Best Asset Management Software in 2026: 15 Tools for Tracking, Maintenance and Compliance
Turn this article into takeaways for your work.
Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.
Updated August 2026
The best asset management software in 2026 depends on which of three jobs you're actually buying for. Asset Panda and EZOfficeInventory lead for teams that need a clean asset register: what do we own, who has it, and when does the warranty run out. UpKeep and Limble lead for teams whose real job is keeping the equipment running, with preventive maintenance schedules and technician work orders. And IBM Maximo Application Suite sits at the top for asset-intensive enterprises running the whole lifecycle, reliability, inspection and safety included, under one governed platform. Snipe-IT is the cheapest serious register in the category, because it's free and open source with no cap on users or assets when you self-host it, and Cheqroom does something none of the others do: it bills by admin, not by user, which makes it either the cheapest or the most expensive tool on this list depending on how you read the pricing page.
This guide ranks 15 platforms for operations managers, maintenance managers, COOs, IT managers and finance leads choosing or replacing an asset system, evaluated on register depth, maintenance scheduling, mobile field use, what each vendor actually meters on, and what the software costs once users, items or admins are counted. Every price below was checked against the vendor's own pricing page in August 2026, with monthly versus annual billing stated explicitly, and where a vendor publishes nothing at all, this guide says so instead of dressing a third-party estimate up as a confirmed number.
Key Facts
- Unplanned downtime costs the world's 500 biggest companies about $1.4 trillion a year, 11% of their combined revenue, up from $864 billion in 2019 and 2020, per Siemens' The True Cost of Downtime 2024.
- Preventive maintenance programs eliminate 70% to 75% of equipment breakdowns and cut downtime by 35% to 45%, per the US Department of Energy's Operations & Maintenance Best Practices Guide.
- Industry analyses commonly attributed to Gartner put "ghost assets", items still on the books that are lost, stolen, scrapped or sold, at 15% to 30% of the average company's fixed asset register, per CPCON Group.
- Maintenance-related tasks can consume 20% to 60% of a plant's total operating expenditure, depending on the industry and the asset type, per McKinsey.
- Roughly 70% of plants have implemented a CMMS or EAM system, yet 49% still track maintenance in spreadsheets alongside it, per Sockeye's 2025 maintenance industry statistics review.
Quick Comparison Table
| Tool | Best For | Starting Price | Key Strength | Key Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asset Panda | Field-heavy teams needing configurable mobile barcode and QR tracking | No published price, quote only (7-day free trial) | Highly configurable across many asset types and mobile workflows | No price transparency at all, so budgeting requires a sales call |
| EZOfficeInventory (EZO) | Teams whose headcount grows faster than their asset count | Essentials $40/mo, up to 250 items, unlimited users under fair use | Unlimited users under fair use on every tier | Price climbs with item count, and the billing cycle isn't published |
| Snipe-IT | Cost-sensitive IT and ops teams willing to self-host | Free self-hosted, unlimited users and assets; Cloud Basic $39.99/mo | Genuinely free forever when self-hosted, no user or asset cap | Not a CMMS or a network discovery scanner, only tracks what you enter |
| UpKeep | Maintenance teams wanting a mobile-first CMMS | Essential $24/user/mo (no free plan) | Clean mobile work order experience built for technicians | No free plan despite the reputation, PM scheduling sits on the pricier Premium tier |
| Limble | Reliability teams wanting a configurable, modern CMMS | Standard $28/user/mo (no free plan) | Strong preventive maintenance scheduling and asset hierarchies | No free plan, rates hidden behind a "Calculate my price" tool |
| Rework | Mid-size operators wanting the asset register on the same platform as invoices, work and the customer | Quote on request | Consolidation: assets, work, invoices and CRM on one platform | Not a CMMS, so no PM scheduling, technician work orders or parts inventory |
| MaintainX | Frontline teams wanting a real free CMMS to pilot first | Free (2 procedure work orders); Essential $20/user/mo billed annually | Real free tier plus a genuinely mobile-first work order experience | Free tier's work order and PM caps are tight, unqualified "free" claims are wrong |
| Fiix | Manufacturers wanting unlimited work orders on a free plan | Free (25 active PM schedules); Basic $45/user/mo | Unlimited work orders, assets and service requests even on the free tier | Free tier caps active preventive maintenance schedules at 25 |
| Sortly | Teams doing simple mobile item counting rather than maintenance | Free (100 items, 1 user); Advanced $24/mo promotional | Fastest setup and the best mobile, photo-based organization here | Not a CMMS, no maintenance scheduling or work orders |
| AssetTiger | Small teams wanting a free register with unlimited users on paid tiers | Free for the first 250 assets; $20/mo up to 500 assets | Unlimited users on every paid tier, priced only by asset count | Vendor pricing page blocks automated verification, ladder above 500 assets is reported |
| Reftab | IT and equipment teams wanting a real, permanent free tier | Free Forever (50 assets); Starter $31.25/mo billed annually | Unlimited platform users on every plan, hardware and software bundled | 50-asset free cap is tight for anything beyond a small pilot |
| eMaint | Regulated manufacturers needing validated, audit-ready maintenance | No published price, 3-user minimum | Strong compliance and validation tooling for regulated industries | No published price, and a 3 or 5-user minimum commitment |
| Cheqroom | Equipment and gear-heavy teams that would rather bill by admin than by user | Core $184/admin/mo billed annually | Unlimited non-admin users and items on every tier | Per-admin billing is unusual and easy to misread as expensive |
| Asset Essentials (Brightly, a Siemens company) | Public-sector and facilities teams wanting enterprise-grade maintenance | No published price, quote only | Deep facilities and public-sector maintenance heritage, now backed by Siemens | No price transparency, demo request required |
| IBM Maximo Application Suite | Asset-intensive enterprises running the full lifecycle under governance | No published price, meters on AppPoints | Full enterprise EAM depth: reliability, inspection, monitoring and safety in one suite | Not an SMB purchase, and pricing is hidden inside the customer's own catalog |
The Category Splits Three Ways, and Buying the Wrong One Is Expensive
Before comparing features, work out which of three products you're actually shopping for. Most bad asset management purchases aren't bad software, they're the right software for a different job.
| Category | What it does | Tools in this guide | Buy it if |
|---|---|---|---|
| Asset register | What do we own, who has it, where is it, when does the warranty or lease end, what is it worth on the books | Asset Panda, EZOfficeInventory, Snipe-IT, Sortly, AssetTiger, Reftab, Cheqroom, Rework | You need to know what you own and who has it, not keep it running |
| CMMS | Keep the asset running: preventive maintenance schedules, work orders, technician mobile apps, parts and inventory | UpKeep, Limble, MaintainX, Fiix, eMaint, Asset Essentials | Your core job is scheduling maintenance and dispatching technicians |
| Enterprise EAM | The whole asset lifecycle, reliability, inspection, safety and compliance, under one governed platform | IBM Maximo Application Suite | You run asset-intensive operations at a scale that needs governance, not just tracking |
A facilities team that buys a CMMS pays for preventive maintenance scheduling nobody opens, because they don't run equipment that breaks down on a schedule worth automating. A maintenance team that buys a register discovers in month two that it can't tell a technician what parts a job used or when the next inspection is due, which is the whole reason they were shopping. And an asset-intensive plant that buys either one ends up bolting reliability, inspection and safety workflows onto a tool that was never built to hold them. That gap is exactly what a predictive maintenance strategy is meant to close before you sign a contract, not after.
Read the category row first, the tool list second.
What Each Tool Meters On
The axis that decides your actual bill isn't the plan name, it's what the vendor counts against you as you grow. Get this wrong and a clean demo-day quote turns into a renewal surprise.
| Tool | Meters on | What that means as you grow |
|---|---|---|
| Asset Panda | Users (per third-party trackers, reported) | No published basis at all; treat any per-user figure as an estimate |
| EZOfficeInventory | Tracked items | Adding people, not items, is the one thing that doesn't raise your tier |
| Snipe-IT | Nothing, on self-hosted; support tier and API rate on Cloud | Free self-hosted has zero user or asset caps to outgrow |
| UpKeep | Users | Every technician and reviewer adds a seat |
| Limble | Users | Same basis, per user, across every published tier |
| Rework | Not applicable, packaged annual plans | Headcount growth inside the package doesn't change the invoice |
| MaintainX | Users | The free tier is capped on work orders, not on seats |
| Fiix | Users | The free tier is capped on active PM schedules, not on seats |
| Sortly | Items and users, both capped per tier | Catalog growth and team growth can each push you up a tier |
| AssetTiger | Asset count | Unlimited users on every paid tier, so headcount is free |
| Reftab | Asset count | Unlimited users on every plan, including the free one |
| eMaint | Users, with a 3 or 5-user minimum | Even a 2-person maintenance team pays for 3 seats minimum |
| Cheqroom | Admins | Non-admin users and items are unlimited and free |
| Asset Essentials | Not published | Quote only, meter basis undisclosed |
| IBM Maximo | AppPoints, a credit-based entitlement pool | Priced by capability consumed, not by seat or asset count |
1. Asset Panda: Configurable Barcode and QR Tracking for Mixed Asset Fleets
Asset Panda's whole pitch is configurability. Custom asset types, custom fields, custom workflows, and a mobile app that scans barcodes and QR codes to check assets in and out, log condition and maintenance notes, and track location. That flexibility is why it fits field-heavy operations tracking a mix of asset types, tools, vehicles, IT gear, facilities equipment, that don't map cleanly onto one template.
Pricing is the honest gap. Asset Panda's own pricing page carries no numbers at all, just "Get a Quote" and a sales phone number, with the promise of "a clear, custom quote based on exactly what you need" (per assetpanda.com/pricing, fetched August 2026). It backs that with a 7-day free trial of a fully featured account. Third-party trackers report a wide spread, roughly $10 to $75 per user per month (reported), with one tracker citing a Starter tier at $50 per user per month on a 5-user minimum billed annually (reported). Treat those as estimates, not quotes, and confirm with the vendor before you budget around them. If the missing price rules Asset Panda out on its own, Asset Panda alternatives covers the rest of the register field.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Highly configurable across many mixed asset types | No published price anywhere, quote only |
| Strong mobile barcode and QR scanning workflow | Third-party price estimates vary by 7x, hard to budget from |
| Fits field-heavy operations with varied equipment | No self-serve signup, a sales call is required to see a number |
| 7-day free trial of the full feature set | No stated user or asset cap to compare against competitors |
Pricing: No published price, quote only. 7-day free trial. Third-party trackers report roughly $10 to $75 per user per month (reported). Best for: Field-heavy teams tracking a mix of asset types who need deep configurability and don't mind a sales call for pricing.
2. EZOfficeInventory (EZO): Unlimited Users, Priced by What You Track
EZO covers the core register job well: check-in and check-out, barcode and QR scanning, maintenance reminders, depreciation schedules, custom asset states and a service desk for repair requests. Its distinguishing choice is what it meters. Every tier includes unlimited users under EZO's fair usage policy, and the price instead scales by the number of items you track.
EZO Essentials starts at $40 a month covering up to 250 items, Advanced is $55 a month, Premium is $65 a month, and Custom Enterprise is quote-based. Those figures are published by EZO itself; the marketing pricing page is JS-rendered and doesn't return content to an automated fetch, so this guide sourced them from ezo.io's own blog instead (fetched August 2026). The page doesn't state whether that's billed monthly or annually, so confirm before you sign. EZO also sells a separate EZO CMMS product, but third-party sources disagree sharply on its rate, so this guide won't quote one. For a direct look at how EZO's item-based pricing compares to Asset Panda's unpublished, per-user model, see Asset Panda vs EZOfficeInventory; for the wider field, see EZOfficeInventory alternatives.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Unlimited users under fair use on every tier | Fair usage policy caps what "unlimited" really means |
| Price scales with items, not headcount | Billing cycle (monthly vs annual) isn't published |
| Maintenance reminders and depreciation built in | Marketing pricing page doesn't render for automated checks |
| Repair service desk included | Separate EZO CMMS pricing is unclear and not quotable here |
Pricing: Essentials $40/mo (up to 250 items, unlimited users under fair use), Advanced $55/mo, Premium $65/mo, Custom Enterprise quoted. Billing cycle not stated. Best for: Teams growing headcount faster than asset count, since users are free and items are what you actually pay for.
3. Snipe-IT: Free and Open Source, With No Cap on Users or Assets
Snipe-IT is the open source register in this list, and the claim behind it is current: "Snipe-IT Asset Management is and always will be free" when you self-host it, with unlimited users, unlimited assets and 120 API calls a minute (per snipeitapp.com/pricing, fetched August 2026). For IT and ops teams comfortable running their own instance, that's a complete asset register for the cost of a small server.
If you'd rather not host it yourself, Snipe-IT sells four cloud tiers, and every one of them still carries unlimited users and unlimited assets: Basic at $39.99 a month or $399.99 a year, Small Business at $99.99 a month or $999.99 a year, Dedicated (Small) at $249.99 a month or $2,499.99 a year, and Dedicated Medium and Large at $5,000 and $7,500 a year. The tiers differ on support level, API rate limit and hosting isolation, never on how much you may track, which is unusual enough in this category to say plainly. The honest limitation: it's a register, not a CMMS and not a network discovery scanner, so it only tracks what you enter or import. Snipe-IT alternatives covers the field for teams who want a hosted register without running the open source version themselves.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Free forever, self-hosted, unlimited users and assets | Self-hosting means you own the server and the upgrades |
| Every cloud tier keeps unlimited users and assets too | Not a CMMS, no preventive maintenance scheduling |
| Open source, so no vendor lock-in on the data | Not a network discovery scanner, tracks only what you enter |
| Cloud tiers scale on support and API rate, a rare pricing model | Higher cloud tiers ($5,000 to $7,500/yr) require annual commitment |
Pricing: Self-hosted free forever, unlimited users and assets. Cloud Basic $39.99/mo or $399.99/yr; Small Business $99.99/mo or $999.99/yr; Dedicated Small $249.99/mo or $2,499.99/yr; Dedicated Medium $5,000/yr, Large $7,500/yr. Best for: Cost-sensitive IT and ops teams willing to self-host, or teams that want open source flexibility with a paid support option later.
4. UpKeep: A Mobile-First CMMS, With No Free Plan
UpKeep is built for the technician, not the admin: a mobile app for creating and closing work orders, snapping photos, logging parts used, and getting pushed the next job. That mobile-first design is why maintenance teams shortlist it, and Essential and Premium are its two published tiers.
Essential is $24 per user per month and Premium is $55 per user per month, with Professional and Enterprise both "Request a Quote" (per upkeep.com/pricing, fetched August 2026; the page doesn't state whether those two published rates are billed monthly or annually). Now the correction worth stating plainly, because it's the most common misconception about this vendor: UpKeep has no free plan. The page offers a no-credit-card trial and nothing more, and older listicles still describing an "UpKeep Lite" tier at $20 a user a month, or a free tier, are describing something that no longer exists. Parts and inventory management with costing, PM scheduling, custom checklists and time-and-labor tracking all sit on Premium, not Essential, and mobile offline mode plus the external request portal sit on the quote-only Professional tier. UpKeep alternatives covers the field if the missing free tier or the Premium-gated PM scheduling rules it out.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Genuinely mobile-first work order experience | No free plan, despite a reputation for having one |
| Clean interface technicians adopt quickly | PM scheduling and parts costing sit on the pricier Premium tier |
| Two published tiers make budgeting straightforward | Professional and Enterprise are quote-only |
| Photo and checklist logging built into every work order | Billing cycle (monthly vs annual) isn't stated |
Pricing: Essential $24/user/mo, Premium $55/user/mo. Professional and Enterprise quoted. No free plan. Billing cycle not stated. Best for: Frontline maintenance teams that want a technician-friendly mobile work order app and are ready to pay from day one.
5. Limble: A Configurable, Modern CMMS, Also With No Free Plan
Limble built its reputation on a modern interface and genuine configurability: custom asset hierarchies, PM triggers based on meter readings or calendar schedules, a parts and inventory module, and workflows teams can adjust without a consultant. It's the CMMS reliability teams shortlist when UpKeep feels too rigid for how they actually work.
Limble Standard is $28 per user per month and Premium+ is $69 per user per month, with Enterprise on a custom quote. Limble's own /pricing page hides rates behind a "Calculate my price" tool, but the company publishes these same figures itself on its learn.limble.com cost page (fetched August 2026), which counts as vendor-published even though the marketing page doesn't show numbers directly. Say the reputation trap plainly: Limble has no free plan. Older reviews describing a free "Basic" tier are describing something the company has since removed; it's a free trial only now, no ongoing free tier. The brand itself now lives at limble.com, with limblecmms.com redirecting there.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Modern, configurable interface reliability teams like | No free plan, older "Basic" free tier is gone |
| Meter-based and calendar-based PM triggers | Rates hidden behind a calculator on the main pricing page |
| Custom asset hierarchies without needing a consultant | Premium+ at $69/user/mo adds up fast for larger teams |
| Parts and inventory module included | Enterprise pricing is quote-only |
Pricing: Standard $28/user/mo, Premium+ $69/user/mo, Enterprise quoted. No free plan. Best for: Reliability and maintenance teams wanting a configurable, modern CMMS interface and willing to skip UpKeep's rigidity.
6. Rework: The Asset Register on the Same Platform as the Work, the Invoice and the Customer
Rework's Assets module is live, classed in the product catalog as fixed asset management. Its argument in this category is consolidation, not depth: the asset register, the work that happens against the asset, the invoice, the vendor and the person holding it all live on one platform instead of four tools joined by integrations that break quietly on a Friday. On the same platform sit Inventory, Invoice, Incomes and Bankfeeds on the finance side; Task, Project, Workflow and BPM on the work side; Sales CRM and Lead; the People app (HRIS, timesheets, payroll, ATS); and a unified multi-channel inbox spanning WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram DM, web chat, email and SMS.
Said plainly, because a listicle that oversells is worth less than one that doesn't: Rework's Assets module is a fixed asset register, not a CMMS. Teams whose core job is preventive-maintenance scheduling, technician work orders and mobile maintenance execution should look at UpKeep, Limble, MaintainX, Fiix or eMaint instead. Teams whose core job is barcode-and-QR field scanning at Asset Panda depth, or agent-based IT discovery, should use the purpose-built tools in this list. Rework is also not for solo or single-user buyers.
Rework does not publish a price for the Assets module. It sells packaged annual plans rather than per-user licenses, and Assets is quoted per organization, so see rework.com/pricing for the published product lines or ask for a quote. If the CRM side is the bigger part of your evaluation, best CRM software covers that category, and if maintenance depth is the priority, best field service management software covers work orders and technician dispatch.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Asset register, work, invoicing and CRM on one platform | Not a CMMS: no PM scheduling, work orders or parts inventory |
| Unified multi-channel inbox across WhatsApp, chat, email and SMS | Not Asset Panda-depth barcode and QR field scanning |
| No integration layer between assets and the rest of ops | Pricing is quoted per organization rather than published |
| Packaged annual plans rather than per-user licenses | Built for mid-size teams, not solo or single-user buyers |
Pricing: Quote on request. Best for: Mid-size operators (roughly 10 to 200 people) who want the asset register on the same record as the work, the invoice and the customer, instead of a separate tool joined by integrations. Not ideal for: Teams whose core job is preventive-maintenance scheduling, technician work orders and mobile maintenance execution (look at UpKeep, Limble, MaintainX, Fiix or eMaint), or barcode-and-QR field scanning at Asset Panda depth, or agent-based IT discovery. Not for solo or single-user buyers.
7. MaintainX: A Real Free Tier, With Real Limits
MaintainX built its reputation on being the mobile-first CMMS teams could actually get frontline workers to use: work orders with photos and checklists, procedures, asset and parts tracking, and an interface simple enough that technicians didn't need training on it. The free tier is why it shows up on every shortlist, and it's genuinely real, but it's capped tightly enough that "MaintainX is free" needs its caveat attached every time.
Basic is $0 per user per month, limited to 2 work orders with attached procedures, 2 active repeating work orders, and 1 month of access to Advanced Analytics (per getmaintainx.com/pricing, fetched August 2026, one of the few vendors here that states its billing basis plainly). Essential is $20 a user a month billed annually or $25 a user a month billed monthly, and Premium is $65 a user a month billed annually or $75 a user a month billed monthly, with Enterprise on custom pricing.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Real free tier, not just a trial | Free tier capped at 2 procedure work orders and 2 repeating ones |
| Genuinely mobile-first, technicians adopt it fast | Advanced Analytics on the free tier lasts only 1 month |
| Both monthly and annual rates published | Premium at $75/user/mo monthly adds up for larger teams |
| Procedures and checklists built into every work order | Enterprise pricing is quote-only |
Pricing: Basic free (2 procedure work orders, 2 active repeating work orders, 1 month Advanced Analytics); Essential $20/user/mo annual or $25/user/mo monthly; Premium $65/user/mo annual or $75/user/mo monthly; Enterprise custom. Best for: Frontline teams that want to pilot a CMMS for free before committing, and want technicians who'll actually use the mobile app.
8. Fiix: Unlimited Work Orders on a Free Plan, Capped on Preventive Maintenance
Fiix, now owned by Rockwell Automation, covers the standard CMMS set: work orders, asset hierarchies, preventive maintenance scheduling, inventory and a mobile app, with an inspection and reliability angle from its Rockwell parentage. Its free plan is unusually generous on breadth and narrow on one specific dimension.
Fiix Free is $0, with unlimited work orders, unlimited assets, unlimited service requests and mobile app access, but capped at 25 active preventive maintenance schedules, no credit card required (per fiixsoftware.com/pricing, fetched August 2026). Basic is $45 a user a month and Professional is $75 a user a month, with Enterprise on custom pricing. Add-ons, a Lite operator-access license and Fiix MAX, are priced on request, and Fiix MAX requires a Professional or Enterprise base plan. Worth confirming here since readers still ask: Fiix is not discontinued, Rockwell was still publishing Fiix customer stories in 2026.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Unlimited work orders, assets and service requests, even free | Free tier caps active preventive maintenance schedules at 25 |
| No credit card required to start | Basic and Professional add up per user at scale |
| Backed by Rockwell Automation's manufacturing depth | Add-ons (Lite license, Fiix MAX) are priced on request only |
| Mobile app included on every tier, including free | Fiix MAX requires a paid Professional or Enterprise base first |
Pricing: Free (25 active PM schedules, unlimited work orders and assets); Basic $45/user/mo; Professional $75/user/mo; Enterprise custom. Best for: Manufacturers who want to run a genuinely unlimited number of work orders and assets for free, and only pay once their PM program grows past 25 active schedules.
9. Sortly: The Easiest Way to Count What You Own, Not to Maintain It
Sortly solves a narrower problem than most of this list, and solves it well: a mobile-first app for photographing items, organizing them into folders that match how they're actually stored, printing QR or barcode labels, and scanning items in and out from a phone. It's the register teams reach for when the job is knowing what they have and where it is, with no maintenance workflow attached.
Sortly Free covers 100 unique items, 1 user license and 2 active jobs. Advanced is $24 a month billed yearly or $49 a month billed monthly for 500 items and 2 users; Ultra is $74 a month yearly or $149 a month monthly for 2,000 items and 5 users; Premium is $149 a month yearly or $299 a month monthly for 5,000 items and 8 users; Enterprise is custom for 10,000-plus items (per sortly.com/pricing, fetched August 2026). Sortly runs the yearly rates as a first-year promotion: the vendor states the 50% discount applies only to a new subscription's first year, after which a 20% discount applies to yearly plans going forward, so treat $24 a month as a promotional rate, not a permanent one.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Fastest setup and best mobile, photo-based organization | Not a CMMS, no maintenance scheduling or work orders |
| Free tier genuinely usable for a small catalog | Item and user caps arrive quickly for any real inventory |
| QR and barcode label printing built in | Yearly headline prices are first-year promotional, not ongoing |
| Folder structure mirrors physical storage | No sales order or purchasing workflow at all |
Pricing: Free (100 items, 1 user); Advanced $24/mo promotional ($49/mo regular); Ultra $74/mo promotional ($149 regular); Premium $149/mo promotional ($299 regular); Enterprise custom. Best for: Small teams tracking tools, parts and supplies who need fast setup and mobile photo-based organization, not a maintenance program.
10. AssetTiger: Free for the First 250 Assets, Cheap After That
AssetTiger is run by MyAssetTag.com, the company that sells physical asset tags, which is why the software itself is priced to move: free for the first 250 assets, then a ladder priced strictly by asset count with unlimited users included on every paid plan.
The confirmed entry point is $20 a month covering up to 500 assets, stated directly on the vendor's own indexed page, whose page title literally reads "AssetTiger Pricing, $20/mo, Unlimited Users" (assettiger.com/pricing itself returns an HTTP 403 to automated fetching). Above that, the reported ladder runs $40 a month up to 2,500 assets, $75 a month up to 10,000, $140 a month up to 50,000 and $275 a month up to 250,000 (reported, since the live pricing page couldn't be fetched directly). Sources also disagree on whether the free plan caps at 2 users or runs as a 30-day trial of 250 assets. This guide won't resolve that either way, so confirm your own user cap with the vendor before counting on it.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Free for the first 250 assets, no time limit stated | Pricing page blocks automated fetching, tiers above 500 are reported |
| $20/mo confirmed entry point with unlimited users | User cap on the free plan is genuinely disputed across sources |
| Unlimited users on every paid tier | Ties to a physical asset-tag business rather than a pure software vendor |
| Simple, linear pricing by asset count | No CMMS features, register only |
Pricing: Free for the first 250 assets. Paid: $20/mo up to 500 assets (confirmed); $40/mo up to 2,500, $75/mo up to 10,000, $140/mo up to 50,000, $275/mo up to 250,000 (reported). Best for: Small teams and schools wanting a genuinely free start and unlimited users on every paid tier, especially if you're already buying physical asset tags.
11. Reftab: Free Forever at 50 Assets, Unlimited Users on Every Plan
Reftab covers hardware and software asset tracking with a genuinely permanent free tier: 50 assets, unlimited accessories and licenses, unlimited locations, categories and custom fields, no credit card and no expiration date.
Paid hardware plans start at a 250-asset cap and scale up to 3,000-plus assets: Starter is $31.25 a month billed annually, Pro is $62.50 a month billed annually, and Business is $125 a month billed annually, marked the vendor's "Most Popular" tier. Every plan, free and paid, includes unlimited platform users, which is unusual in a category where per-seat pricing is the norm. A Software Management add-on runs $0.75 a month billed annually per tracked user, and Complete IT Management, which bundles hardware and software management, is $125.75 a month billed annually (per reftab.com/pricing, fetched August 2026). There's a 14-day free trial on the paid tiers.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Free Forever tier is genuinely permanent, not a trial | 50-asset free cap is small for anything beyond a pilot |
| Unlimited platform users on every plan, including free | Hardware plans start at a 250-asset floor, a jump from 50 |
| Hardware and software management can bundle together | Software Management is a separate per-user add-on |
| Clear, published pricing across every tier | No maintenance scheduling, register-only |
Pricing: Free Forever (50 assets); Starter $31.25/mo, Pro $62.50/mo, Business $125/mo, all billed annually. Software Management add-on $0.75/mo per user. Complete IT Management $125.75/mo. Best for: IT and equipment teams that want a real permanent free tier and unlimited users at every stage, including after they outgrow it.
12. eMaint: Validated CMMS for Regulated Manufacturing, Priced on Request
eMaint, a Fluke Reliability company, is the CMMS regulated manufacturers reach for when computer systems validation and audit-ready documentation matter as much as the work order itself. It covers preventive and predictive maintenance, inventory and a vendor portal, with add-ons for validation and test scripts aimed at pharma, food and other regulated environments.
eMaint publishes no per-user price. It sells two tiers, Professional with a 3-user minimum and Enterprise with a 5-user minimum, both on a prepaid annual commitment, plus à-la-carte paid add-ons: the vendor portal, computer systems validation and test scripts, a slow-track release server, implementation services and on-site training (per emaint.com/pricing, fetched August 2026). A competitor's page, Limble's own cost comparison, reports an eMaint Team plan at $69 per user per month. Since that figure comes from a rival vendor rather than eMaint itself, treat it as reported rather than confirmed, and budget for the 3 or 5-seat minimum either way.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Computer systems validation built for regulated industries | No published price at all |
| Vendor portal and audit-ready documentation included | 3 or 5-user minimum even for a very small team |
| Backed by Fluke Reliability's instrumentation depth | Prepaid annual commitment required on both tiers |
| Add-ons cover implementation and on-site training | Add-ons are priced individually, on request |
Pricing: No published price. Professional (3-user minimum) and Enterprise (5-user minimum), both prepaid annual. A rival vendor reports an eMaint Team plan at $69/user/mo (reported). Best for: Regulated manufacturers (pharma, food, medical device) that need validation and audit documentation built into the CMMS itself.
13. Cheqroom: Equipment Booking and Tracking, Billed by Admin
Cheqroom is the register built for equipment that gets checked out and returned: camera gear, AV kits, tools, lab equipment, rather than equipment that stays bolted to a wall. It covers reservation and booking, condition tracking, kit bundling and a QR-based checkout flow that non-admin users can run from their own phone.
Core is $184 per admin per month, Business is $275 per admin per month, Enterprise is $367 per admin per month, and an E.L.A. tier is custom, all billed annually with minimum administrator counts (per cheqroom.com/pricing, fetched August 2026). The number that matters most here: billing is per admin, not per user. Every plan includes unlimited items and unlimited non-admin users, since a "user" is anyone who books, tracks or interacts with equipment, and they're free. Tiers differ instead on locations (1, up to 3, up to 10, or unlimited) and workspaces. Getting that basis wrong makes Cheqroom look absurdly expensive or absurdly cheap, so it's worth stating plainly before comparing it to a per-seat tool.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Unlimited items and non-admin users on every tier | Per-admin billing is unusual and easy to misread |
| Purpose-built checkout and booking workflow | $184/mo entry point looks steep next to per-user tools |
| QR-based self-service checkout for non-admins | Locations and workspaces gate the higher tiers, not features alone |
| All tiers billed annually, predictable year to year | Not a CMMS, no preventive maintenance scheduling |
Pricing: Core $184/admin/mo, Business $275/admin/mo, Enterprise $367/admin/mo, all billed annually; E.L.A. custom. Unlimited items and non-admin users on every plan. Best for: Equipment-heavy teams (AV, film, labs, tool cribs) where a handful of admins manage bookings for dozens or hundreds of unlimited, free non-admin users.
14. Asset Essentials (Brightly, a Siemens Company): Facilities and Public-Sector Maintenance
Asset Essentials covers work order management, preventive maintenance, inventory and reporting, with a heritage in K-12 schools, municipalities, healthcare facilities and other public-sector and facilities-heavy operations. Brightly built that reputation over more than a decade before Siemens acquired the company.
The brand move worth writing correctly: brightlysoftware.com now redirects to assetmanagement.siemens.com, and Asset Essentials now sits inside Siemens' asset management line (per assetmanagement.siemens.com/products/asset-essentials, fetched August 2026). Pricing is unpublished; the vendor sells through a demo request rather than a self-serve page, consistent with its enterprise and public-sector buyer base.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Deep public-sector and facilities maintenance heritage | No published price anywhere, demo request required |
| Now backed by Siemens' enterprise resources | Positioned above self-serve buyers, sales-led only |
| Strong fit for K-12, municipal and healthcare facilities | Old Brightly branding still confuses some searches |
| Full work order, PM and inventory feature set | Not a fit for a small team wanting quick self-signup |
Pricing: No published price, quote only via demo request. Best for: Public-sector, healthcare and facilities teams wanting an enterprise-grade CMMS with deep facilities-maintenance heritage, now backed by Siemens.
15. IBM Maximo Application Suite: Enterprise EAM for Asset-Intensive Industries
Maximo is the enterprise tier of this category: asset management, maintenance, reliability, monitoring, inspection, and health and safety, all inside one governed suite, built for utilities, oil and gas, mining, transportation and other operations where an asset failure has physical and regulatory consequences, not just a budget line.
IBM meters MAS with AppPoints, a credit-based entitlement pool, and publishes the current per-capability AppPoint charges only inside a customer's own suite administration catalog, not on the public site; ibm.com/products/maximo/pricing returns an HTTP 403 to automated fetching. Third-party trackers report a SaaS Essentials package from roughly $3,150 a month for up to 25 users and one production environment (reported); treat that as a starting reference point, not a quote.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Full enterprise EAM: reliability, inspection, monitoring, safety | No published per-AppPoint price, hidden in a customer catalog |
| Built for asset-intensive, regulated industries at scale | Not an SMB purchase by any measure |
| AppPoints let you buy only the capabilities you use | AppPoint-based pricing is genuinely hard to estimate up front |
| Deep IBM ecosystem and implementation partner network | Deployment and configuration are a real, multi-month project |
Pricing: No published per-AppPoint price. Third-party trackers report a SaaS Essentials package from roughly $3,150/month for 25 users (reported). Best for: Asset-intensive enterprises (utilities, oil and gas, mining, transportation) that need reliability, inspection and safety workflows under one governed platform, not an SMB purchase.
Stage Fit: Where Each Tool Belongs
| Stage | Typical need | Best fits | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starting out | A simple register, no maintenance program yet | Snipe-IT self-hosted, Sortly Free, Reftab Free Forever, AssetTiger Free, MaintainX Free, Fiix Free | Real functionality at zero cost while the program is still small |
| Early growth | First real PM schedule and technician workflow | MaintainX Essential, Fiix Basic, UpKeep Essential, EZOfficeInventory Essentials | Work orders and PM scheduling without a five-figure commitment |
| Scaling | A multi-site register plus a maintenance program running in parallel | Limble, UpKeep Premium, Asset Panda, Rework, Reftab paid tiers | Configurable hierarchies, mobile technician apps and room to grow |
| Established | Equipment-heavy or regulated operations | Cheqroom, eMaint, Asset Essentials | Per-admin or validated workflows built for depth, not headcount |
| Enterprise | Asset-intensive operations under governance | IBM Maximo Application Suite | Reliability, inspection and safety workflows under one governed suite |
Sizing and Persona Fit
| Team size | Persona | Best fits | Realistic software budget |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 10 | Small ops or facilities team with a simple register | Snipe-IT self-hosted, Sortly, AssetTiger, Reftab Free | $0 to $50/mo |
| 1 to 10 | Small maintenance crew starting a PM program | MaintainX Free or Essential, Fiix Free | $0 to $200/mo |
| 10 to 50 | Growing ops team wanting assets on the same platform as work and invoices | Rework, EZOfficeInventory | Quoted per organization, or $40 to $250/mo |
| 10 to 50 | Maintenance team running a full CMMS | UpKeep, Limble, Fiix Basic | $500 to $2,500/mo depending on headcount |
| 10 to 50 | Equipment booking operation (AV, labs, gear) | Cheqroom | $184/admin/mo and up |
| 50 to 200 | Regulated or public-sector facilities operation | eMaint, Asset Essentials | Quoted, prepaid annual commitment |
| 200-plus | Asset-intensive enterprise | IBM Maximo Application Suite | Quoted, roughly $3,150/mo and up (reported) |
What Each Tool Actually Costs at 500 Assets and 5 Users
Headline prices hide the metering basis. Here's one honest scenario, priced against each vendor's own published rates.
| Tool | Cost at 500 assets, 5 users | How the vendor counts it |
|---|---|---|
| Asset Panda | Quote only; third-party trackers report roughly $50 to $375/mo for 5 users (reported) | Meters users, per third-party estimates only |
| EZOfficeInventory | Likely Advanced $55/mo (Essentials caps at 250 items; exact Advanced item cap not published) | Meters tracked items, unlimited users under fair use |
| Snipe-IT | $0 self-hosted, or Cloud Basic $39.99/mo | Meters neither users nor assets on any tier |
| UpKeep | $120/mo (5 x $24 Essential) | Meters users |
| Limble | $140/mo (5 x $28 Standard) | Meters users |
| Rework | Quote on request | Packaged annual plan, not metered by asset or user count |
| MaintainX | $100/mo billed annually (5 x $20 Essential); Free tier's caps are too tight at this scale | Meters users |
| Fiix | Free plan works if active PM schedules stay under 25, otherwise $225/mo (5 x $45 Basic) | Meters users, PM schedule count gates the free tier |
| Sortly | $74/mo promotional, Ultra tier (500 items exactly fits, 5 users needs Ultra not Advanced) | Meters items and users together |
| AssetTiger | $20/mo (exactly at the 500-asset ceiling), unlimited users | Meters asset count only |
| Reftab | Likely Pro or Business, $62.50 to $125/mo (exact per-tier asset cap above 250 not published) | Meters asset count, unlimited users on every plan |
| eMaint | Quote only; 5 users clears the 3-user minimum | Meters users, minimum seat commitment |
| Cheqroom | $184/mo for 1 admin (unlimited items and non-admin users cover the rest of the team) | Meters admins only |
| Asset Essentials | Quote only | Not published |
| IBM Maximo | Quote only; reported enterprise starting point ($3,150/mo) is a mismatch at this scale | Meters AppPoints, not users or assets |
Free-Tier Comparison: Where the Reputation Traps Live
| Tool | Free plan | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Asset Panda | No free plan, 7-day trial only | Configurable depth, but no ongoing free tier at all |
| EZOfficeInventory | No free plan | Essentials starts at $40/mo for 250 items |
| Snipe-IT | Free forever, self-hosted, unlimited users and assets | Free means self-hosted; Cloud starts at $39.99/mo |
| UpKeep | No free plan | Trial only, despite a reputation to the contrary |
| Limble | No free plan | Trial only, older "Basic" free tier is gone |
| Rework | Not applicable | Packaged annual plans, quote on request |
| MaintainX | Free, capped at 2 procedure work orders and 2 active repeating work orders | Real, but tight; "MaintainX is free" needs the caveat every time |
| Fiix | Free, capped at 25 active preventive maintenance schedules | Unlimited work orders and assets, just not unlimited PM programs |
| Sortly | Free, 100 items, 1 user | Item and user caps arrive quickly for any real catalog |
| AssetTiger | Free for the first 250 assets | User cap on the free plan is disputed, confirm with the vendor |
| Reftab | Free Forever, 50 assets, unlimited users | Genuinely permanent, but 50 assets is a small pilot, not a program |
| eMaint | No free plan | 3-user minimum even on the lowest tier |
| Cheqroom | No free plan | Per-admin pricing starts at $184/mo |
| Asset Essentials | No free plan | Quote only, demo required |
| IBM Maximo | No free plan | Enterprise-only, quoted per AppPoint |
How to Choose: Decision Framework
| If you need... | Pick... | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A free register with no user or asset cap | Snipe-IT (self-hosted) | Genuinely free forever, unlimited users and assets, per the vendor |
| Unlimited users and to pay by items tracked instead | EZOfficeInventory | Users are free under fair use, the meter is items, not seats |
| A free CMMS to pilot before committing | MaintainX or Fiix | MaintainX caps work orders, Fiix caps PM schedules, both are real free tiers |
| The asset register on the same platform as invoices and CRM | Rework | Consolidation over depth, quoted per organization |
| A configurable, mobile-first CMMS and you're ready to pay from day one | UpKeep or Limble | Neither has a free plan, but both give technicians a real mobile work order app |
| To book and track equipment that gets checked out, not bolted down | Cheqroom | Unlimited items and non-admin users, billed per admin instead |
| A permanent free tier for a small hardware register | Reftab | Free Forever at 50 assets with unlimited users on every plan |
| Enterprise EAM under governance for asset-intensive operations | IBM Maximo Application Suite | Reliability, inspection and safety workflows in one governed suite |
What to Do Next
Work out which of the three jobs you're actually buying for before you shortlist anything, because that single choice eliminates two thirds of this list. If you need to know what you own and who has it, your shortlist is Asset Panda, EZOfficeInventory, Snipe-IT, Sortly, AssetTiger, Reftab, Cheqroom or Rework. If your job is keeping the asset running, it's UpKeep, Limble, MaintainX, Fiix or eMaint. If you run asset-intensive operations under governance, it's IBM Maximo Application Suite.
Then run the same test on your top two. Load your real asset list, not a demo file, check an asset in and out, log a piece of maintenance if the tool does that job, and add a real user at the tier you'd actually buy. Add up the true annual cost while you're in there: the base price, extra users or items, any modules you need, and whatever the vendor won't tell you until you ask. A TCO model built before you sign catches most of that. That number, not the headline price, is the one to compare.
And if your asset data is fine but lives in a different system from your invoices, your work orders and your customers, that's a consolidation problem rather than an asset-tracking problem, and it's worth settling before you sign a multi-year contract for a fourth tool to integrate.

Principal Product Marketing Strategist
On this page
- Key Facts
- Quick Comparison Table
- The Category Splits Three Ways, and Buying the Wrong One Is Expensive
- What Each Tool Meters On
- 1. Asset Panda: Configurable Barcode and QR Tracking for Mixed Asset Fleets
- 2. EZOfficeInventory (EZO): Unlimited Users, Priced by What You Track
- 3. Snipe-IT: Free and Open Source, With No Cap on Users or Assets
- 4. UpKeep: A Mobile-First CMMS, With No Free Plan
- 5. Limble: A Configurable, Modern CMMS, Also With No Free Plan
- 6. Rework: The Asset Register on the Same Platform as the Work, the Invoice and the Customer
- 7. MaintainX: A Real Free Tier, With Real Limits
- 8. Fiix: Unlimited Work Orders on a Free Plan, Capped on Preventive Maintenance
- 9. Sortly: The Easiest Way to Count What You Own, Not to Maintain It
- 10. AssetTiger: Free for the First 250 Assets, Cheap After That
- 11. Reftab: Free Forever at 50 Assets, Unlimited Users on Every Plan
- 12. eMaint: Validated CMMS for Regulated Manufacturing, Priced on Request
- 13. Cheqroom: Equipment Booking and Tracking, Billed by Admin
- 14. Asset Essentials (Brightly, a Siemens Company): Facilities and Public-Sector Maintenance
- 15. IBM Maximo Application Suite: Enterprise EAM for Asset-Intensive Industries
- Stage Fit: Where Each Tool Belongs
- Sizing and Persona Fit
- What Each Tool Actually Costs at 500 Assets and 5 Users
- Free-Tier Comparison: Where the Reputation Traps Live
- How to Choose: Decision Framework
- What to Do Next