Prophix vs Datarails vs Planful: Which FP&A Platform Fits Your Team in 2026?
Turn this article into takeaways for your work.
Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.
Updated August 2026
These three show up on the same shortlist constantly, and for good reason: all three sit in the mid-market band between a spreadsheet with some macros and a full enterprise connected-planning buildout. But the question that actually separates them isn't which one has more features. It's how much change your finance team can absorb this year, and how much of that change happens inside a tool everyone already knows versus a new one they have to learn from scratch.
Datarails answers that question by refusing to ask for much change at all. The model stays in Excel, full stop, and Datarails works underneath it. Planful goes the other direction: it's a real cloud planning and close platform with its own interface, its own implementation project, and a partner ecosystem built to run that project for you. Prophix sits between the two, close enough to Planful's unified planning-plus-consolidation scope to be a real Financial Performance Management platform, but sold and implemented at a scale that doesn't demand Planful's full commitment. This comparison works through that spine specifically: not a feature checklist, but which one your team can actually absorb, and what each one costs to find out.
TL;DR
| Datarails | Prophix | Planful | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it actually is | FinanceOS, a governed data and AI layer sitting under an unchanged Excel model | Prophix One, a unified planning, budgeting, forecasting, reporting, and consolidation platform | A Financial Performance Management platform combining planning, close, consolidation, and reporting |
| How much change it asks for | The least. Your model stays in Excel; nothing new to learn | Moderate. A new interface, but scoped and sold for mid-market teams | The most. A real implementation project with its own methodology |
| Named pricing tiers | Yes: FP&A Professional (2 users, 1 integration), Premium (5 users, 2 integrations), Expert (15 users, 3 integrations) | None published anywhere | None published anywhere, not even tier names |
| Published dollar figures | None on any tier | None; "Book a call" only | None; pricing page returns a 404 as of this writing |
| Consolidation / close | Bolt-on: one optional add-on slot on the top Expert tier only, competing with Cash Management and Spend Control | Included in the core platform alongside planning, with multi-currency and multi-GAAP support | Included in the core platform alongside planning; the vendor's original differentiator since its Host Analytics days |
| Implementation partner needed | No. "Zero Code or IT required," per Datarails' own site | Not clearly required; sold and implemented through Prophix directly, with a certified partner network for ERP data connectors specifically | Typically yes. Sold through a "well-developed" implementation partner ecosystem |
| Reported implementation time | 4 to 6 weeks, per Datarails' own site | Reported 8 weeks to roughly 4 months depending on scope (G2 buyer data, reported) | Reported 8 to 14 weeks for mid-market scope, sometimes extending toward 4 months (reported) |
| Reported median annual contract (Vendr) | $33,300/year | No tracked median; Vendr has only a single buyer note on Prophix, not a full pricing page | $42,403/year, based on 68 tracked purchases |
| Customer base | 2,000+ companies, per Datarails' own site | 3,000+ customers, per Prophix's own site | 1,500+ companies, including Etsy, Five Guys, and Del Monte, per Planful's own site |
Key Facts
- Datarails' own pricing page lists three named tiers by seat and integration count only, FP&A Professional (2 users, 1 integration), Premium (5 users, 2 integrations), and Expert (15 users, 3 integrations), with no dollar figures on any of them, verified directly against datarails.com/pricing in August 2026.
- Prophix's own pricing page carries general educational content about how Financial Performance Management pricing works as a category, plus a "Book a call" button, but publishes no Prophix-specific tiers or figures, verified against prophix.com/pricing in August 2026.
- Planful's pricing URL returns a 404 as of this writing; the vendor's homepage states it is "Trusted by 1500+ companies" but offers no pricing link, verified against planful.com in August 2026.
- Vendr, a SaaS pricing intelligence firm, tracks Datarails at a median annual contract of $33,300 (range $16,231 to $62,037) and Planful at a median of $42,403 across 68 tracked purchases (range $19,632 to $70,746, average buyer savings 15.44%). Its Prophix page carries no comparable median or range, only a single anonymized buyer note describing a 12% discount and a year-over-year escalator brought down to 5% (Vendr: Datarails, Vendr: Planful, Vendr: Prophix).
- Hg Capital took a majority investment in Prophix in January 2021, a deal Prophix itself describes as intended "to continue to scale the business and invest further in product and technology" (Prophix news). Planful, formerly Host Analytics, has been owned by private equity firm Vector Capital since a deal reported in December 2018; Vector's own site lists the investment as active today and confirms the company was "formerly Host Analytics" (Vector Capital: Planful).
- 96% of FP&A professionals still use spreadsheets for planning at least weekly, even at organizations that already run a dedicated planning platform, per the AFP's 2025 FP&A Benchmarking Survey of 362 practitioners (AFP). That's the entire argument for Datarails' approach in one number.
- 50% of finance teams take 6 or more business days to close the books, and 27% take more than a week, per Ledge's 2025 month-end close benchmarking study of 100 finance professionals, reported by CFO.com (CFO.com). Close speed, not just budgeting, is the other half of what Prophix and Planful are actually selling.
What Each Tool Is Actually Built For
Start with the honest premise each vendor is selling, because it explains everything downstream, from pricing structure to implementation length.
Datarails' entire pitch, repositioned hard in March 2026 under the FinanceOS name, is that the spreadsheet should never leave. "100% Excel-native: your models, unchanged," is the claim on its own product page, and the platform's job is to consolidate data from connected systems, govern it, and hand it back into the workbook your team already builds in. The March 2026 shift added a FinanceOS AI Connector that routes that governed data out to Claude, ChatGPT, and Microsoft Copilot directly, alongside three named agents: a Strategy Agent for bigger trade-offs, a Reporting Agent that drafts the variance narrative behind a number (its Storyboards feature), and a Planning Agent for fast, ad hoc forecasting. None of that changes the core bet: the interface is still Excel.
Prophix One takes the opposite starting position but stops short of Planful's full scope. It's a unified platform, planning, budgeting, forecasting, reporting, and consolidation together, with multi-currency and multi-GAAP support built in rather than bolted on. Its AI has moved fast in 2026: a first wave added a Budgeting Agent that updates headcount, salary, and OPEX line items from plain-language instructions, and a Reporting Agent that turns questions into tables, charts, and variance commentary. A Spring 2026 release then shipped Prophix Copilot for Microsoft Teams and an Architect Agent, which turns raw customer data into a validated, ready-to-review model in hours instead of weeks, to every Prophix One customer immediately. A Consolidation Agent, natural-language querying over Audit Trail data to surface group totals and unusual balances, was targeted for general availability in late Q2 2026, though only for Financial Consolidation customers specifically, not the full base (Prophix news). Every one of those agents ships inside the standard subscription, not as a separate paid module.
Planful earns the Financial Performance Management label honestly. Planning, close, consolidation, and reporting have lived in one system since its days as Host Analytics, long before the 2018 rebrand, and the vendor counts more than 1,500 customers today, including Etsy, Five Guys, and Del Monte. Its AI story runs in two layers: Predict, a separate paid add-on with Signals (continuous anomaly detection) and Projections (proprietary ML baseline forecasting), and a newer Planner Assistant, which reached general availability in April 2026 as a conversational interface for scenario modeling and natural-language forecasting. Unlike Prophix's bundled agents, Predict is priced and sold on top of the core platform, not folded into it.
| Datarails | Prophix | Planful | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core interface | Excel, unchanged | Prophix's own web application | Planful's own web application |
| Planning | Yes, synced into Excel templates | Yes, native to the platform | Yes, native to the platform |
| Consolidation and close | Add-on only, one slot on the top tier | Included, with multi-currency and multi-GAAP support | Included, the platform's original strength |
| AI agents | Strategy, Reporting, and Planning Agents, plus a FinanceOS AI Connector to outside AI tools | Budgeting and Reporting Agents, plus Architect Agent and Copilot for Teams bundled standard; Consolidation Agent rolling out to Financial Consolidation customers | Predict (Signals plus Projections) as a separate paid module, plus Planner Assistant (GA April 2026) |
| Where AI capability sits in the contract | Included on every published tier | Included in the standard Prophix One subscription | Predict is priced separately from the base platform |
| Customer base (vendor-stated) | 2,000+ companies | 3,000+ customers | 1,500+ companies |
If forecast accuracy and how far each vendor's AI actually goes matters more to your evaluation than the planning-versus-close question, best AI agents for FP&A breaks all three agent lineups down against a much stricter agentic bar, including which claims are independently verifiable and which are still vendor-reported.
Decision by Business Goal
| Your actual goal | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Get a first FP&A tool live before next quarter's close, with no partner call required | Datarails | "Zero Code or IT required" and a reported 4 to 6 week average time to go live, per the vendor's own site |
| Keep AI agent capability inside the base contract, not a separate line item | Prophix | Budgeting, Reporting, Architect Agent, and Copilot for Teams all ship standard; no equivalent to Planful's paid Predict add-on |
| Consolidate planning and statutory close under one system from day one | Prophix or Planful | Both build consolidation into the core platform; Datarails only offers it as one optional add-on slot on its top tier |
| Negotiate against a real published structure instead of a blank contact-sales page | Datarails | The only one of the three with named tiers, seat counts, and integration counts published anywhere |
| Buy from the vendor with the most standardized, third-party-verifiable pricing data | Planful | Vendr tracks 68 separate purchases with a median and range; Prophix has no equivalent tracked page |
| Minimize how much your team's daily workflow changes this year | Datarails | The model never leaves Excel; there's no new interface to train anyone on |
| Accept a longer, partner-led rollout in exchange for the most established close-and-consolidation track record | Planful | Sold through a mature partner network, with a proven multi-year FPM history dating to its Host Analytics roots |
Whichever goal is driving the search, it's worth reading that goal against your actual headcount and complexity, not just your appetite for change. The best FP&A software roundup and best budgeting and forecasting software guide both size the wider field if none of these three turns out to be the right shape.
Team and Role Fit
| Team | Datarails | Prophix | Planful |
|---|---|---|---|
| FP&A / Finance | Builds and owns the model directly inside Excel, with Datarails governing the data behind it | Builds inside Prophix's own planning interface, with AI agents drafting first-pass budgets and reports | Builds inside Planful's own interface, supported by a structured implementation methodology |
| Controller / Close | No native consolidation below the top Expert tier; Month-End Close is one optional add-on choice there | Consolidation is native, with a Consolidation Agent rolling out for natural-language audit-trail queries | Consolidation is native and has been the platform's core strength since its Host Analytics era |
| IT / Systems | Minimal involvement; the vendor states no code or IT is required for a first deployment | Not required for a first deployment; a Strategic Integration Partner network exists for certified ERP data connectors specifically | Typically involved through the implementation partner managing the rollout |
| Executive / Board | Fast time-to-value with minimal disruption, suited to a lean or early-stage finance function | A single vendor relationship covering planning and close, without an enterprise-length commitment | A governed, proven, multi-year FPM platform, suited to a board that wants established vendor risk over startup risk |
| Finance systems owner | Owns a lighter stack: fewer named modules, but a real ceiling once integrations exceed the top tier's 3-integration cap | Owns a single mid-market FPM contract without Planful's implementation weight | Owns a bigger, more structured program, with more moving parts to manage across FP&A, consolidation, reporting, and analytics modules |
Pricing at Real Team Sizes
None of the three publishes a rate card, and that alone tells you something different about each of them. Datarails at least tells you the shape of what you're buying before a sales call: three named tiers, capped at 2, 5, and 15 users, with 1, 2, and 3 integrations respectively. A team of 10 people already exceeds Premium and needs Expert, the top tier, and a team of 25 is already past every published tier and into a custom conversation regardless of what any tier is named. Prophix and Planful don't give you even that much. Neither publishes a tier name, a seat count, or a scaling rule anywhere on its site; Planful's quote is scoped to a platform fee plus per-user licenses plus which modules you deploy, since FP&A, consolidation, reporting, and analytics are priced as separate components, and Prophix's own pricing page is entirely educational content pointed at a "Book a call" button.
| What to ask about | Datarails | Prophix | Planful |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published price | None on any tier | None; educational content only | None; pricing page 404s |
| What sets the tier | Named seat and integration caps (2/1, 5/2, 15/3) | Not published; scales by users and modules in a custom quote | Not published; platform fee plus per-user licenses plus which modules (FP&A, consolidation, reporting, analytics) are in scope |
| Structure at 10 seats | Already past Premium (5 users); Expert tier required | No published structure to check against | No published structure to check against |
| Structure at 25 seats | Already past every named tier; fully custom | No published structure to check against | No published structure to check against |
| Structure at 100 seats | Fully custom, well beyond the named tiers | No published structure to check against | No published structure to check against |
| Consolidation module cost | Bundled as Expert's one optional extra, competing with Cash Management and Spend Control for that slot | Included in the base contract | Included in the base contract |
Vendr's tracked data is the closest thing to an independent signal here, and the gap between the three is as informative as the numbers themselves. Vendr tracks Datarails at a median annual contract of $33,300 (range $16,231 to $62,037) and Planful at a median of $42,403 across 68 separate tracked purchases (range $19,632 to $70,746, buyers averaging 15.44% off the initial quote). Prophix has no equivalent page, just a single anonymized buyer note (a 201-to-1,000-employee company reporting a 12% discount and a year-over-year escalator negotiated down to 5%), with no tracked median or range at all. Datarails and Planful both get bought often enough, in a standardized enough way, for a pricing intelligence firm to build a real dataset around them. Prophix's contracts read as more bespoke and relationship-led, consistent with its "Book a call" sales motion.
| Reported benchmark (Vendr) | Datarails | Prophix | Planful |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median annual contract | $33,300 | Not tracked as a median | $42,403 |
| Range | $16,231 to $62,037 | Not tracked as a range | $19,632 to $70,746 |
| Sample size | Not disclosed as a count | A single buyer note, not a dataset | 68 tracked purchases |
| Average discount off initial quote | Not disclosed | 12% in the one available note | 15.44% |
| What it suggests | A mid-sized, fairly standardized market | A more bespoke, relationship-driven sales process | The most standardized, most heavily tracked market of the three |
Implementation and Change Management
This is where the "how much change can we absorb" question actually gets answered, and it's the most honest axis to compare three vendors that all refuse to publish a price.
Datarails states plainly on its own site: "4-6 wks Average time to go live" and "Zero Code or IT required." There's no certified partner in the loop by design; the whole architecture is built so a finance team can connect its own data sources and start working in the Excel templates it already has. That claim is worth testing against your own data source count in a real conversation, since "weeks" for one department's model is a different commitment than "weeks" for a fully governed, multi-entity rollout, but the underlying design choice, no separate implementation partner, no new interface, is real and checkable against the product itself.
Prophix doesn't publish an implementation timeline. Its own site focuses on a Strategic Integration Partner network for certified, pre-built ERP connectors (Acumatica, Deltek, Microsoft Dynamics, Sage, and others), not a systems-integrator-led deployment process (prophix.com/strategic-integration-partners). Aggregated buyer reviews suggest a wide range: some organizations report going live in as little as 8 weeks, with an average closer to 4 months, per buyer-submitted implementation data on Prophix's G2 review page, a figure Prophix itself does not publish. Treat it as a starting point to verify in your own scoping call, not a number to build a board deck around.
Planful's rollout is the most structured of the three, and it's sold that way. The vendor works through a partner ecosystem; Top Down CPM, a named Planful implementation partner, describes its process as 7 to 10 day Implementation Sprints, with most clients "producing some production level reporting out of Planful within 30 days of kickoff," followed by recurring 90-day Value Sprints meant to keep expanding ROI after go-live, though the same partner calls a "typical engagement" roughly 4 months start to finish (topdowncpm.com). Other reported mid-market estimates land at 8 to 14 weeks. Either way, the pattern is consistent: first reporting comes fast, full deployment takes longer, and a partner runs it. One detail worth being precise about: Planful's own homepage states integrations can be "up and running in hours," but that describes connecting a single data source, not implementing the whole platform, and shouldn't be read as a contradiction of the longer rollout timeline above.
| Implementation factor | Datarails | Prophix | Planful |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published time-to-value claim | "4-6 wks Average time to go live" | Not published by the vendor | Not published by the vendor as a single figure |
| Partner required | No, per the vendor's own site | Not explicitly required; a certified partner network exists for ERP data connectors specifically | Typically yes, through a named implementation partner ecosystem |
| Reported time to value | 4 to 6 weeks (vendor-stated) | 8 weeks to roughly 4 months (reported, buyer-review aggregated) | 8 to 14 weeks for mid-market scope, sometimes toward 4 months (reported) |
| What drives the timeline | Number of connected data sources | Scope of modules and data sources; account-managed rather than partner-managed | Which modules are in scope (FP&A, consolidation, reporting, analytics) and partner availability |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published | Not published; no evidence of one on the vendor's site |
| What to verify before signing | Whether "weeks" holds once your full source-system list is in scope | Whether the reported range reflects your actual module and entity count, not a single-department demo | Whether your quote includes just planning or the full FP&A-plus-consolidation-plus-reporting scope |
Risk and Governance
| Governance factor | Datarails | Prophix | Planful |
|---|---|---|---|
| Where the model of record lives | Your own Excel workbook, governed by Datarails' data layer | Prophix's own hosted application | Planful's own hosted application |
| Vendor lock-in | Low; the spreadsheet itself is portable even if you leave Datarails | Moderate; the model logic lives inside Prophix's platform | Moderate to high, particularly once consolidation and close processes are built around Planful's structure |
| Ownership | Independently operated | Majority-owned by Hg Capital since January 2021 | Owned by Vector Capital since a deal reported in December 2018; listed as an active investment on Vector's own site |
| AI data governance | FinanceOS AI Connector explicitly routes governed data out to external tools (Claude, ChatGPT, Copilot) | AI agents operate inside Prophix's platform; Consolidation Agent access is scoped to Financial Consolidation customers specifically | Predict and Planner Assistant operate inside Planful's platform, as a licensed module and a newer assistant respectively |
| Single point of failure | Low; any finance analyst can open the underlying spreadsheet directly | Moderate; depends on the trained platform administrator and Prophix's account team | Moderate; depends on the trained platform administrator and the implementation partner relationship |
| Board and audit expectations | Fine for a lean or early-stage finance function; audit trail is layered on top of Excel rather than native to a governed database | Built for a company that wants consolidation-grade controls without enterprise-length procurement | Built for a company that already expects a proven, longer-tenured FPM vendor and governed close process |
When Datarails Is the Right Call
- Your finance team is genuinely Excel-first today, and the real objection to every alternative on this list is "we don't want to learn a new interface."
- You want a working model in weeks, with no certified implementation partner and no separate systems-integrator relationship to manage.
- Your team is small enough, roughly 2 to 15 named users, to fit inside Datarails' published tier structure without immediately needing a custom conversation.
- You'd rather negotiate against a published tier structure, even without dollar figures, than start from a completely blank "contact sales" page.
If Datarails' seat and integration caps are the actual complaint, not Excel itself, the best Datarails alternatives roundup covers the wider field, and Cube vs Datarails and Vena vs Datarails both work through the other two Excel-native options head to head.
When Prophix Is the Right Call
- You want planning and consolidation genuinely unified in one contract, with multi-currency and multi-GAAP support, without Planful's full implementation weight.
- AI agent capability matters to your evaluation, and you'd rather it ship inside your standard subscription than get sold to you as a separate paid module later.
- Your company has outgrown a purely Excel-native tool but isn't ready to run a partner-led, multi-month implementation project.
- A backing PE firm actively reinvesting in product and technology is a feature, not a risk, for your procurement process.
If Prophix's lack of published pricing structure is the sticking point, it's worth comparing it directly against Planful's equally opaque pricing but more established consolidation track record, and against Datarails' at least-published tier shape, using the tables above before booking a call with either.
When Planful Is the Right Call
- Planning, close, consolidation, and reporting genuinely need to live under one proven, longer-tenured vendor relationship, not a newer or lighter-weight platform.
- You want the most third-party-verifiable pricing signal of the three; Vendr's 68 tracked purchases is real market data to anchor a negotiation against, something neither Prophix nor, to the same degree, Datarails offers.
- You're prepared to work through a certified implementation partner and a structured, multi-sprint rollout in exchange for a mature, well-referenced deployment methodology.
- A longer implementation timeline, reported at 8 to 14 weeks and sometimes toward 4 months, is an acceptable trade for closing on the most established combined planning-and-close platform of the three.
If Planful's lack of a free trial and published pricing feels like too much risk to commit to without hands-on testing first, it's worth checking best Planful alternatives for the wider field, including at least one platform in that guide that does publish a free trial.
Decision Framework
| If this is true for you | Pick |
|---|---|
| Your team is Excel-first and wants the least possible change to daily workflow | Datarails |
| You need planning and consolidation unified without a partner-led, multi-month project | Prophix |
| You want AI agents bundled into the base contract, not sold as an add-on later | Prophix |
| You want the most third-party-verifiable pricing data to negotiate against | Planful |
| Your company needs a proven, longer-tenured combined planning-and-close vendor | Planful |
| You have 2 to 15 named users and want a published tier structure to reason about | Datarails |
| You're prepared for a certified-partner-led rollout in exchange for the deepest close and consolidation maturity | Planful |
| None of the three's implementation weight or Excel dependency matches your company's actual size | See the best FP&A software roundup for the wider field, including enterprise-scale connected planning platforms |
What to Do Next
- Name your actual constraint before the first demo. Is it "our team won't learn a new interface," "we need consolidation and planning under one contract," or "we need the most proven vendor for a board that doesn't like risk"? Each question eliminates one of these three for most buyers.
- If Datarails is still live, test the seat math against your real headcount. Count how many people need edit access and how many systems need to connect, then check that against the 2/1, 5/2, 15/3 tier structure before assuming Professional or Premium will hold.
- If Prophix or Planful is still live, ask directly who runs the implementation (an internal account team, a certified partner, or both) and get a realistic timeline tied to your actual consolidation and multi-entity scope, not a best-case published figure, since neither vendor publishes one.
- Get a written quote and sanity-check Datarails or Planful against Vendr's reported ranges (roughly $16,200 to $62,000 for Datarails, $19,600 to $70,700 for Planful) so you know whether your number is in line with what similar teams pay.
- Whichever platform you pick, decide who owns the forecast afterward before you sign. A documented forecast governance framework matters more to whether any of these three actually sticks than any row in this comparison. And if your company turns out to be closer to enterprise scale than mid-market, Cube vs Workday Adaptive Planning covers that heavier size decision directly.

Principal Product Marketing Strategist