certified since 2017.

Pros Cons
Same vendor as Paychex Flex payroll, one less integration No published PEO pricing on Paychex's own site
IRS-certified CPEO since 2017 Pricing opacity and hidden-fee complaints carry over from Flex
Broad SMB coverage, including non-desk and multi-location workforces UI feels dated compared to newer PEO platforms
Dedicated payroll specialists rather than a ticket queue Long-term contract terms on some plans

Pricing: Quote-only. Paychex does not publish PEO pricing anywhere on its own site; treat any number from a third-party guide as an estimate, not a confirmed rate, and request a quote against your actual headcount. See best Paychex alternatives if Paychex's payroll-side pricing opacity is already a dealbreaker before you evaluate the PEO.

Best for: Companies already on Paychex Flex that want to add benefits access and compliance liability transfer without switching vendors.


6. Rippling PEO: Co-Employment Bundled Into a Modern HR and IT Platform

Rippling sells PEO as one module inside a much broader HR, IT, and finance platform, the same way it sells payroll, benefits administration, and device management. That's a real advantage if your actual goal is one employee record driving payroll, PEO, IT provisioning, and spend management together.

It's also the one structural gap worth knowing before you sign: Rippling does not appear on the IRS's active CPEO list and carries no ESAC accreditation, so it is not currently an IRS-certified PEO the way Justworks, TriNet, or ADP TotalSource are.

Pros Cons
PEO bundled with payroll, IT, and finance on one employee record Not an IRS-certified CPEO, and not ESAC-accredited
Strong automation across onboarding, offboarding, and device provisioning Pricing isn't published, a sales call is required
Global payroll and EOR options available alongside the US PEO Easy to overbuy modules during the sales process
Modern interface relative to legacy PEO platforms Newer to co-employment than the CPEO-certified names on this list

Pricing: Rippling publishes no pricing at all, PEO included: rippling.com/pricing is a quote request form carrying no dollar figures. Third-party trackers report a core HRIS and Domestic Payroll around $8/employee/month each (reported), with PEO priced separately and quote-based.

Best for: Tech-forward companies of 25 to 500 employees that want PEO unified with IT and finance and are comfortable that Rippling isn't IRS-certified for the co-employment relationship itself. See best Rippling alternatives if the module-based pricing feels harder to forecast than you want.


7. ExtensisHR: Broker-Sold PEO for Established Small Businesses

ExtensisHR has held CPEO status since the program's first certification round in 2017 (its Extensis-named filing entities appear on the IRS's active list), and it sells primarily through insurance and benefits brokers rather than direct self-serve signup. That broker-first model is the point: if your company already works with a benefits broker, ExtensisHR is built to plug into that relationship instead of replacing it.

Pros Cons
IRS-certified CPEO since 2017 Pricing is essentially invisible outside a broker relationship
Built to work alongside an existing broker rather than replace one Less self-serve than Justworks or Gusto
Broad benefits and compliance support for established small businesses No published rate card
Long operating history in the PEO industry Direct sign-up is less common than through a broker channel

Pricing: Quote-only, and typically arranged through a broker rather than a direct online quote. Third-party estimates put typical PEO engagements in this tier in the $40 to $200 PEPM range industry-wide (reported); ask your broker for an ExtensisHR-specific number against your actual headcount.

Best for: Established small and mid-size businesses that already work with a benefits broker and want that relationship to carry into the PEO decision.


8. Sequoia: PEO Built for VC-Backed Tech Companies

Sequoia One PEO has built its reputation specifically inside venture-backed tech companies, where competitive, tech-industry-benchmarked benefits matter more to hiring than in most other sectors. Sequoia One PEO, LLC has held CPEO certification since 2018, and the broader Sequoia platform added AI-assisted benefits renewal and cost-modeling tools in mid-2026 that PEO clients get first.

Pros Cons
IRS-certified CPEO since 2018 Narrower industry focus than a generalist PEO
Deep specialization in tech-company and startup benefits design Less natural fit outside VC-backed or tech-adjacent industries
AI-assisted benefits renewal and cost-modeling tools (2026 rollout) Pricing isn't published
Strong reputation specifically among Silicon Valley-style employers Smaller footprint than the largest generalist PEOs

Pricing: Quote-only. Sequoia does not publish PEO pricing; request a quote against your headcount and benefits goals directly.

Best for: VC-backed and tech-adjacent companies of 20 to 200 employees where competitive, benchmarked benefits are a hiring requirement, not a nice-to-have.


9. CoAdvantage: Generalist, Multi-State PEO

CoAdvantage is a generalist, multi-state PEO built for small businesses without a specific industry focus, and it's one of the more recently certified names on this list: CoAdvantage Resources 85, LLC shows a CPEO effective date of July 1, 2026 on the IRS's active listing, only weeks old at the time of writing.

Pros Cons
Broad multi-state and multi-industry coverage Very recently CPEO-certified, a short track record under this filing entity
Custom pricing structured around headcount and services selected Pricing not published, and third-party estimates vary widely
Bundles admin fees, benefits premiums, and workers' comp into one quote Total year-one spend can exceed a headline admin-fee-only quote
Works with businesses across a wide range of industries Less brand recognition than Justworks, TriNet, or ADP

Pricing: Quote-only. Third-party PEO advisory estimates commonly place CoAdvantage-style engagements around $120 to $180 per employee per month (reported), with service-industry clients carrying higher workers' comp exposure often landing at the top of that range.

Best for: Multi-state small businesses without a specific regulated-industry need that want a generalist PEO beyond the largest four names.


10. Engage PEO: Attorney-Led Compliance PEO

Engage PEO differentiates on legal and compliance oversight: its HR and compliance guidance is attorney-led rather than generalist, which matters most for companies in employment-law-heavy states or industries with frequent HR disputes. Engage PEO, LLC has held CPEO certification since 2017.

Pros Cons
IRS-certified CPEO since 2017 Smaller regional footprint than the largest national PEOs
Attorney-led compliance and HR guidance Pricing not published
Personalized HR support for small to mid-size regulated businesses Less name recognition outside markets it actively serves
Broad service bundle including payroll, benefits, and workers' comp Third-party pricing estimates vary by a wide margin

Pricing: Quote-only. Reported estimates place Engage PEO in roughly the $40 to $160 per employee per month range, or 2% to 12% of payroll depending on structure (reported); confirm directly with Engage.

Best for: Small to mid-size businesses in employment-law-sensitive states that want compliance guidance backed by in-house legal expertise.


11. Amplify PEO: PEO for Teams Under 10 Employees

Amplify PEO is a newer, smaller PEO built to work at headcounts most PEOs consider too small to be economical, including companies under 10 employees. Amplify HR Management, LLC appears on the IRS's active CPEO list with a certification effective date of January 1, 2025.

Pros Cons
Works with very small teams other PEOs price out Per-employee cost runs high at tiny headcounts
IRS-certified CPEO since January 2025 Newer to the certified-PEO market than most names on this list
Straightforward PEPM pricing structure No published rate card
Reasonable fit for a founder's first co-employment purchase Less brand recognition and smaller client base than established PEOs

Pricing: Quote-only. Third-party estimates put Amplify PEO around $100 to $180 per employee per month (reported), with the higher end more common at very small headcounts where fixed costs spread across fewer employees.

Best for: Very small businesses, often under 10 employees, that want PEO-style benefits access despite a headcount most larger PEOs treat as uneconomical.


12. Vensure: Multi-Brand PEO Holding Company

Vensure Employer Solutions is functionally a holding company for a large collection of acquired PEO brands, which means the actual entity handling your account, and its actual pricing structure, depends on which legacy brand you land with. That structure is worth knowing upfront: it's why pricing reports on Vensure vary more than for any other name on this list, and it's why Vensure does not appear under that name on the IRS's active CPEO list. Whichever underlying legal entity ultimately signs your contract may carry its own separate CPEO status, worth confirming in writing before you sign.

Pros Cons
Wide network of PEO brands and services under one parent company Not found under the Vensure name on the IRS's active CPEO list
Can often assemble a package for very small, HR-less businesses Pricing model (flat PEPM vs percentage) varies by which legacy brand handles you
Bundles multi-state compliance, benefits, and workers' comp Harder to evaluate consistently than a single-brand PEO
Global EOR services available alongside domestic PEO Reported EOR pricing runs $600 to $850/employee/month, on the high end for that service

Pricing: Quote-only, and the pricing structure depends on which Vensure-owned brand services your account. Confirm the exact contracting entity and its CPEO certification status directly with Vensure before signing.

Best for: Small businesses under 50 employees without in-house HR that want one PEO conversation to cover multi-state compliance, benefits, and workers' comp, and are comfortable verifying which underlying brand they're actually contracting with.


13. Gusto: Not a PEO, and That's the Point

Gusto belongs on this list for one reason: enough buyers land here comparing it to Justworks or TriNet that the distinction is worth stating plainly. Gusto is payroll software with benefits brokerage attached, not a co-employment PEO. Your company stays the sole legal employer of every worker on Gusto; Gusto processes pay and helps you shop for a group health plan, but it never becomes a joint employer, never carries workers' comp risk on your behalf, and doesn't appear on the IRS's CPEO list because it isn't applying to be one.

Pros Cons
Fully published, transparent pricing Not a PEO: no co-employment, no shared compliance liability
No co-employment complexity to exit later Benefits access reflects your own company's group size, not a pooled PEO rate
Familiar, easy self-serve setup for a first payroll Workers' comp stays entirely your own company's policy and risk
Genuinely good fit if you don't want or need co-employment Won't solve the "small-group insurance rates are bad" problem a PEO solves

Pricing: Simple $49/month base plus $6/employee/month. Plus $80/month base plus $12/employee/month. Premium is quote-only. Per Gusto's own pricing page.

Best for: Companies that want payroll and benefits shopping help but have decided against co-employment, or that already have solid group benefits and don't need a PEO's master plan. See best Gusto alternatives if you're comparing Gusto against a bigger payroll platform rather than against a PEO.


14. Deel PEO: US Co-Employment Alongside Global EOR

Deel's US PEO product exists mainly to let a company that already uses Deel for international contractors or Employer of Record coverage add domestic US co-employment without switching platforms. That's a real advantage for a distributed company managing global and domestic headcount in one place, but Deel's US PEO does not appear under that name on the IRS's active CPEO list, worth confirming directly if IRS certification specifically is a requirement for your company.

Pros Cons
One platform for US PEO, global EOR, and contractor management Not found on the IRS's active CPEO list under the Deel name
Published, transparent per-employee pricing Primarily built for companies with international headcount already on Deel
Fast to add domestic co-employment alongside existing Deel global hires Less specialized in US-only compliance than a dedicated domestic PEO
Backed by Deel's broader global payments and compliance infrastructure US PEO is a smaller part of Deel's business than its EOR product

Pricing: US PEO $125/employee/month. Global EOR from $599/employee/month. Contractor management $49/contractor/month. All figures per Deel's own pricing page.

Best for: Companies that already run international contractors or EOR hires through Deel and want US domestic co-employment on the same platform. See Deel vs Remote if you're weighing Deel against its closest global competitor first.


15. Remote PEO: The Lower-Priced Alternative to Deel's US PEO

Remote is Deel's closest direct competitor in global EOR, and it entered the US PEO market with the same single-platform pitch: domestic co-employment alongside the international Employer of Record coverage Remote is better known for. Remote's PEO doesn't appear under the Remote name on the IRS's active CPEO list either, the same caveat that applies to Deel's PEO product.

Pros Cons
Lower published PEO starting price than Deel Not found on the IRS's active CPEO list under the Remote name
One platform for US PEO and global EOR/contractor management Newer entrant to the US PEO market than Deel
Published, transparent pricing Smaller US domestic PEO track record than dedicated US-only PEOs
Useful if you're already comparing Remote's EOR for international hires US PEO is a smaller focus than Remote's core global EOR business

Pricing: PEO from $99/employee/month. Employer of Record $699/employee/month. Global Payroll $29/employee/month. Contractor Management $29/contractor/month. All figures per Remote's own pricing page.

Best for: Companies already evaluating Remote for international EOR that want to compare its newer US PEO option before defaulting to Deel. See the guide to choosing global payroll software before committing to either platform for international headcount.


CPEO Certification Status: Who's Actually IRS-Certified

Checked directly against the IRS's own active CPEO public listing (report date August 7, 2026). Certification status can change quarterly, so confirm current status directly with any vendor before signing.

PEO IRS-Certified CPEO? Certified Since What That Means for You
Justworks Yes 2017 Wage bases carry over cleanly if you switch or leave mid-year
TriNet Yes 2018 Same wage-base protection, plus confirmed flat PEPM billing
ADP TotalSource Yes 2017 Wage-base protection under a percentage-of-payroll billing model
Insperity Yes 2017 Wage-base protection across a long operating history
Paychex PEO Yes 2017 Wage-base protection under the same vendor as Paychex Flex
ExtensisHR Yes 2017 Wage-base protection, typically arranged through a broker
Sequoia Yes 2018 Wage-base protection for VC-backed and tech-focused clients
Engage PEO Yes 2017 Wage-base protection plus attorney-led compliance oversight
CoAdvantage Yes July 2026 Wage-base protection, but a short certification track record
Amplify PEO Yes 2025 Wage-base protection at very small headcounts
Rippling PEO Not on the IRS's active list n/a No confirmed successor-employer wage-base protection; verify directly
Vensure Not found under this name n/a Confirm which underlying legal entity signs your contract, and its status
Deel PEO Not found under this name n/a Confirm certification status of the underwriting entity directly
Remote PEO Not found under this name n/a Confirm certification status of the underwriting entity directly
Gusto Not applicable n/a Not a PEO; co-employment and CPEO status don't apply

Source: IRS CPEO Public Listings.


Stage Fit Matrix

PEO Startup (5-20) Growth (20-50) Established SMB (50-200) Larger (200+)
Justworks Strong fit Strong fit Possible -
TriNet Possible Strong fit Strong fit Possible
ADP TotalSource Possible Strong fit Strong fit Possible
Insperity - Strong fit Strong fit Possible
Paychex PEO Possible Strong fit Strong fit Possible
Rippling PEO Possible Strong fit Strong fit Possible
ExtensisHR Possible Strong fit Strong fit -
Sequoia Strong fit (VC-backed) Strong fit Possible -
CoAdvantage Strong fit Strong fit Possible -
Engage PEO Possible Strong fit Possible -
Amplify PEO Strong fit (under 10) Possible - -
Vensure Strong fit Possible - -
Gusto (not a PEO) Strong fit Strong fit Possible -
Deel PEO Possible Strong fit Strong fit Strong fit
Remote PEO Possible Strong fit Strong fit Strong fit

Sizing and Persona Table

PEO Ideal Team Size Primary Buyer
Justworks 5-100 employees Founder, operations lead
TriNet 10-200 employees, regulated industries HR director, general counsel
ADP TotalSource 10-200 employees CFO, office manager
Insperity 20-200 employees (5-employee minimum) Head of HR, COO
Paychex PEO 5-300 employees Existing Paychex Flex customers
Rippling PEO 25-500 employees Head of People, IT director
ExtensisHR 20-200 employees HR director, benefits broker
Sequoia 20-200 employees, VC-backed Head of People, founder
CoAdvantage 10-150 employees, multi-state Office manager, HR generalist
Engage PEO 10-150 employees HR director, general counsel
Amplify PEO 1-25 employees Founder
Vensure 5-50 employees Founder, office manager
Gusto (not a PEO) 1-100 employees Founder, bookkeeper
Deel PEO 5-500+ employees, global People ops lead, CFO
Remote PEO 5-500+ employees, global People ops lead, CFO

True Cost Example: A PEO for 25 Employees

Numbers below assume a 25-employee US team with an illustrative $65,000 average annual salary (about $5,417/month per employee). Justworks is vendor-published and fully calculated. The quote-only rows are shown as "not disclosed" rather than an invented figure, with the reported range noted separately for planning purposes only.

PEO Monthly Estimate Annual Estimate Basis
Justworks (PEO Basic) 25 x $79 = $1,975 ~$23,700 Vendor-published, platform fee only, before any additional benefits premium
Justworks (PEO Plus) 25 x $124 = $3,100 ~$37,200 Vendor-published, adds Justworks-administered health insurance
ADP TotalSource (illustrative, 4% of payroll) 4% x ($5,417 x 25) = ~$5,417 ~$65,000 Illustrative only: applies a reported mid-range percentage to a hypothetical average salary. ADP does not publish a rate; this shows the calculation method, not a quote
TriNet Not disclosed Not disclosed Confirmed flat PEPM billing, but no published rate. Request a quote against this same scenario
Insperity Not disclosed (reported ~$150-210/employee/mo) Not disclosed Reported estimate only; Insperity does not publish a rate

The Justworks rows are the only fully vendor-confirmed numbers in this table, which is exactly the point: a PEO's real cost depends on its published rate card if it has one, or an actual quote against your specific headcount and average pay if it doesn't. Resist averaging the reported ranges above into a single "PEO costs about X" number, since a percentage-of-payroll quote and a flat-PEPM quote respond completely differently to a raise, a bonus cycle, or a new hire at a different salary band than your team's average.


Decision Framework

If you need... Pick... Why
The simplest possible PEO buying process, no sales call Justworks Fully published per-employee pricing
Compliance depth for a regulated industry TriNet Industry-specific HR and legal guidance
A percentage-of-payroll model from a household brand ADP TotalSource Confirmed percentage-of-payroll structure, decades of infrastructure
High-touch, dedicated HR support, and you can absorb a premium Insperity Long-tenured full-service model, new Workday-backed tier
To stay inside your existing Paychex relationship Paychex PEO Same vendor as Paychex Flex payroll
PEO bundled with a modern HRIS, IT, and finance platform Rippling PEO Single employee record across HR, IT, and PEO (not CPEO-certified)
Benefits access competitive with VC-backed tech peers Sequoia Deep specialization in startup and tech-company benefits
A generalist, multi-state PEO outside the largest four names CoAdvantage Broad industry and state coverage
Domestic PEO plus global EOR on one platform Deel or Remote Same login for US co-employment and international hiring
Payroll and benefits shopping without co-employment Gusto Transparent pricing, no shared liability, no PEO complexity

Frequently Asked Questions about PEO Services for Small Business

What is a PEO and how is it different from payroll software?

A PEO (Professional Employer Organization) co-employs your workforce, becoming a joint employer for tax filing, benefits, and workers' comp purposes while you keep control of hiring and day-to-day management. Payroll software like Gusto or QuickBooks Payroll just processes pay and files taxes for employees who remain solely your legal employees, with no shared liability and no pooled benefits access.

How much does a PEO cost for a small business?

Pricing runs one of two ways: a flat per-employee-per-month fee, commonly reported from around $79 up to $200 or more depending on the provider and benefits included, or a percentage of total payroll, commonly reported at 2% to 12%. Justworks is the only major PEO on this list with fully published pricing, at $79/employee/month for PEO Basic; most others are quote-only.

What's the difference between a PEO and an ASO?

A PEO co-employs your staff and shares compliance liability with you in exchange for access to its master benefits and workers' comp plans. An ASO (Administrative Services Organization) provides the same payroll and HR administration without co-employment, so you stay the sole legal employer and don't get access to the PEO's pooled group rates.

What does IRS CPEO certification actually protect me from?

A CPEO has met IRS bonding, financial reporting, and tax compliance requirements checked quarterly, and it earns "successor employer" status for FICA and FUTA taxes. That means if you join or leave a CPEO mid-year, your employees' wage bases carry over instead of restarting at zero, avoiding the risk of double-paying Social Security tax on the same wages up to the annual cap.

What happens to my employees' health insurance if I leave a PEO?

Coverage under the PEO's master plan typically ends on a fixed date, often the last day of the month you leave, and every enrolled employee is offered COBRA continuation rather than automatic enrollment in whatever plan you set up next. Line up your next benefits provider before your PEO exit date to avoid a coverage gap.

Is Gusto a PEO?

No. Gusto is payroll software with benefits brokerage attached. Your company stays the sole legal employer of everyone on Gusto, and Gusto doesn't share workers' comp risk, doesn't pool you into a master benefits plan, and isn't IRS CPEO-certified because it isn't applying to be one.

Is a PEO cheaper than hiring an in-house HR person?

It depends on your headcount and what you're buying. At 25 employees, a published-price PEO like Justworks runs roughly $23,700 to $37,200 a year in platform fees alone, before benefits premiums, usually less than a full-time HR hire's salary and benefits. But you're buying software plus liability transfer plus benefits access, not a dedicated internal advocate, so the two aren't a like-for-like swap.

Can a company leave a PEO mid-year without a tax penalty?

With an IRS-certified CPEO, yes, wage bases carry over cleanly under the CPEO's successor-employer status. With a non-certified PEO, a mid-year exit can trigger a wage base restart, risking double-withheld Social Security tax on the same employee up to the year's wage base cap ($176,100 for 2026).


What to Do Next

Name your actual reason for shopping a PEO before you take a single sales call. If it's benefits access for a team under 100 people, get quotes from Justworks and one quote-only competitor, TriNet or Insperity, and compare the published Justworks number against what the other two quote for your exact headcount. If it's a regulated industry, start with TriNet or Engage PEO instead. If you're not sure you want co-employment at all, read the PEO vs ASO table again before any call, since that single decision determines which of the 15 providers above are even the right conversation to have.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.